Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vertigo in the Alps
Taking it's inspiration from the opening lines of Dante's "Inferno": "Midway upon the journey of our life/I found myself within a forest dark", Petites Coupures is a Hitchcockian exploration of mid-life angst and obsession set among the achingly beautiful Rhones-Alpes region of France. Daniel Auteuil is,as ever, outstanding, as the politically and emotionally bankrupt...
Published on 2 April 2007 by Al

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a very pretentious painting dry
The film looks great, and the actors and acting are spot on. But the whole thing, about a tedious bloke who everyone seems to find fascinating, going on an errand and getting lost in a forest and having incredibly pretentious conversations with a slightly mysterious woman, the whole thing is drainingly boring.

The dialogue is very much of the 'coffee? I'd love...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Apple-eater


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vertigo in the Alps, 2 April 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Taking it's inspiration from the opening lines of Dante's "Inferno": "Midway upon the journey of our life/I found myself within a forest dark", Petites Coupures is a Hitchcockian exploration of mid-life angst and obsession set among the achingly beautiful Rhones-Alpes region of France. Daniel Auteuil is,as ever, outstanding, as the politically and emotionally bankrupt hero who stumbles upon intrigue and possible redemption in an enigmatic encounter with the icily cold Kristen Scott-Thomas. As with Hitchcock's Vertigo the moral boundaries are blurred, but director Pascal Bonitzer keeps us focussed on character and motivation and the result is a deeply satisfying and at times ravishing addition to the French canon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Stylish, humorous and somewhat romantic neo-noir...", 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
French film critic, writer and director Pascal Bonitzer`s third feature film which he also wrote the screenplay for, tells the story about journalist Bruno who is having doubts about his communists believes and who no longer knows if it is his wife or his young lover he really loves. After having received a call from his uncle who is fighting for re-election as the mayor of a small-town in Grenoble, Bruno decides to help him, but on his way he gets stuck in a dark forest. In search for someone that can help him, he encounters a secretive woman named Beatrice.

This visually compelling and character-driven road-movie, a poignantly atmospheric mystery drama, which is an intriguingly written story about a middle-aged man`s entwining love life, is strengthened by a fine music score and good acting performances, especially from Daniel Auteuil and Kristin Scott Thomas. Ludivine Sagnier and Emmanuelle Devos are also good in minor parts. A stylish, humorous and somewhat romantic neo-noir from Jacques Rivette`s frequent collaborator, which was nominated for the Golden Bear at the Berlinale in 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you'd think, 10 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I think this film has had some poor reviews, but I enjoyed it and it was what I expected. It is funny, but some people I saw it with felt it was not good at all, so I guess it depends on taste. The actors are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching a very pretentious painting dry, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Apple-eater "Severn Boy" (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The film looks great, and the actors and acting are spot on. But the whole thing, about a tedious bloke who everyone seems to find fascinating, going on an errand and getting lost in a forest and having incredibly pretentious conversations with a slightly mysterious woman, the whole thing is drainingly boring.

The dialogue is very much of the 'coffee? I'd love coffee. But would I? And if I did, what would it mean? Oh, kiss me...no, don't, we can't, it's the coffee - its central contradictions remind me too much of the human condition....'. I love France, French culture and the French language. I've seen loads of French films with these actors in, and thought they were brilliant. But not this one, I'm afraid.

Every time the story seems to be going somewhere, it goes somewhere else, leaving the audience (well, me anyway) wondering what's going on, and struggling to care.

Truly terrible, French film-making at its worst!

Désolé,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Petites coupures, petits acteurs, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Daniel Auteuil et Kristin Scott Thomas sont très décevants dans ce film dont l'histoire est ennuyeuse. Ils ont fait beaucoup mieux dans d'autres films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Petites Coupures, 14 April 2009
By 
Mr. Alastair Burnett "The Cyclist" (The Cyclist) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Honestly, the most boring French film I have ever seen and I love French/World cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bum numbing, 26 Feb 2004
By 
Stephen Newton (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Despite some strong supporting performances, a film that tried too hard at not going anywhere. None of these lost souls are allowed to develop into characters interesting enough to engage. We move on too soon; take the wife who must have known she was wearing the mistress’s lipstick. What kind of woman is she to put it on?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003]
Petites Coupures [DVD] [2003] by Pascal Bonitzer (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: 6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews