Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All The Spinach You Can Eat...
..or at least it appears that Gene Hackman’s hard-bitten, uncompromising narcotics cop, Jimmy 'Popeye’ Doyle has imbibed something that didn’t agree with him in this fast-moving, visceral 1971 police thriller directed by ‘budding movie brat’ William Friedkin. Despite borrowing some of its cinema-verité, hand-held camera techniques...
Published 3 months ago by Keith M

versus
2 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth buying (unless you like G Hackman)
If I liked G Hackman , I might have given them two stars, but no more.

Do not believe the hype.

One or two interesting moments but that is all.
Published on 23 April 2009 by Mr Viewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic stuff, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Splendid - saw this years ago - probably twice - and enjoyed it hugely, as did 'Himself'. No suggestion of this film having dated and the extra 'features' were of generous length and quite absorbing. Srongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I wanted, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Miss Katie L. Allen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
I was looking in,one for this DVD and new I'd get it off amazon, with cheap prices and fab delivery it's really a no brainier. Don't go anywhere else for my DVDs now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as good as when it came out ., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
a really good film/s.Highly entertaining.a shame its still adapted for the old system of viewing ,but nonetheless very good.I would reccomend it to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C'est la vie, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
As a semi native of Marseilles, it is great to see what the "area" used to look like.
The story is very well played by the actors.
French Connection 2 is one of my favourites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In your face, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
Still got it after all these years. Hackman as "Popeye" is terrific & @ only 2 ish each these 2 dvds are a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars french connection, 25 May 2011
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
brilliant film, i didn't even know that the sequel existed..
just as good as the first.
thanks for the prompt delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth buying (unless you like G Hackman), 23 April 2009
This review is from: French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] (DVD)
If I liked G Hackman , I might have given them two stars, but no more.

Do not believe the hype.

One or two interesting moments but that is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975]
French Connection 1 & 2 Box Set [DVD] [1975] by William Friedkin (DVD - 2004)
4.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews