Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling account of the Pastorale
Carlos Kleiber has always been fascinating in Beethoven (as in most of the selective repertoire he used to play). This unique document of the Pastorale, taped live in Munich in 1983 (according to the liner notes the only time Kleiber performed this symphony), is no exception. His account is intense, urgent, dazzling, to the point of becoming feverish, and is sure to keep...
Published on 12 Feb 2005 by Marc Haegeman

versus
16 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a great performance
Kleiber's recordings are few and many have some sort of legendary status. This is deserved for the Beethoven 5 and 7 (on DG) and the Brahms 4 (also on DG). But this live performance is not in their class. It has lots of nice touches and the storm is (of course) exciting. Fast speeds can make for new insights but others have explored this vein more productively. In this...
Published on 11 April 2008 by enthusiast


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dazzling account of the Pastorale, 12 Feb 2005
By 
Marc Haegeman "Marc Haegeman" (Gent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
Carlos Kleiber has always been fascinating in Beethoven (as in most of the selective repertoire he used to play). This unique document of the Pastorale, taped live in Munich in 1983 (according to the liner notes the only time Kleiber performed this symphony), is no exception. His account is intense, urgent, dazzling, to the point of becoming feverish, and is sure to keep one spellbound long after the performance is finished (just as the audience seemed to have been during the actual concert), as if a work deemed familiar was really heard for the very first time.
Since the original master tape seems to have been in poor condition, the producers of this CD preferred to use the audio cassette made by Kleiber's son. Although carefully mastered there is quite some tape hiss left. Another minus is undoubtedly the short total time (39 minutes). Yet no admirer of Kleiber or Beethoven's Pastorale should be without this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary performance..., 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
If you are at all interested in Beethoven symphonies, then it is worth buying this unique live recording. The sound quality is not perfect and there are a couple of coughs from the audience in the finale. Whatever you think of the tempo Kleiber chooses (the first movement in particular is fast), he achieves an amazing drive and intensity of expression from the orchestra. This is an extraordinary performance of a well-loved work, which made it sound fresh and exhilarating. I don't know what the audience were expecting, but at the end there is an uncertain pause before they decide to start clapping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite recording, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
I love this. I love this more than I can say, but I'll give it a go. While most composers go for the slowed down approach to 'those' parts of first movement, Kleiber grabs it by the throat and runs off with it with maniacal joy. Allegedly sticking to Beethoven's metronome settings, this version takes no prisoners, and while the recording quality is not as good as others (not surprising, given its history) it more than rewards the listener with the alternative rendition offered by Kleiber. Some may consider it an anomaly, some a curiosity, or a museum piece, others an outright abomination, but I am always disappointed by every other version I hear now that I know this one. 'Joyful feelings awaken on arriving in the countryside' - oh yeah...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not iPod friendly, 19 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
a wonderful performance.it was singled out as far and away the finest in recent bbc cd review. however it is copy protected, and will not allow transfer to my iPod.would love to listen to it while walking in the countryside. anyone know a way around this problem?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous rendition of this wonderful work., 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
I selected this particular recording through the BBC's Building a Library. This is a marvelous rendition of this wonderful work which took me back to the first time I really listened to it years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New (old) take on Beethoven 6, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
The amazing interpretation of Beethoven 6 needs to be heard to be believed. Although this is a remastered recording (from a cassette!) the sound quality is good, but not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a brilliant recording, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
Just listen to it, I can't hear an orchestra but the angels themselves. I have read some reviews that donnot like the tempo. I totally disagree, this is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a great performance, 11 April 2008
By 
enthusiast "enthusiast" (sussex, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
Kleiber's recordings are few and many have some sort of legendary status. This is deserved for the Beethoven 5 and 7 (on DG) and the Brahms 4 (also on DG). But this live performance is not in their class. It has lots of nice touches and the storm is (of course) exciting. Fast speeds can make for new insights but others have explored this vein more productively. In this case they frequently rob the piece of its charm and even sometimes have the piece sounding to my ear frivolous. For me this is really very far from a first choice but I know that others have felt much more positive about it. I would go for the Bohm or the Harnoncourt or Vanska among modern performances. Also, one symphony on a record is not at all good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlos Kleiber first choice on Radio 3 CD Review, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Ian Boswell (Ayr United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
Interesting to read the varied responses on here. On 5th Nov. 2011 this recording was the first choice in Building A Library on the CD Review programme on Radio 3. The reviewer said it won "hands down". Apparently this was the only time Kleiber ever conducted the Pastoral symphony! By contrast some years earlier the choice of a different reviewer was Otto Klemperer. Why not have the best of both worlds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent, 26 Mar 2004
By 
G Pelloni "gpelloni" (Cottingham, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' (Audio CD)
To comment on this performance I can use only one word: magnificent. Further comments would be superflous and inadequate. The cd sound is quite good for its times and for a live recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral'
Beethoven: Symphony No. 6, 'Pastoral' by Ludwig van Beethoven (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews