Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It took a while...
... and then it sunk in - this really is a good album.
On the first listen I was a little disappointed as it sounded like another album of r'n'b, funk and soul tracks with nothing to make it stand out from the crowd.
However after a few more listens the style and the layers of the music began to sink in and soon I found myself singing along even when it wasnt...
Published on 20 April 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amp Fiddler messes with quality control knob
Hard not to ignore mid-tempo soul/hip-hop/r'n'b hybrids in the sonic boom caused by the arrival of Outkast's meisterwerk latest Lp, but surely a name like Amp Fiddler is an impish nod to the possibilities of day-glo musical mischief shown to us by Messers Boi and 3000?
Well, yes and no. Again it comes down to titles; our hero reveals his intentions with his self...
Published on 29 Jan 2004 by Martin Paul Bryant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It took a while..., 20 April 2004
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
... and then it sunk in - this really is a good album.
On the first listen I was a little disappointed as it sounded like another album of r'n'b, funk and soul tracks with nothing to make it stand out from the crowd.
However after a few more listens the style and the layers of the music began to sink in and soon I found myself singing along even when it wasnt playing.
Top quality music and great to just chill and unwind to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Vibes, 24 May 2004
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
I bought this album after being introduced to the sounds of Mr Fiddler himself through Gilles Peterson and on the dancefloor at Electric Chair, Manchester.
What an album! It's great to hear a fresh approach to the delightful sounds of soul, funk and RnB.
Amp Fiddler's excellent vocal and his masterful keyboard playing really make this album. This guy had had plenty of experience with collaborations with George Clinton, Prince, Only Child, Brand New Heavies, Carl Craig - to mention a few!
Check out Eye to Eye - in my opinon the best track on the album. An excellent laid back, groovy song with a catchy bass riff.
Buy this album and you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class-Act !!, 4 Feb 2004
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
All reviewers of this album have mentioned Sly/Mayfield/Clinton et al & rightly so. The guys musical pedigree is second to none and for a debut album this is full of potential and marks Amp fiddler as an artist for the future ... A Class Act in the making !! Buy now or jump on the bandwagon later !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oooooooooooooohhhhhhyes, 1 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
Excellent... smooooooooooooooooooooth... laid back soul... beautiful production..... think sly and the family stone with a modern twist.... I guarantee you will have trouble getting this off the player... not one duff track... and one hidden groove to surprise you if you drift far away whilst listening to its beauty... do yourself a favour and buy it now... you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must-have' modern soul album, 12 Jan 2004
By 
DM Norris "da_boss_selecta" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
Amp Fiddler may not be known to the masses but if you have heard and loved the output by the likes of Raphael Saadiq, Erykah Badu, Dwele, and D'Angelo, then you will love this album. Standout tacks for me on this album are 'Superficial', Possibilities', and "Love and War'.
2004 has only just begun and already we have a contender for the soul album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Feb 2004
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the back of reviews which I had read in the papers and various magazines. After only 1 day of listening I am amazed! My musical knowledge is not broad enough to speak of his influences, but I loved this album completely. It is very easy to just listen to without doing anything else, good background music and good for working to. The way in which the tracks flow is sublime, and to here this work on a debut is fantastic, I just hope that he has more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, 4 July 2004
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to catch Amp fiddler's re-sheduled performance at Glastonbury and was blown away by it- I'd seen a couple of his tv performances, but in concert, he and his band take it to a new level.
The album sounds a lot more relaxed, and at first comes across as being pretty standard, but as another reviewer posted, after a few listens it really hits you- i guess like all thickly layered funk masterpieces. I was reminded a lot of Sly and the Family Stones 'There's a Riot goin on' (check that out if you liked this cd)- its not quite on the same level but it is really good and a great debute.
Oh and if you liked this, you might like Brian jackson's 'Gotta Play' album- its more jazzy but its fantastic- Brian is the unfairly neglected partner of Gil Scott-Heron and together they made some of the most amazing and beautiful music of the seventies- his long long time coming solo effort hasn't recieved much attention but its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one album this year..., 7 Dec 2005
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
...buy this one. Having seen a couple of tracks on 'Later with Jools Holland' I couldn't resist buying the album. Personally, I enjoyed the first listening but it does grow and grow and really got under my skin. A fantastic 'fusion' of old 70's hammond organ with modern beats and backing but the energy and voice are what really make it. Rates in my top 10 albums of all time. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB LIVE PERFORMANCE, 6 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
I have just seen this band play live at the Out There Festival in Bracknell & I felt the need to publicise just how great they were despite having never heard of them before this weekend! They really got the crowd rocking & created an excellent atmosphere. Based on what I saw & heard live I would definitely recommend this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amp Fiddler messes with quality control knob, 29 Jan 2004
By 
Martin Paul Bryant (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly (Audio CD)
Hard not to ignore mid-tempo soul/hip-hop/r'n'b hybrids in the sonic boom caused by the arrival of Outkast's meisterwerk latest Lp, but surely a name like Amp Fiddler is an impish nod to the possibilities of day-glo musical mischief shown to us by Messers Boi and 3000?
Well, yes and no. Again it comes down to titles; our hero reveals his intentions with his self conscious Lp, eager to cover all bases from sophisticate to street thug. Indeed, his often self-conscious vocal stylings bear out this desire to try and please all of the people all of the time.
The 13 tracks here see Amp Fiddler not as progressively tricksy as those from the southern hip-hop scene, instead opting for a bit of Sly/Curtis-aping rootsy earnestness.
It is in this jazzy, chin-stroking mode that the album lurches along with tepid tedium marking the first handful of tracks, before suddenly revving up on "Superficial" in a flurry of house twinkling and disco bass, rushing for the finishing line whilst being held back by his blunted drawl. The tension that lies between the electro-twitchery and the best take on Sly Stone this reviewer has heard serves to mimic the success of the nervy neuron snapping narcoticism of "There's A Riot Goin' On". Shame that these heavy-duty credentials are employed to carry a message as flimsy as this half-hearted put-down. Maybe he was singing into a mirror.
"Possibilities" shows our man an accommodating fellow, wheeling out the luxury leather upholstery and leading with gently uplifting piano plinkity-plinking. You know those minimalist trend-wankery hotels you see in newspaper glossies? This is music made to play in their lounges. The jury's out as to whether that's good or not. Either way, the track's mindless positivity fluff is infuriately suited to such a setting; if he believes "deep in my mind I believe everything is possible", he could perhaps have directed this energy into saying something.
Only occasionally is there a whiff of danger, with "Love & War" breaking through the morass; the trip-synth from Blondie's "Heart of Glass" and some free jazz trumpet shapes set the scene for the Fiddler to essay another of the aforementioned vocal stylings, this time the honeyed passion of protest-mode Marvin. Drenching the track in reverb is a masterstroke, you can hear space, and the mind's eye is prevented from conjuring up another stoned studio jam scenario.
Of course some fluff floats away, whereas some settles. Praising the beauty of some soft-focus female to the sunny r'n'b pop-lite skies is a easy ride to staying power, and so it goes on "Soul Divine", where a piercing Hammond-groove cajoles the multi-instrumentalist and his cohort of cooing backing vocalists to a loping pop soul heaven.
All too often though the musicianship dawdles around in a lazy indecision that frustrates the listener, especially when the likes of "Eye To Eye" grab you by the lughole, thanks to the vocal's untamed undulations from purr to growl, with a bouncy castle of a bass line and a fairground ride of a synth line bubbling along underneath.
The quality of the second half of the record is secured by "Can't Get Me Off Your Mind", which achieves the mighty feet of making the wait for the reappearance of D'Anglelo slightly more bearable, being a wonderfully sweet caramelisation of the angelic one's brown sugar sound.
The title track consolidates on this good will and sends you packing on a high note, Deft minor chords suck you into the song's heart, where the lilting interplay of backing and lead vocals stroke you a gentle farewell. George Clinton comes in to talk over the fade out, in what could be seen as a desperate last grasp to make the whole enterprise seem legit. On balance, he don't need such tactics, but he certainly adds the word "precarious" to Otis Redding's Dictionary of Soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly
Waltz Of A Ghetto Fly by Amp Fiddler (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews