Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stong Debut for The Fame Academy Runner Up
Undaunted by his failure to make the final auditions for Fame Academy 2002, Alistair Griffin reapplied for this years programme. His persistence paid off.
Not only did he go on to become one of the Academy’s 2003 finalists, he has also got himself a record contract with PROTV.
Bring It On is Alistair's debut single and it’s the kind of pop that will...
Published on 14 Nov 2003 by Dan Hammond

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bring what on?
This is a catchy song, and Alistair has a good voice. However, there are lots of bands/performers all doing exactly the same style of music right now. This is generic pop, and the lyrics are dull, obvious and lazy.
I would very much like to hear Alistair come up with something a little more sophisticated than this - maybe I'll get that chance when his album comes...
Published on 3 Jan 2004 by Nik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stong Debut for The Fame Academy Runner Up, 14 Nov 2003
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Undaunted by his failure to make the final auditions for Fame Academy 2002, Alistair Griffin reapplied for this years programme. His persistence paid off.
Not only did he go on to become one of the Academy’s 2003 finalists, he has also got himself a record contract with PROTV.
Bring It On is Alistair's debut single and it’s the kind of pop that will stroll nonchalantly into the listeners conscience and refuse to leave until you know the lyrics off by heart.
One of the B-sides on this Cd are also known from the show as Al's initial audition track, a cover of the 1995 Take That single Back For Good. Appropiate really, that as the track Alistair is covering, is a track from the most successful singer/songwriter on the 1990's (Gary Barlow), a title that he would love to live up to himself this decade. No doubt Alistair will fulfill his potential and be around for some time yet.
This is catchy pop and Alistair is here for some time yet, so go out and get what could be the first in a long line of smash hits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Song, 31 Dec 2003
I first heard 'Bring It On' on the television, at the time i wasn't fond of the song but it grew on me. Its a great slice of electro-pop and should cater for all pop fans out there, all Fame academy fans will enjoy this song.
The B-Side 'My Lovers Prayer' is a beautiful song, i first heard a remix version of this song, i fell in love with the remix version and i decided that i had to buy the single. This song sounds like a typical Bee Gees love song, which should cater for all Bee Gees fans.
Alistair looks set to pull in huge amounts of fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great alistair- amazing!!!!!!, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
debut single from alistair griffin the runner-up from fame academy. first when i saw alistair in the 1st show of fame academy, i saw he was going to be in the final.
he writes great songs, like bring it on, and his voice is amazing.
bring it on - brilliant song!!!
back for good- the first song we have heart from ali...
lover's prayer- great song , with the supporter robin geeb...
you have to but it, were all waiting for ali's album in january....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Update and Duet, 31 Dec 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a rare thing when a remake of a song surpasses the original. Such is the case with "A Lover's Prayer". Robin Gibb and Alistair Griffin get equal coverage on this impressive duet, originally written and performed by the Bee Gees. There is a sense of true R&B and the vocals expouse great emotion. This deserves to be a huge hit.
This single version (collector's item) is available only for a short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Start!, 4 Jan 2004
I became familiar with Alistair only because I have been a Bee Gees fan for 40 years. I really like "Bring It On". It seems a perfect fit for this young singer. I have to admit I still love the original version by the Bee Gees of "A Lover's Prayer" best, but Alistair & Robin's version is growing on me. I hope Alistair goes on to have a great career and prove Robin's faith in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Occasionally, they find a rare gem......, 20 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
I admit to not being a fan of TV talent shows but am willing to listen to any artist that they "discover" and their material with an open mind. With a couple of exceptions, I have been disappointed. This is one such exception.
I first heard this track on a sports show and it instantly stuck in my head though I had no idea what it was or who it was by. I have since heard it on radio and video channels - backed up by a very simple but very effective performance video.
The lyrics are straightforward and in keeping with one of the most obvious but most catchy chorus chants I can remember. The singer has a strange and rather endearing quality to his voice and, judging from the video at least, an abundance of personality. Whether this is representative of his music and style or not I can't say but as a stand-alone piece of music, this is just about faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring it On, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Jayne Smart (Gateshead , Tyne & Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
This is the first single from Alistair, and what a single it is. A catchy sing along song, gets into your head (how right you are Mr Richard Parks) will having you singing all day everyday.
Alistair is undoubtedly a rising star, can't wait for the album. Everyone should have a copy of this song in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring On The Album, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Please help..I can't get this song out of my mind!!! Seriously, this is a fantastic debut song that I defy anyone to hear more than once and not start singing along to. A catchy verse builds to a foot stomping chorus that makes you feel good even in this murky winter weather. With a Robin Gibb duet as one of the B sides, this is a must have CD single - all that's left to say is "BRING ON THE ALBUM"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Fame Academy, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Anne-Marie Fowler (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring It On / My Lover's Prayer (Duet with Robin Gibb) [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Bring it on , written and performed by Alistair Griffin is one of those singles that will be played again and again for years to come. It's a catchy, feelgood pop record and it's not ashamed of it either!
What a prospect this Fame Academy 2003 runner up is; please forget all the pretentious stuff written about reality TV shows...this debut single is a real gem and can easily outshine many of the offerings in the UK charts of late.
This will not be the last you'll hear of Alistair Griffin...... Bring It On!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the mighty alistair...., 26 Dec 2003
first single, first cd, first recording of the great alistair griffin.
a wonderful song which i hope will be no.1 (not victoria)
we are going for a great year with a brilliant artist names alistair griffin with a great upcoming album on 12th january...
no wonder why robin gibb supported him all the time..
go ali!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews