Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Classic Returns
This is the great ignored Tull LP. Released amidst the chilly winds of the punk fall-out in the late 1970's, 'Stormwatch' is one of the Tull's more coherent and pertinent statements, both lyrically and musically. The vague concept about renewable resources, global climate change and political intervention is as relevant today as it was back then (the LP was released...
Published on 23 Jan 2004 by Timothy Hooper

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious approach of melancholy music
Jethro Tull turned to a more serious approach with this album, indeed this is Anderson at his most melancholy and brooding at times. There was good reason as the bassist John Glasgock was suffering congenital heart problems and this was his last album before his tragic death. Other members of the band were departing so it was a genuine changing of the guard. The songs...
Published on 16 April 2012 by S Tuffnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lost Classic Returns, 23 Jan 2004
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
This is the great ignored Tull LP. Released amidst the chilly winds of the punk fall-out in the late 1970's, 'Stormwatch' is one of the Tull's more coherent and pertinent statements, both lyrically and musically. The vague concept about renewable resources, global climate change and political intervention is as relevant today as it was back then (the LP was released just as the UK began benefitting from - and squandering - the income raised from the oil fields in the North Sea). Songs such as 'Dark Ages', 'North Sea Oil' and 'Something On The Move' are all highly melodic, strong pieces, mercifully lacking the Tull lack of focus that sometimes made their songs a bit unwieldy. Here the band were right on top of their craft and Ian Anderson hadn't sung this convincingly for many a year.

It's not all strident either, 'Dun Ringil' is as beautiful as anything on 'Songs From the Wood' and the closing instrumental piece 'Elegy' is simply delightful. Indeed, there are so many great songs here, long time fans will particularly enjoy 'Orion' and 'The Flying Dutchman'.

It's time to replace that old vinyl, or to get to know a lost Tull classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd forgotten how good this album is. A rock classic, 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
With the possible exception of Broadsword and the Beast, this is the last of the great Tull albums.
(those being Songs From the Wood, Heavy Horses , Bursting Out (Live) and Stormwatch ).
Stormwatch is the heaviest/most guitar oriented of three studio albums but still contains plenty of great melodies and softer moments.
North Sea Oil and Dark Ages sit at the rockier end of the spectrum while the instrumental 'Warm sporran' and the hauntingly beautiful 'Dun Ringill' show Tull are still in touch with the folkier/more pastoral themes.
The extra material is also of a high standard and fits in well with the main album. "A stitch in time" being a personal favourite that I bought as a single on white vinyl.
Even though the lyrics are imbued with the politics of the day the music hasn't aged badly at all and as I listened to this album for the first time in many years, I was transported back to the cold winter of 1979.
Magical stuff.
Where Old Ghosts play right enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars remastering brings out the fine details of 70s Tull albums, 17 Oct 2011
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
Just like is predecessor, Heavy Horses, Stormwatch's original vinyl release was met largely with indifference - Tull were seen as a spent force, going backwards rathere than forwards. However, it isn't till you hear the remasters of their mid and late 70s albums that you appreciate their complexity. Much comes out that was missed before, the sound limitation of vinyl being the main factor in the way music was mixed in those days. I always refer to Stormwatch as Tull's "Scottish Album" - not because the concept is in any way scottish or even celtic, but because the musical styles involved typify the folk-rock scene north of the border - elements later taken up by Runrig. The two long tracks stand out immediately - Ian Anderson's vision never dulled, it was simply edited rather harshly at times - and a number of the shorter tracks were released as singles, without charting, they're a little too intelligent for 7-inch fodder. The bonus tracks have all come out on several previous collections, but always good to have them gathered as they were recorded during album sessions, and as is often the case, some of these passed-over tracks are actually as good if not better than those included on the album. All in all a very strong album in retrospect, melodic and musical and not relying solely on huffing down a flute, many different instrumental dimensions evolved during this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull at their peak, 10 April 2008
By 
Birdnut (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
I have been listening to Jethro Tull regularly over the last 30 years, and have to say I like most of their massive back cataloge. If I was to pick one album though as 'the best Tull sound' it would have to be this stunner. Production, instrumentation and orchestration (to my ears) are superb. I have read much about Stormwatch, and I'm constantly surprised and disappointed at the bad press it generally gets - in my opinion hugely undeserved. It is such an underated album. I was fortunate to see this great line up on the Stormwatch tour, just two days before it broke up, and I remember sitting in the audience open mouthed in awe at the show in front of me! No other band has had that effect on me since. Back to the album, my personal favourite track is probably 'Flying Dutchman' atmospheric Scottish sounding with beautifull flute and mandolin and of course John Glascock's bass, but every track (original album) is wonderful. Other absolute stand outs are 'Old Ghosts' with it's brilliant baseline, 'Dark Ages' a 9 minute monster which I think contains the best sounding Tull rock passage from their entire cataloge (second guitar break), 'Home', as warm as sitting by the fire in your favourite slippers, 'Dun Ringill', most peoples favourite from this album, a beautiful acoustic piece, which indeed always transports me to the west coast of Scotland, and 'Orion', with it's infectious chorus. This also of course was the last album by Tull that included the amazing Barrimore Barlow on drums, plus John Evans, John Glascock and David Palmer. Such a shame that John Glascock died soon after this album was released, he only played on three tracks (Orion, Flying Dutchman and Elegy). Such a shame we couldn't have experienced another album with this band line up. Best of the bonus tracks is 'Kelpie', but the quality of the bonus tracks are not on the same level as the original album. So to sum up, I think out of the many great Jethro Tull albums (most of which indeed were from the 1970's) this one sits on top of the pile. Just compare the overall rich sound and incredible musicianship of this one with the others. Also check out these Tull albums: 'Thick as a Brick', 'Passion Play', 'Minstrel in the Gallery', Live-Bursting Out', 'Benefit', 'Broadsword', 'Heavy Horses' and 'Stand Up'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A serious approach of melancholy music, 16 April 2012
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
Jethro Tull turned to a more serious approach with this album, indeed this is Anderson at his most melancholy and brooding at times. There was good reason as the bassist John Glasgock was suffering congenital heart problems and this was his last album before his tragic death. Other members of the band were departing so it was a genuine changing of the guard. The songs were reflecting the troubled economy with the oil crisis being at the forefront of the lyrics. I prefer this darker Tull than the whimsy of "Too Old to Rock N Roll (Too Young To Die)" or "Songs From the Wood". However it is reasonable to understand why many reviewers see it as a letdown, whereas others hail it as a masterpiece. I sit somewhere in the middle as the musicianship is well up to standard especially Martin Barre's driving guitars which are heavier on "Stormwatch".

Anderson is terrific on the flute with tracks such as 'Orion' and 'Flying Dutchman'. His vocals are seriously conveyed which is a nice change. The melodies are catchy and grow on you, particularly on the upbeat 'Kelpie' bonus track. The bonus tracks are actually all very good, some were released as singles, such as 'Stitch in Time' or B sides such as the medieval inspired instrumental 'King Henry's Madrigal'.

The packaging of the album is effective with snow bears, binoculars and album covers of the Eps and singles. All in all this is a fine album that definitely marks the end of the 70s decade. The golden era was well and truly over and now Jethro Tull were about to encounter the 80s as they verged off into new rocky territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it, 22 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
Stormwatch is an excellent if somewhat uneven album, the track in Dark Ages in particular being among the greatest Tull songs; brilliant lyrics with a musical play on the opening notes of Beethoven's (Anderson's favourite composer) 5th to indicate how far Britain was in the Winter of Discontent from the Enlightenment. (Of course, it is even further in these days' 'consumer haze'.) My problem with this album, both on vinyl and cd, was that it also sounded as though it had been recorded in the dark ages. All the tracks were muddy and lacking focus, warmth and bite. The remastered version rectifies this problem. The album now sounds massively better and well worth the £6.99 or so to hear properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great suprise, 26 Feb 2004
By 
S. M. Engel (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
I didn't know this album until I received it 2 days ago. I must say it was a very pleasant suprise. In my opinion it is one of the better Tull-albums. Altough it has some dark lyrics on it, this album is the third in the trilogy of Songs from the wood and Heavy Horses with a nice folk-rock feel to it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So apt for 2007, 30 July 2007
By 
J. Postans "16 miles from TULLster" (in the wood which ian sings of) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
As I moved out to the woods and decided to make green decisions i wanted songs which reflected my life style so to speak. I always have fond memories of my dads Stand up album as it popped open as a child, but never recalled the songs, but happened to stumble across Songs From The Wood which gave earthly spirited conitations of where i was and the thought of making love on velvet green ooh er. Storm Watch which i have just bought captures the feeling of global warming and the wicked weather patterns of this decade so Storm Watch goes in to it's second cycle as the heavy rain has hit hard. Stormwatch is dark though somewhat comforting. Stitch In Time is a lighter ditty which i find uplifting in this gassly summer but i'm really yet to relish the albumn as i have only heard this twice! Even so, it stands out as a true gem amongst Songs Of The Wood & Heavy Horses. I'd just like to say as a newbie to TULL is that i feel i was born in the wrong era i'd love to had been there back in the day but so glad Jethro Tull have rekindled my love to good music. Please Ian and crew if you just happened to read this can you pay the recording studios a visit and bring it to us once again. If you have yet to add Stormwatch to your collection press by this product now no NOW go on then click the mouse you know you want to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oft Overlooked Gem, 8 Sep 2010
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
In the 11 years from 1969 to 1979 Tull released 11 studio albums of original material written by main man Ian Anderson. That's right, 11 albums in 11 years- how many musicians would even attempt that nowadays? This album was the 11th so you would expect a dropping off of standards, right? Wrong. This is a superb album which is often overlooked in the Tull canon but which epitomises so much that was great about the Tull of the 70's.
Here you will find driving but always melodic rock alternating with gentler acoustic numbers, some with subtle orchestral backing that complements but never overwhelms the songs. A number of the songs display concern for environmental issues long before it became fashionable to do so.
This reissue includes bonus tracks including the single "A stitch in time" which, though worth having, were previously released on the "20 years of Jethro Tull" box set released in 1988; however since that box set is now only available at an extravagant price, this is the most sensible way to get these tracks nowadays.
Few people would suggest this as the album to start off a Tull collection with "Aqualung", "Songs from the Wood" or even "Thick as a Brick" being the likely candidates, but frankly I think a newcomer to Tull could do much worse than choose this as their starting point.
After this album there was a major shake up in the Tull line up with only the faithful Martin Barre on guitar remaining with Anderson for the next album "A" and Tull never sounded the same again; you could argue they never sounded this good again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End of an Era, 25 Sep 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stormwatch (Audio CD)
"STORM WATCH": This was the last JT LP produced with the great line-up of Anderson, Barre, Barlow, Evan and Palmer and acts as a great counter-point to the equally great Heavy Horses. Whereas Heavy Horses dealt mostly with country life and the threats to it, this LP is very much focussed on the oil rigs and fishing communities of the North Sea. Always at his best when he found a strong theme for his music, Ian Anderson is on cracking song writing form here. You can almost taste the sea spray and feel the chill wind with these songs, ranging from the epic political "Dark Ages", through the hauntingly sad "Flying Dutchman" to the beautiful sign off instrumental "Elegy".
Now moving away from the folk rock of the mid 70s this still represented a band at the peak of their powers.
If you can get hold of a copy buy it!
"A": J Tull's next LP was "A" (the one with the Close Encounters style cover). This seems to have vanished completely now but I thought I'd mention it in case anyone finds a copy. It's well worth seeking out. (Anyone know where you can get a CD of this?)
I have an old vinyl version of "A" and side 1 is as good as anything JT ever did. The band featured the brilliant Mark Craney on drums and Eddie Jobson on keyboards (mostly piano). The musicianship is astonishingly tight. With drummers as good as this around I can't believe Ian Anderson replaced him with the plodding Gerry Conway and a drum machine for Broadsword and the Beast.
Sticking to Ian Anderson's preferred formula of writing a series of songs around a strong theme, this concentrated on the concerns of suburban Thatcherite Britain i.e. commuting, overwork, greed, crime and the threat of nuclear war. These songs are all written with a lightness of touch and easy sarcastic humour that belies the serious theme. Undoubtedly the bands most politically astute LP, the quality of the lyrics makes the rubbish Ian Anderson's been writing since Crest of a Knave all the more perplexing.
Will the real Ian Anderson come back please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stormwatch
Stormwatch by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews