Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic family fun
An absolute Harryhausen classic.
When you consider the age of this film, the special effects are still great, and a testament to Harryhausens work.
The film is far better than similar films of today, mainly because it does not rely on using actors for their ability to look good rather than act, some bint with more mamory glands than talent, or C-G-bloody-I...
Published on 29 Jan 2006 by Mr. Gavin P. Brooks

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Ok
Professor Nesbitt (Paul Christian) returns from a scientific experiment in the Arctic which has released a dinosaur. Only he has seen it and nobody believes him. Another couple of sightings of the monster at sea help to convince Professor Elson (Cecil Kellaway) to go in search of the pre-historic being with Lee Hunter (Paula Raymond) and Nesbitt as part of his team. The...
Published on 1 Aug 2009 by Alex da Silva


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Beast from 20000 Fathoms, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Old fashioned Sc Fi just great depends on your age a lot of stop go motion action had me spellbound when I saw it first still good if not a bit corny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant B Movie, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Love this Old B Movie, I cant seem to get away from the old classics and am waiting for Holy-Wood to try and update this one if they could. If you love this old stuff then I would recommend this to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sci fi b movie, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Steven Powell (north west UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I am a Sci Fi nut so the more 'B' rated the movie the better...if its not good with the plot, you can always have a laugh at the vintage 'special effects'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Beast, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Brought this for my brother for Christmas. He loves old films, especially horror movies. he liked it very very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top film, 22 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
I bought this film as I remember it from when I was a child - it was great fun, although sadly my wife didn't share in it. I did make the near-fatal mistake of saying to her "Do you remember when I said you looked like a film star?" - and pointed to the picture on the box.

I confess I began to enjoy my night in the summer-house and returned indoors the next morning colder and somewhat wiser.

My wife said this film was "pathetic", and of course compared with todays technology the special effects are "amusing" but it was meant to be ENTERTAINING and this film certainly is!

I told her that Take That's music doesn't entertain me, so that makes their music pathetic - however, this proved to be another own-goal as I had to sleep on the sofa for the entire weekend. Unless you can come up with better arguments than me, be selective with your purchase or watch it with the kids instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disturb a monster from its nap, 15 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
During a nuclear test in the Arctic, a long dormant prehistoric monster is awoken. Whilst the beast gradually makes its way towards New York, a survivor of an encounter with the creature, Professor Tom Nesbitt(Paul Hubschmid) struggles to get the authorities to believe his seemingly outlandish story. His only hop is an elderly Paleontologist Thurgood Elson(Cecil Kelloway) and his assistant Lee(Paula Redmond). Meanwhile the carnivorous Rhedosaurus has reached civilization.
This excellent piece of mega monster mayhem does move at quite a leisurely pace, but this does allow for some well rounded characters. The 1950's was the decade of the monster movie, with everything from Giant Ants(Them!), a huge spider(Tarantula), a giant octopus(It Came From Beneath The Sea) or dogs wearing rugs(The Killer Shrews). This film holds the ace card of having one of Ray Harryhausen's finest animated creations on display, the Rhedosaurus is a magnificent achievement. Adapted from a story by Ray Bradbury, the story mixes elements from both science fiction and traditional monster moviedom to great effect. My favourite sequence is probably Professor Elson's descent in the diving bell. Okay, it was probably shot in a fish tank, but that doesn't diminish its impact one jot. There are also some nice touches such as when the blind man is trampled underfoot by the panicking herd. Of course, it's the climatic scenes of the creature flattening New York that are rightly remembered.
A iconic creature feature from the 1950's. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about very well known Sci-Fi personality, 7 May 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
This film has all the 50's Sci-Fi standards except the flame thrower. We start off with a narrative that shows an atomic test taking place in the frozen north. Two people go out to take readings after the test. One does not come back and the other is delusional, talking of a monster. Naturally he needs curing and is almost well with a female paleontologist starts to believe him and offers to let him eat her sandwiches and look at mug shots of mobsters past. Can the authorities be convinced before it is too late?

Yes I know most people watched this movie because it has Lee Van Cleef playing a pivotal role. Yet we should not forget the many other familiar character actors that make this a true 50's monster picture. First there is that cute little monster himself curtseys of Ray Harryhausen; when he pushes over a lighthouse I can only think of one of my cats. He had the same mischievous look. Then there is Paula Raymond who has been in every TV play from "77 Sunset Strip" to several "Perry Mason's." Not to mention Cecil Kellaway, Dr. Chumley in Harvey (1950). Kenneth Tobey as Captain Patrick Hendry in "The Thing From Another World" (1951). There are way too many to mention here; so you will just have to watch for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute Harryhausen classic, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Massimo Santilli "kinowelt" (La Spezia - Liguria Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
The Beast From 20000 Fathoms aka in Italy "The awakening of the dinosaur" despite being a film made in economy with great success. The Harryhausen tricks are not the best, but decent fit in the tradition of his teacher O'Brien. Among actors, it is worthwhile to emphasize the presence of the excellent Cecil Kallaway placid and angelic-looking (already betrayed husband of Lana Turner in the Postman Always Rings Twice) and two characters, the one often seen in the films of John Ford - the granite Jack Pennick - the other, the future star of westerns of Sergio Leone - a Lee Van Cleef still without a mustache but still with a thick head of hair.
The original title is borrowed from the homonymous story (in Italy known as "The Mermaid") by Ray Bradbury, to whom Harryhausen, a script already completed, persuaded Warner to buy the rights. The scene where the monster is attracted by the light of the lighthouse and destroys it, just a reminder to the pages of Bradbury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Saint Michael, 11 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
Oh my they dont make em like they used to do! This film must have scared the pants off those 1950's kid's, and adult's! Seriously, during those post war years fraught with fears of an impending nuclear face off between the two "superpowers", it was film makers duty to put their own spin on the potential hazards of nuclear testing and the like. That would really peeve the survivors of a nuclear war, stepping out of their bunkers to be confronted with a 200ft monster! These films are a delight, but i have one gripe that applies to all of this genre, they kind of end all funny. The triumphant human protagonist's pull their face and wince a little, and there it is, THE END! I dont know about you, but if a huge beast lies slain infront of me, i would at least nervously spark a ciggie up and say "Thank the **** for that".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Harryhausen at his not quite best but still terribly good, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] (DVD)
The film is Ray Harryhausen's first film in which he did all the creature effects by himself. It his a very good film, but can lag behind in some parts. It should keep most people entertained, although younger audiences would be bored due to the lack of grand special effects, and black and white footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953]
The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms [DVD] [1953] by Eugene Lourie (DVD - 2004)
£19.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews