Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously underrated
Well - excellent movie, clever plot, clever dialogues, some sterling performances - Dustin Hoffman (cast against type) is interestingly creepy, Rachel Weisz is pure "bait with brains" and Edward Burns (not really my favourite actor, I admit) comes over with a surprisingly great amount of suave confidence... as for the supporting cast - as good as the leads (Andy Garcia...
Published on 24 Feb 2004 by negativtoo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance
Caper movies have been well served in the 90's and to some extent into the noughties. Movies like Ocean's Eleven, The Grifters, Heist and many others, have raised the bar for the con artist on the silver screen. `Confidence' aims high, and just scrapes over the bar, but without much room to spare.
The plot - well, it would spoil it to tell.. but even if I wanted to...
Published on 22 Oct 2007 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously underrated, 24 Feb 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Well - excellent movie, clever plot, clever dialogues, some sterling performances - Dustin Hoffman (cast against type) is interestingly creepy, Rachel Weisz is pure "bait with brains" and Edward Burns (not really my favourite actor, I admit) comes over with a surprisingly great amount of suave confidence... as for the supporting cast - as good as the leads (Andy Garcia takes the cake, though) , moody soundtrack, and - just for once - in this almost "sucked-dry" genre of 'Heist' and 'Sting' movies, an unpredictable ending.....
And while it skips over some of the less interesting details of the sting's setup and planning (like some forgeries etc - a forgivable offense ), the story stays sound - especially through Burn's comments from off-screen filling in details, attitude and superstitions. It compares very well to "Oceans Eleven" but is less swinging, ironic and hip, much grittier with ugly stains showing through the gloss, and somewhat less certainty about the outcome. Maybe because it was done with one tenth of the budget. Maybe because "Ocean's Eleven" is just too glossy and elegant.
As for the story - a group of conficence men pull off the wrong guy, or rather they con him out of the wrong money. Now, in debt to a local mobster (Hofmann ), they agree to trick an old enemy of said mobster out of several million bucks - and doing this with crooked cops, irritated gangsters and federal agents on their tail. Sounds simple, but like all good "sting" stories (and of course a fan of the genre will have seen pieces or bits of similar cons and double-bluffs elsewehere - It's an old genre and there are only _so_many_ original ideas. It's the way they are arranged that makes it sweet ) it has a cartload of double-dealing, backstabbing and corrupting gears busily shifting and turning. Rather surprisingly for a contemporary gangster/crime flick depicting the grimy underbelly of society the violence, while definitely there, is neither overwhelming, eceedingly bloody nor sickeningly self-serving , the camera-work is hands on, dialogue is crisp and for once the world is at its most dangerous when it looks glossy, stylish and neat.
Very much under-promoted , very much under-rated, and easy to dislike for the 2_explosions_a_minute_crowd. Just like the perfect con - you don't notice its excellence until it's over, and even then you need some brains to understand just how you have been fleeced. Now wisen up guys and at least get the DVD. No regrets - trust me on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Caper movies have been well served in the 90's and to some extent into the noughties. Movies like Ocean's Eleven, The Grifters, Heist and many others, have raised the bar for the con artist on the silver screen. `Confidence' aims high, and just scrapes over the bar, but without much room to spare.
The plot - well, it would spoil it to tell.. but even if I wanted to it would be difficult, as maze-like as it is. Suffice to say, when a con turns out to have inadvertently trodden on a ganglord's toes (Dustin Hoffman), the con-artist (Ed Burns) agrees to pull a huge job to get the money back and keep everyone happy... but who can anyone trust, and what is as it seems?
Great performances abound - the talent on display here is formidable through to the most minor of characters. However, for the most part these fantastic character actors are being called on to play parts which are by their definition artificial. It all works well for the plot, but the sheer cleverness of the whole thing does pull you out of the experience and constantly remind you that this is not real, just a movie.
Having said that, the script is fine, even if lacking that David Mamet style it so much wants to have. Dustin Hoffman in particular benefits from some juicy lines, chewing the scenery as his menacing though dwarf like ganglord with a predilection for sex of any kind. He looks for all the world like Eddy Jordan on speed, turned to a life of crime and hedonism. Ed Burns is a fine actor, but seems a little out of his depth, and Rachel Weisz plays the sexpot admirably well. In the end we do find a satisfying cleverness to the eventual proceedings - But without an investment in the characters that makes us really care one way or the other who did what to who.
It's a stylish movie, and worth watching, but one could have expected more from the talent involved. Watch it, enjoy, and forget it about 5 minutes later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confidence - a confident movie!, 24 April 2007
By 
Keiko (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A solid thriller cum scam movie, which I can highly recommend renting.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. From the start you know it'll have some twists and turns, some good character acting (Dustin Hoffman is great) and give you a treat. The ending is partially predictable - but not in the way it actually pans out, which is admirable and engaging.

The voice-over narrative keeps the pace moving along rather than interfering or providing a sense of irritation, and the whole movie looks good, sounds good and gels together well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confidence, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have already rated this product when I received it and I am a little bit tired of keep on getting e-mail requesting me to rate something that I have already rated it is over kill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Brought this for my husband as he keeps losing the DVD!! He loves this film so have brought 2 copied just to be on the safe side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Had never heard of this film I purchased it after reading other comments I was not disappointed. Surprise to see Dustin Hoffman in a rather sinister role, kept you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My confidence in the purchase justified, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Very good heist movie. It has elements of 'The Sting' and it is a believable storyline. The male and female leads, Edward Burns and Rachel Weisz are very good and there is a chemistry between them. Dustin Hoffman's character is a great creation - credit to the actor. I enjoyed the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Disappointing, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I love films with clever confidence tricks & heists. If you enjoyed Ocean's Eleven [DVD] [2001], The Sting (Special Edition) [DVD] or any episode of Hustle - Complete BBC Series 1-8 [DVD] you will likely be really disappointed with this.

This film has some great actors putting forth some of their most mediocre performances, lazy script writing. It just doesn't work. I watched it right through to it's completely average finale, but I won't be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Head Twister, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confidence [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
One of the best 'Sting' type films out there. Twisting and turning from the very start it gets the old brain cells working. The plot reverberates right to the end and will not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great heist/scam movie, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Edward Burns "hits", rather than mortgage payment makers.
Worth seeing for Dustin Hoffman's character alone.
This film chugs along nicely, and is clever without being too clever: i.e. it doesn't trip itself up or lose the audience with the twists and turns of the plot.
Oh and Paul Giamatti's in it too, so you can't really go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confidence [DVD] [2003]
Confidence [DVD] [2003] by James Foley (DVD - 2004)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews