Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt bruised country/folk/blues: excellent!
As a fan of acoustic singer-songwriters - in particular Nick Drake and Elliott Smith - I was eager to check out this album by Josh Ritter, especially as he has been compared to the above.
This album has quite a strong alt-country feel, and although as a rule I am not really into country, I'll make an exception for Josh. His acoustic guitar playing is great and he has...
Published on 27 Dec. 2003

versus
5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better live
Having heard Josh Ritter supporting Joan Baez, I was bowled over by hischarm and the brilliance of his craftmanship.
Sadly, not much of what Isaw that night comes through on this album. Most disappointingly of all,where Josh Ritter live was full of spark and originality, this album isvery derivitive. OK, it's derivitive of the best - Nick Drake, Dylan, andeven Joan...
Published on 27 April 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt bruised country/folk/blues: excellent!, 27 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
As a fan of acoustic singer-songwriters - in particular Nick Drake and Elliott Smith - I was eager to check out this album by Josh Ritter, especially as he has been compared to the above.
This album has quite a strong alt-country feel, and although as a rule I am not really into country, I'll make an exception for Josh. His acoustic guitar playing is great and he has a drawling, bruised voice with a broad American accent, pretty similar to Bob Dylan in that it is not technically great but packs in plenty of emotion and power, even when it falters a little.
Josh has an uncanny knack for writing beautiful, simple melodies with evocative lyrics that make you wish you had written them first. He can convey aching sadness when he wants to, but this album also features some really uplifting numbers - such as Me and Jiggs - that will make you want to bask outside in a cornfield somewhere drinking whisky with friends while the sun goes down.
There is a hint of folk on this record, and when Josh stops drawling and starts singing in a soft whisper you could swear he was Nick Drake's long lost son. You've Got The Moon is similar to Drake's Pink Moon - it is from the same school of yearning guitar playing and gentle vocals.
On a couple of occasions towards the end of the album I felt that the electric guitar seemed a little out of tune with the acoustic guitar, this is only a minor quibble however and doesn't spoil things. Maybe Josh intended it to be slightly discordant at times, who knows!
All in all, I recommend this album to anyone who loves acoustic music with beautiful melodies and meaningful lyrics. A golden age of radio indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its a long way to heaven,but even longer to harrisburg, 18 July 2004
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
i first encountered josh ritter when i went to see joan baez in concert and he was one of her support acts. Although he was young, his songwriting is incredible as is his singing and the enthusiasium and feeling in his lyrics.Im a big fan of Bob dylan and Paul Simon and I think Mr Ritter is well on his way to being this generations equal.I bought this album at the concert and josh was kind enough to sign it for me,he was so exited by the amount of people interested in his music.i really recommend this album for sunny days,lazy afternoons and romantic summer nights.i especially liked "you've got the moon","harrisburg" and "song for fireflies",these songs showing joshs' sensitivity and diversity of subject matter.GO BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music accessible to all, 25 Mar. 2004
By 
Louise Miller (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Golden Age of Radio (Audio CD)
This is the 2004 re-release of Josh's 2nd album "Golden Age Of Radio", featuring a disc of bonus material, a full lyric book and new photos.
On the first disc , Ritter provides us with 12 songs that, although rooted a country/folk mode, are realised on record in a manner which makes them accessible to all – from embattled old folkies to FM radio kids. The best example of this is ‘Me & Jiggs’, touted as the lead song on the album, a poignant song of teenage rebellion in a down-home four-chord progression, recalling a time when: ”we were sittin' on the porch / play guitar to burn off the hours / till we climb the fences at the edge of town / and paint our names on the water towers.”
And most of the songs reflect this friction between life in a suburban mid-West town and a notion of ‘escape’ to the road, the city, the country – wherever. Leaving a small-town love, Ritter sings: “West of her there’s a place I know / Never been but I’d like to go…/ You’ll probably end up thinking that I don’t care / when you get a letter from a new somewhere.”
Indeed, this concept of motion drives much of the record – “Roll On”, “Leaving” and “Drive Away” all deal with themes of travel and departure, and, in the classic nature of this tradition, Ritter’s heroes and heroines wistfully fall short of their destinations, if they were even sure of them to begin with: “It’s a long way to Heaven / it’s closer to Harrisburg / And that’s still a long way from the place where we are.”
New American acoustic music is occasionally blessed, or more often cursed with comparisons to the icons who have passed before – and Josh Ritter will be no different in this regard. However, the strength of these recordings sustains comparison with Johnny Cash (“Roll On”), Tom Waits (“Lawrence, Ks”) and, dare I say it, country-era Dylan (“Me & Jiggs”).
The bonus disc includes Jackdrag remixes of "Come & Find Me" and "Otherside", a cover of Leonard Cohen's "Chelsea Hotel #2" and home made video's for "Me & Jiggs" and "Otherside".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tip top banana, 14 Feb. 2004
By 
Ali Slocombe (Taunton, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of Counting Crows and am going to see them in a couple weeks, on hearing that Josh Ritter was supporting them, i bought the album. Initially i was dissapointed as there is a definite country feel to the songs, very similar to that of the "Go-betweens". My opinion was changed however when i reached "Other side", a gorgeous and evocative song that really touches the listener. It is very similar to Joseph Arthur's "In the sun" (the beautiful song played on the Davidoff advert). The album has been crafted, every instrument carefully chosen to produce a distinct sound that belongs to Josh Ritter. There a number of singer-songwriters making a name for themselves at the moment (Damien Rice, John Mayer, Pete Yorn and Ryan Adams) and being perhaps the least well known member of the group, elements of his music can be found in all of the above.
Despite this review, i feel compelled to give the album only 4 stars, this is because his newer album "Hello Starling" is just that bit better. However a wholeheartedly recommend this emotionally drenched finely honed creation to anyone who has a love of an acoustic guitar and a good voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come and find Josh!, 29 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Golden Age of Radio (Audio CD)
This is the very first album of JR that I bought and it was on the back of his live performance with Glen Hansard on RTE, the Irish Republic's TV.

Come and Find me was played with a third gentleman on harmonica and it was heart breakingly good. I urge you to check it out on YouTube. It is the definitive version and yet to be beaten. I have seen it played live umpteen times and should know.

The rest of the album is like little nuggets of what Josh will go onto become, but he is not quite there yet.

A worthy and warm album with some sublime moments, but there is still "miles to go" as Robert Frost would say before Josh hits his pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Golden age of Ritter!, 16 May 2011
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
Different, but the same!

This is an album to put on and enjoy immediately, but also to be savoured over time. It doesn't take many listens to get wrapped up in the fun, passion and verve of tracks such as Me and Jiggs. On the other hand there are some pretty deep veins being mined in tracks such as Harrisburg. Ritter is a great songwriter both lyrically involving and musically adept.

Having said that the songs are immediate and grab you they also reveal depth with time. It's interesting to re-visit this album after listening to some of Ritter's more recent releases. Themes crop up time and time again as might be expected. Railroads, boats and a rich tapestry of American Landscapes become more and more apparent. So those people who love making connections and just becoming immersed in the people and places mentioned won't be disappointed.

Overall fans of Ritter will love this, new listeners may feel it's similar to other artists they know, but keep going and you'll become part of the magic. Then you'll want to see him live and then.........................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...the search really is over, 19 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
Just buy it and listen. It might take a bit of time ("O" and "Grace" took a bit of listening to as well ) but this is one of those albums that just gets better and better. Clever lyrics, tight band, and a great voice. Its got "depth" for want of a better word ...
Get the second one "Hello Starling" while you are at it too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky choice, 16 Mar. 2004
By 
murmur (Co. Wexford Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
I had heard vague murmurings of the name and hadn't heard any of Josh Ritter's songs, but I picked up this album to have a listen. It is excellent. One of those albums that you hear something new and interesting in the lyrics every time you listen to it. I don't like comparing artists, but if you're a fan of Vic Chesnutt, M. Ward, Grandaddy, Jeff Buckley its a definte maybe you'll like this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better live, 27 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Age Of Radio (Audio CD)
Having heard Josh Ritter supporting Joan Baez, I was bowled over by hischarm and the brilliance of his craftmanship.
Sadly, not much of what Isaw that night comes through on this album. Most disappointingly of all,where Josh Ritter live was full of spark and originality, this album isvery derivitive. OK, it's derivitive of the best - Nick Drake, Dylan, andeven Joan Baez herself (no, he doesn't sing like a girl! It's just thesame type of stuff) - but it still feels like a damp squid compared to theman in person.
That is not to deny it's merits - Me & Jiggs is a topnotch tune, as is Harrisburg. But, in great danger of becoming repetitive,it's the sheer fact that so much of this album reminds me of someone elsewho's done it better that ruins the pleasure of listening to thisalbum.
He has since released Hello Starling of course, and one can only hope thatit captures more of Josh's unique talents. If it doesn't, one can onlylook to the future and strongly recommend that people see him live beforehe fades into obscurity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Age Of Radio
The Golden Age Of Radio by Josh Ritter (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews