Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars92
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£5.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 1 January 2004
This dramatisation of a best selling novel is exceptional. The acting is beyond reproach and the film set is realistic in taking you back in time to the experience of these young wartime evacuees.
Beware this film will certainly tug at your emotions and is surely destined to become a classic. It is a film that does justice to the author’s original written work.
33 comments40 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2004
When this BBC drama was shown on TV over the 2003 Christmas holidays, it instantly became an overwelming success, and by the 12th of January, it had been released on DVD and video. How fast is that!
Over the years the BBC have produced loads of great dramas adapted from classic novels, such as 'David Copperfield' and 'Hard Times', and i have to say that this one is no acception to the rule. The fact that it was released on DVD and video only a week or so after it hit the TV screens, proves this.
Carrie's War is a story about Carrie and her brother who are evacuated to Wales at the start of the second world war, and are taken in by the grumpy Mr Evans and his sister Auntie Lou, and tells of their adventures in the village of Druids Bottom.
This heartwarming tale adapted from the bestselling novel by Nina Bawsen is full of emotion and is guarenteed to pull at your heart strings so my advice would be to get a good supply of hankies ready before you start watching it. It describes brilliantly the mixed emotions that children who were evacuated were feeling; saddness about leaving their parents, excitment that they were going to a new place, appreciation to the people who took them in, and many more.
The acting, like in most dramas not only by the BBC but also by other TV channels, is superb and in most respects often better than some of the acting which you see in films. Each character is portrayed by excelently by the actor , and i'm sure that we will see some of them in future films and dramas.
There is no doubt in my mind that this film will become a classic just like the book, and it certainly deserves it. This is one of those film which can be watched by all ages, and even if you are not into this type of film genre, you will still find it immensely enjoyable. Be warned though, you will need a good supply of hankies.
0Comment81 of 85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
I remember watching this on BBC in 2004 and thoroughly enjoying it so I was overjoyed when I got my DVD and found that it was every bit as good as I had remembered. I had forgotten how good the cast were (Alun Armstrong, Geraldine McEwan and Pauline Quirke to name buit a few) but this was an extra delight.

Now that this is about to become a big West End stage show I am sure that interest in both Nina Bawden's book and this wonderful adaptation will be stronger than ever.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2004
Carries war is dramatised from the book by Nina Bawden and it is not a bad effort by the bbc at all. The story tells of a young girl and her brother who are evacuated to wales during the second world war and the life they live their. It's a heart warming story of them being taken in by a gentlemen who didn't want them there and them gradually changing his mind as they come to leave. However it also tells the story of a hose built on an ancient druid city and it's residents, one of whom is the sister of the gentlemen looking after carrie. It all leads on from thesuperb welsh countryside to the great acting. A story that young and old can enjoy. Well done to the bbc for bringing to life a truly wonderful story.
0Comment26 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I bought this to show to my year 5 class. They loved it (boys and girls). It supported our history topic, was an fascinating alternative to Goodnight Mr Tom and made my girls feel that WW2 wasn't just for the boys. I personally prefer Goodnight Mr Tom, but neither of them cost much, so I recommend anyone to buy them both.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
This brought back so many memories and was so true to life. I was a tiny child at this time and two of my older brothers were evaccuated to Cornwall. One to a farm which he loved very much and the other to a Boarding School in Penzance. The detail to the times was just fabulous in this movie with everything looking just like it was the early 1940s. The children are great and the little brother is an absolute joy. I was especially struck by the children having to climb the stairs without daring to tread on the staircarpet runner. As usual Pauline Quirk is terrific. This will appeal to anyone with a sense of nostalgia and anyone with an appreciation of earlier and gentler kinder times.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
People are often disappointed by adaptations, but even if you do know the book, you should still enjoy this. The story is gripping, and the acting is of a very good standard. To compress the book into a couple of hours or less does mean some sacrifices. The most crucial change has been in the characterisation. Carrie's inability to understand others' motives is the cause of the series of crises in the book. Her younger brother Nick is - again in the book - the more insightful and aware one. This contrast is crucial to the plot, but the film downplays this to such an extent that some of Carrie's actions become incomprehensible. The ending of the book is rather saccharine, and it is a pity the film does not seek to improve on that. Overall a successful venture. Well done BBC.
0Comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
A beautifully done adaptation of the book by Nina Bawden. During Second World War Britain Carrie Willows (Keeley Fawcett) and her younger brother Nick (Jack Stanley) are evacuated as were hundreds of thousands of other British children from the larger cities and towns into the countryside. They are billeted out to a village in Wales they are fostered by the dour disciplinarian, the local shopkeeper Samuel Evans (Alun Armstrong) a widower and his younger sister, the timid Aunty Lou (Lesley Sharp) who soon grows very fond of the children
Carrie makes her way into the hearts of most of the people and when the children are sent on an errand to Druid's Bottom they are introduced to Hepzibah Green, reputed to be witch, her cerebral palsy son Mr Johnny (Jamie Beddard) and the reclusive Mrs. Dilys Gotobed (Geraldine McEwan). They are introduced to magic and local lore, there will be much heartache and twists of events which all makes for a charming , heart-warming, wonderful family movie, with a realistic setting, and whose events are tied up neatly in the end. A happy ending-yes, but not un-lifelike in the way it is done. Happy endings do exist.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
My chidlren and I enjoyed watching this film very much. It was fascinating seeing how children were treated when they had to leave their parents and be evacuated to other parts of the country which they did not know and to live with people they did not know, for long periods of time.
The film was very well made, with very authentic sets, props, etc., and the story held our attention, escpecially my 10, 8 and 6-year-olds.
I would recommend it to all ages as an excellent drama, and also a great history lesson in the hardships of war.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 August 2011
Like the Pevinsie children, the Willows are evacuated during the war but not to the Home Counties. They travel to Wales and there they become a reluctant part of their new family, a family with attitudes and views quite unlike their own. Naturally, they are homesick and find themselves in new and strange situations with unusual characters, some more frightening than others.
This best-selling Nina Bawden story has been adapted sensitively for the screen with believable actors who bring the characters alive.
The wardrobes may contain only clothes, but it is an enjoyable story, well-told of an age and world many of us have been fortunate not to live through.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.