Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanastic Stuff!!!
After hearing that Matt Barlow had left the band & Tim 'Ripper' Owens had taken over lead vocals, I thought this is the end of what I consider to be one of the best metal bands around & when I heard what the new album was to be about, I also said I wouldn't buy it because the idea sounded rubbish. But in the end I did & am I glad? You bet your life I am.
The whole...
Published on 4 July 2004 by Mr. S. J. Seyboth

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dissapointing New Direction For A Great Band
Yes i am a massive iced earth fan, but a fan of their earlier works (i own them all). This album's a stinker and is only saved by Gettysburg being the masterpiece that it is (32mins long). All other songs here are boring, repetitive, obvious and cringingly patriotic. 'When The Eagle Cries' is TERRIBLE it is hailed as a masterpiece but do me a favour and listen first to...
Published on 26 Jun 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fanastic Stuff!!!, 4 July 2004
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
After hearing that Matt Barlow had left the band & Tim 'Ripper' Owens had taken over lead vocals, I thought this is the end of what I consider to be one of the best metal bands around & when I heard what the new album was to be about, I also said I wouldn't buy it because the idea sounded rubbish. But in the end I did & am I glad? You bet your life I am.
The whole album is just brilliant & with each song, you know thta the band are giving it their all. Tims vocal style really suites the mood of the album & although I regard Matt Barlow as the better singer, I don't think he could have made the album sound any better given the type of songs that are on it. His deeper voice just wouldn't put across the emotion that Tim's does.
The second cd about Gettysburg blows me away. It is better to listen to it with headphones on & reading the sleeve notes to gain a better understanding of what is happening in the songs.
Buy this cd. You WILL love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Iron Maiden!, 18 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I have ever bought in my life. This band are a combination of Iron Maiden vocals with heavy metal riffs. If you're a fan of psychopathic bass drumming, buy this album! If you're not, buy it anyway; it's that good! Nice going Iced Earth!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - A great intro for the Ripper, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Audio CD)
The Glorious Burden is a must have from the speedy exhilerating single The REckoning to the anthemic 32 minute long 3 part album finisher telling the tale of Gettysburg. Tim Owens (The Ripper formerly of Judas Priest) is a great singer and equal in talent to the great Matt Barlow. My favourite song on the album would have to be either Decleration Day or one of the 3 Gettysbug songs followed closely by the likes of Attila, Red Baron/Blue Max, When the Eagle cries and the Reckoning. Hollow Man and Valley Frge are also pretty good but I'd have to say that the weak point on the album for me would be the army tribute Greenface. Overall it is a brilliant album and I'd definetely recommend it. Oh yeah, look up stuff by Iron Maiden, Manowar, Ensiferum, Turisas and Rammstein as well. They are class!
Together we shall find the One Ring of Commercial Success and METAL shall reign supreme ina world without pop.
RINGWRAITH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 20 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Audio CD)
This is easily the best album i've heard this year and it is stunning full metal all the way!
I had never brought an Iced earth album before but i was a huge fan of Tim Owens when he was in Judas Priest and thought he had the best voice i had heard in a long time.
As soon as i found out that he had joined the band i purchased the album straight away and i was totally blown away.
This is better than anything he did with Priest,every song is amazing and the additional Gettysburg disc is an absolut masterpiece.
I would highly recommend is to any serious metal fan,fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They once again deliver, 1 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
Right to the point:
1) The addition of Ripper has given the band the boost it needed after Horror Show. Ripper's voice may be less "emotional" than Mat's but the way that he is delivering throughout the album is more than satisfactory. And yes you will find the "Priest screams" and they are used in clever ways.
2) The much advertised orchestra is a thing of beauty in the album. The Trilogy songs would not be the same without it. Truly an excellent touch...
3) The guitar playing is still heavy and melodic but by no means as "catchy" as in -say- Dark Saga. It is up to you to decide if this is good or bad.
4) There is a "patriotic" feeling in the album. Songs such as "Eagle Cries" may appeal not appeal to "non-americans". Despite this point no song can be said to be a filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part forgettable, part classic., 29 July 2005
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
I've been a huge fan of Iced Earth for a while now and, like most, was deeply disappointed to read about the departure of vocalist Matt Barlow. He was, without doubt, one of (if not THE) finest metal vocalist i've ever heard. That being said i was pleasantly surprised when i found out that he was being replaced by Tim Owens, the guy who had replaced (and was subsequently ousted by) Rob Halford in Judas Priest. Hearing Tim's vocals on the 1st disc i was undecided about whether i liked him or not, i think some of the songs were definitely written with Barlow in mind. However, on disc 2 (The Gettysburg Trilogy) all was forgiven as he does an astounding job!
The 1st disc of the album, i feel, languishes around 3 stars as some of the songs on disc 1 aren't great. However, the Gettysburg disc is a definite 5.
1. Star Spangled Banner - Exactly what it says, an instrumental version of the American national anthem done on guitars...love it or hate it or just skip it...
2. Declaration Day - A great song which show Tim Owen's vocals off to good effect. One of the high points of disc 1.
3. When the Eagle Cries - A song about 9/11. I hate it. Most people do. I would call this Iced Earth's worst song...but i'll save that for the unplugged version.
4. The Reckoning (Don't Tread On Me) - You need this after the previous song! Another great one, Tim Owens again used to good effect.
5. Greenface - A good heavy track but i'm not a big fan. I think this is definitely a Matt Barlow number.
6. Attila - Not bad. Not outstanding but listenable.
7. Red Baron/Blue Max - I cannot stand the vocals on the chorus of this song, which is a shame as the rest ain't too bad.
8. Hollow man - A slow one. I know a lot of people don't like it, i don't mind it.
9. Valley Forge - Not one of my favourites. Again, i think a lot is to do with the vocals.
10 - Waterloo - The best song on disc 1, without doubt. One listen and you'll love it!
11 - When the Eagle Cries (Unplugged) - The worst Iced Earth song ever.
The Gettysburg Trilogy.
Well, c'mon, this is what the album was all about really, wasn't it? Jon Schaffer's magnum opus that is The Gettysburg Trilogy. These are amongst the best of Schaffer's writing since the Something Wicked Trilogy on the Something Wicked This Way Comes album. The entire trilogy is majestic, poignant and epic in all the right places and Tim Owen's vocals compliment the music perfectly. The album is worth buying just for these songs.
I was slightly disappointed with the guitars on the album. I had the same problem with the previous Horror Show album. I find the guitars on both these albums quite...um, tinny i s'pose...in comparison to the sounds of other albums. This could just be me though.
The album is presented beautifully in digipack format with some lovely artwork on the front and is enclosed in a cardboard case. The booklet includes lyrics and more artwork and an introduction by Jon Schaffer to the Gettysburg Trilogy.
Overall, buy it even if it's only for Gettysburg!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iced Earth - The Glorious Burden, 12 July 2014
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Audio CD)
Iced Earth’s seventh full-length studio album; 2004’s The Glorious Burden, saw the US Power Metal band trading in long-time vocalist Matt Barlow for former Judas Priest singer Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens, when Barlow felt the call of duty to serve as a law enforcement officer.

Though my personal favourite singer Iced Earth has had is probably Matt Barlow because that’s who I heard first (usually how these things go), Tim Owens is a fine replacement with a wide range, a good attitude and some real power in those lungs. He’s clearly a very talented guy and fits the band well, matching the traditional high standard of Iced Earth singers.

The album was released via SPV records and was recorded in the famous Florida studio Morrisound, co-produced by Jim Morris and band–leader Tim Schaffer. Naturally, the album sounds fantastic. Crystal clear, grand, and yet still heavy.

The music itself on The Glorious Burden is fairly in line with what you would expect from Iced Earth, if perhaps focusing a little more on the mid-tempo aspects of their style. Mixing the sounds of Traditional Heavy Metal, early 80s US Prog Metal, USPM and a surprisingly high dose of Bay Area Thrash… Iced Earth have a definite identifiable, proudly Metallic sound and don’t deviate too far from it here. It you like melody, double kicks, guitar solos and a crunchy riffs its all here to be had.

The band do stretch their wings however on the fabulous, slightly progressive, three-part album closer “Gettysburg,” which is full of civil-war era music mixed with the band’s triumphant-sounding Metal music (even going so far as to make Metal versions of melodies from “When Johnny Comes Marching Home,” “The Star Spangled Banner” and “Dixie” and add them into the proceedings). This trilogy of songs is really worth checking out and practically worth the price of the album on their own.

In addition to that however, there are also an album’s worth of brief, well-written, masterfully executed Metal tracks on the disc too. Things like the memorable “Declaration Day,” “Valley Forge” and “Red Baron/Blue Max.” This is yet another consistent, filler-free effort from the band. If you are in the right mood, and give these songs the time to sink in, you can really grow to love this record.

Overall; The Glorious Burden is a strong and interesting album from the veteran band. Iced Earth fans should enjoy it. Tim Owens fans should enjoy it. Fans of a lot of Metal style should like it too (Heck; even if you have a prejudice about Power Metal due to the Keyboards, Goblins & Wizards stereotype, this should give you a new perspective on the possibilities). If you wonder whether this album is for you, take a listen to “Valley Forge” and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. A classic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Tim!!, 13 Jan 2008
By 
P. J. dickinson (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) (Audio CD)
This album is awesome!!I am a huge iced earth fan and i have all their previous albums and i think Matt Barlow is an amazing metal singer but for me Tim Owens is better!For me he is up there with Bruce Dickinson as one of the best heavy metal singers of all time!! and he suits this album brilliantly.From 'Declaration day' right through to 'Waterloo' he is awesome!!and Gettysburg is a true masterpiece with the orchestra brillianty adding the effect of devastion and sorrow which occured at the battle of gettysburg.Keep up the good work Jon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece, 25 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Glorious Burden (Audio CD)
When will Iced Earth get the credit and recognition they deserve ? After releasing the exceptional "Burnt Offerings", "The Dark Saga" and "Something Wicked...", Schaffer and his band took a very slight dip in form with "Horror Show". "The Glorious Burden" is, however, a real and welcome return to top form. Tim Owens has joined the band after the excellent and talented Matt Barlow left. Does Owens cut the proverbial mustard ? Yes he does. The music remains dark and doomy and the riffs fly thick and fast, yet Owens steps into Barlow's shoes with aplomb. Iced Earth fall into a niche somewhere between Maiden, Metallica and Priest; their (or should I say Schaffer's) style is a mix of crunching, chunky, muscular riffs set against some genuine melody, usually within the same song. Schaffer's lyrics are always interesting and I really do not understand why this excellent band have not hit the big time. If you like Maiden et al, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Glorious Burden (Ltd.)
The Glorious Burden (Ltd.) by Iced Earth (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews