Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "When I want your opinion, I'll beat it out of you",, 14 Sep 2012
By 
LoBo (BodÝ, Norway) - See all my reviews
It's been years since the last time i saw this on DVD. I don't think it's the best Chuck Norris film, but i have seen worse films from him. I think the story was reasonably good for Chuck Norris film. I also think he isn't a such bad actor as some say he is.

I have seen poorer actors than him. Not Chuck's most action packed film, but it mostly has shootouts and a few fight scenes. I must say l really liked the 80's Synthesizer music made by David Michael Frank. I think he did a good job with the music.

Picture quality: 4.5/5

Wow, i was impressed by the picture quality. It has much more details and sharpness than the DVD releases. I think the colours was strong and looked nice. It also have no use noise reduction which i think no film should have.

So, the heavy film grain is completely intact it should always be. I think the heavy film grain works for this type of film and gives it a gritty, dirty appearance. The average bitrate is 35 kbps, which is very high and appreciated by me. Many studios skimp on the bitrate.

Audio quality: 3.5/5

The DTS-HD Master Audio Mono track was pretty much just like i expected out of this film. The Magnum and Shotgun Chuck uses i heard a little bass when he fired them. The music which i mentioned actually sounds good to my ears. Clear and not thin.

I think the dialog was mixed a bit low, so i had to turn up the volume in dialog scenes and a bit down in action scenes. Too bad this film wasn't mixed in Stereo, but what can you do? Although, MGM could have made a good Stereo remix out the Mono track. At least the Lossless Mono audio sounds improved compared the DVDs.

Film: 3.5/5
Overall: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Code of Silence - When Chuck Norris wants your opinion, he will beat one from you., 17 Jan 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This slighter higher than average entry into the seemingly unending oeuvre of action flicks of Chuck Norris sees our man this time as a detective in the Chicago police out to get some drug dealers. When a war between two crime families breaks out on his turf, in the middle of a carefully planned bust no less, it is up to Sgt Cusack, a man so honest and decent it makes your teeth hurt, to sort it all out. Not helped by the code of silence surrounding the families, or the fact that he has transgressed the police's own code of silence leaving his fellow cops reluctant to come to his aid, he sets about cleaning up the streets of Chicago his way. His way is entertaining and shows off more martial arts skill than you would expect from the average windy city flatfoot.

Things crack along at a brisk pace, and all the usual clichés are duly ticked off one by one. Norris doesn't really bother trying to act, maintaining a stoical stony demeanour through most of the film, and only coming to life in the frequent action scenes. The fights are big and impressive, especially one in a pool hall where Norris is significantly outnumbered. The odd one liner breaks the ice a little. Denis Farina provides solid support as a sidekick, and Henry Silva is a suitably daft villain (`I have you at my mercy, so I am going to let you go and get tooled up ready for the big showdown rather than just blow you away here and now' style of villainy) and there is a solid cast of thugs and heavies for Norris to work his way through.

As I said, an above average entry into the genre, with lots going on and little extraneous material. 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Chuck Norris, 14 Feb 2004
By 
bodie (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This is when Chuck Norris was at his best. Norris plays a police sergeant leading a raid on a drug den, who arrives a step behind another gang which gets away with all the dope and money, leaving a bloody mess behind. This sets off a gang war between forces led by properly menacing Henry Silva on one side and less prominent Mike Genovese on the other. Great fight scenes, very gritty and violent. Nothing intellectual about it although nothing is in a Chuck Norris movie. They don't make movies like this anymore. If you are after action than this is your movie. Great music score and directed by Andrew Davis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice Prevails, 7 Dec 2010
By 
Robert L. Newstead "Bow Bells" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
With his usual grit and courage Chuck Norris does beat the bad guys in the end but not without a few problems on the way !
Never a dull moment I commend this excellent film to anyone who enjoys adventures and heroes ! Incidentally Chuck was beaten once in 'Game of Death' by another hero Bruce Lee but that's another story !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chuck Steak, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Chicago's finest attempt a drug raid, only for everything to go badly awry when another rival gang burst onto the scene and decide to cut themselves in on the deal with a well timed massacre. The Italian mobsters gun down everyone in sight and escape with the loot, leaving the Colombians, led by psychotic lead villain Henry Silva, declaring out~right war on them, and the cops stuck in the middle picking up the bloody pieces. Which although ordinarily might have posed a few problems, fortunately this time around doesn't, as they have all American super cop Chuck Norris in their ranks. A fearless tough nut, who's righteous endeavours propel him into acting as a one man army of flat~footed justice...

I hadn't seen this for I don't know how many years but had fond memories, so felt the need to have another view.
It's a fairly solid actioner, with hero Chuck getting to nail some minimal, fly dialogue and spend the rest of the film chasing, fighting, shooting and blowing people up. There's some moralistic nonsense about police corruption, just to elevate Norris' paladin status further, and just when you think Chuck might blow it by bedding the the teenage damsel in distress, during some grossly inappropriate moment of ludicrous Hollywood love interestery, he manages to control his urges, and instead takes his frustrations out on a pool pit full of Colombian thugs!
Silva, as always, is a highlight, providing us with a sufficiently scary bad guy and the support cast (Farina also standing out) do a good job with a script that requires as little from them, as the story requires brain power from it's audience. The biggest dilemma posed here being: why is it that whenever drug dealers open a packet of cocaine with a flick knife, to test the goods, they always do it by slicing a great gash through the middle of the well sealed packet, scattering the contents everywhere, instead of just putting a small nick in one end??

So there's plenty of action and in the end Chuck goes up against the baddies with what must be the naffest weapon in cinema history, as he unleashes 'The Prowler' ~ a state of the art, robotic, police toy ~ that creaks around the set like the retarded long lost love child of Johnny Five and Big Track! Managing somehow, to even make those killbots from Chopping Mall appear to have ED209 styled sophistication!
Anyway, so Chuck unleashes 'The Prowler' (Why even call it that? What were they thinking!?!) and the screen explodes into a slightly more visceral version of the A~team, with the added bonus that there are a few blood squibs..
The soundtrack both gloriously good and bad, in it's sheer 80s~ness.

A no brainer, cop/action film, which is unmistakably of it's era, but no less fun for it. Which aside from Invasion USA, could well be Chuck's best film.

4.25/5 Norris fans will easily score this higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough Here to Keep Chuck Norris Fans More Than Happy., 29 April 2013
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Though Code of Silence is utterly predictable, it is a good old fashioned 80s action which delivers in spades.
Car chases, a train chase scene, explosions, plenty of fights and shoot outs and of course the one and only
Chuck Norris, bang in his prime.

Sure there are a few dips here and there, but Code of Silence is one of Chuck Norris' better outings- I even found his acting to be fairly ok in the context of the genre.

The bad guys hold up well, which is always a good sign that these type of movies need.

A special mention should be given to the on location action, all shot on real streets in Chicago, which gives you a great feel for the city.

The ending was not hugely satisfying, but hey ho. If you like action movies old school style then you will be happy with this movie- all Chuck fans should have this one in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Film, 3 Jan 2008
By 
What can i say - Definately Chuck's best film. The decent budget and quality director ( Andrew Davis) show. Top film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chuck is the man!, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
code of Silence along with Lone Wolf McQuade are Chuck's best films by a country mile.
Really good thriller, about a cop whose integrity sets him against the rest of the police dept.
The climax is great in a warehouse and there's a brilliant fight scwnw in a pool hall
It shows what a difference a quality director in Andrew Davis ( the Fugitive, Under Siege, The Pacakge) and decent budget can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Strong Silent Type, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
As a martial artist myself I am a big Chuck Norris Fan and have been a watcher of his films since The Good Guys Wear Black.

As I've said before A Force of One will never win any awards for its script but the fight scenes,arranged by Chuck himself,probably with a little help from brother Arron were first class for their time and contain top class martial arts action.
By the time Code Of Silence was released in 1985 you could see that the 6 time undefeated World Karate Champion was no longer struggling with his acting,having settled on the strong,silent and thoughtful character method,which carried him right through to the end of WALKER TEXAS RANGER,which still remains CB S's longest and best ever,top selling TV series,repeats of which are still running on SKY TV today.
Now established as Golum Globas's biggest star in the Code of Silence he gets a better script and a good supporting cast to add to the action.Chuck plays cop Eddie Cusack,ostracised by his colleagues for not backing up a burnt out drunken cop who shoots a young kid in a dark hallway during a drug bust.The kid is unarmed so the drunken cop plants a gun on him.Cusack doesn't know this,only that the cop is burnt out and shouldn't be on the streets.This great story leaves Chuck/Cusack on his own to take on and stop a gang war.Aided only by the Snooper,a high tech robot vehicle, with more armaments than a dozen Rambo's.Is it enough...?
Ha,buy this great DVD and watch the great action sequences to find out cos all I'm gonna say is when the mayhem stops and the smoke clears there's only one man left standing....?
I'm just starting to replace all of my CN videos with their DVD equivalents as I find them and as this has always been one of my personal favorites it was the second one I bought from Amazon.More will follow as there's nothing better than a good old Chuck film.Plenty of action without the gratuitous sex and bad language of more modern films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Ann Willan "windytowers" (redditch u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
it is one of the best chuck norris films out ,super action and in this film my super hero is not so wooden ,yes he is one of my pin ups , but this film is super if you like a hairy chest with lots of high kicks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985]
Code Of Silence [DVD] [1985] by Andrew Davis (DVD - 2004)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews