Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


106 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrowind: The Game That Will Claim Your Life And Soul
This game is, quite simply, THE most immersive yet freeform RPG game you will ever play. You can quite literally be whoever you want, go wherever you want and do whatever you want - whenever you want. And take as long as you want whilst you're about it.
Make no mistake - Morrowind is vast, in every sense of the word. Your choices are vast to start with. It is...
Published on 15 Sept. 2004 by WENDY

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Steam required, hideous dated characters, rotten game save.
I bought this as the reviews said that Steam was not required for this game. But this is not true. As soon as I put the DVD in the drive it connected to Steam. I don't like Steam as it means I cannot give or sell the game on to anyone, and also I have to be connected to the internet in order to play. So I have been sadly misled. I was expecting a much higher quality of...
Published 3 months ago by Fintan15


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

106 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrowind: The Game That Will Claim Your Life And Soul, 15 Sept. 2004
By 
WENDY (Maidstone, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This game is, quite simply, THE most immersive yet freeform RPG game you will ever play. You can quite literally be whoever you want, go wherever you want and do whatever you want - whenever you want. And take as long as you want whilst you're about it.
Make no mistake - Morrowind is vast, in every sense of the word. Your choices are vast to start with. It is entirely possible to enjoy 500 plus hours of the game without even touching the Main Quest, because there are so many other things to do - guilds to join and progress through, missions to complete, places to explore (and plunder!)...the list is endless. The world itself is vast; each town, hamlet and city has a character all of its own, and the surrounding wilderness ranges from rugged coastline to green valleys to volcanic dustbowl - and all of it rendered using the most superb graphics. It is in this area that the developers have really gone to town - many a time you will forget that you are playing a computer game and find yourself just gawping in slack-jawed wonder at the incredible sight of twin moons in the star-sprinkled sky above you. (To give a further example of just how much attention to detail has gone into this game, even the star constellations in that sky have been programmed to move throughout the game year, just like in the real world.)
Morrowind is also quite unlike any other RPG game out there in terms of what it allows you to do. Don't like any of the huge number of character classes to choose from when creating your avatar? Fine - create a custom class of your own then. Can't find a magic item or weapon with exactly the right combination of spell effects on it? Make it yourself then, to whatever specifications your heart desires. You can even make new spells. It also has a revolutionary character levelling-up system, which may take a little getting used to if you're a diehard fan of the more traditional CRPGs but proves to be infinitely more rewarding if you're prepared to invest the time.
As if all of this wasn't enough, the game also comes packaged with The Elder Scrolls Construction Set, an easy-to-use editing tool that allows you to create new plugin mods for the game.
Many people first approach Morrowind with notions of engaging in just a casual relationship - no strings, no ties, just getting together every now and then for a little fun. Before they know it, they're contemplating marriage, making some extra space on the bathroom shelves and dreaming of growing old and grey together. It's that addictive - and that fulfilling. If you love RPG games, go out and buy this game right now. You may have to kiss goodbye to your social life - but hey, compared to a day exploring Daedric ruins and trapping Golden Saint souls it probably wasn't that interesting anyway, was it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrowind- The World's Greatest RPG, 6 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
There will never be a bad review written about this game, because it is perfect. From the very second you've finished installing it, you are plunged into a world of mystery and intrigue, with even the first half hour being really exciting, with the character generation being amazingly simple but effective- you can make a unique and interesting character from scrath or by aswering this dudes questions. The graphics are incredible- a fully 3-D universe as opposed to a Baldur's Gate 2-D map- and it is totally addictive, with the construction set on GOTY making it possible to be a powerful warrior minutes after you start a brand-new game. Top quality RPG gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game..., 28 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This game is a real must buy! This game includes something for everyone, hacking and slashing, exploring, doing quests, becoming head of a guild - the list is practically endless. The sheer size of the area you can run around in is unbelievable! The first time I put the disc in and looked at the area I had explored compared to the whole map, I was shocked to say the least!
Although at first you are bombarded by tons of information, just take your time and go exploring for a while. You will soon pick everything up as the NPC interaction is great and you can ask them about most things.
The cities and towns are quite big (once you go to Vivec you will know what I mean!), which makes exploring an essential part of the game.
The graphics are pretty good, though the landscapes and buildings look better than some of the characters do! The sound is also really good, you can hear noises of creatures as they come nearer to attack you - that can be quite scary if you are in the wilderness at night and can't see anything!
The character generation is excellent, there are various different races, heads, hair type, gender. Then there are the classes (21 all in all, although you can create your own), and birthsigns - all of this enables you to create an almost unique character.
This game is a must buy, for a totally unique gaming experience get this. Trust me, no one else will experience the exact same things that you do, and in my opinion that results in great gaming! Have fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, it really is THAT good..., 6 Aug. 2006
By 
Negotiator (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Many of the previous reviewers have said most of what I would say, so this may be brief.

Suffice to say that I came to Tamriel (the planet where this is set) for the first time only two months ago. I have been 'chained' here ever since. The game is a 'Lord of the Rings-type' fantasy and if you enjoy Role Playing Games (RPG)it is a must-have.

There are some very clever turns to it and the sheer depth of backstory and writing is truly impressive. To benchmark, I have played the Might & Magic fantasy RPGs from M&M VI to M&M IX. This game is a contemporary of M&MIX and, whilst that was colourful and fun, this is a different league altogether.

If you are the type that gets put off by complex rules etc, well so am I and this game is not that complex. After the first 30-60 mins you know exactly what's what. And there are plenty of Guides on various Games Websites to advise.

I haven't looked at the Sequel, Oblivion, yet (I am still playing this enormous game!), but it seems that the developers were criticised in some quarters for the 'open-endedness' of Morrowind. That is to say, there is no direct linear progression to the quests. You have to complete some quests before others, but by and large, you can start anywhere at any quest and then move on to any other quest. The developers said there are more than four hundred quests in the game, major and minor. As a previous reviewer said, it is more an experience than a regular game - especially with the gorgeous scenery.

Because some people felt overwhelmed, some say Oblivion is more linear and less 'go where you like, when you like'. If that is true, I suspect I will nnot find it as rich as Morrowind. Play it and love it.

But remember to say Hi to your wife once every week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly absorbing..., 13 July 2005
By 
The Five Sisters (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Morrowind is an unbelievably huge open-ended role playing game. The game of the year edition comes with the two expansion packs (Tribunal and Bloodmoon) and the construction set which enables you to make your own mods.
It is hard to know where to begin describing such a vast game. I think I would have to start off with the scenery, which is just gorgeous. The game also incorporates a number of distinct geographical areas, each with their own flora, fauna and architectural styles. Weather and sky effects are great, although there are somewhat too frequent ash storms for my taste.
There are just a phenomenal number of things to do in the game - go adventuring, join a guild (or several guilds - each of which has its own storyline), collect lots of alchemical ingredients, free slaves, become a vampire. You might even want to follow the main quest!
I'll put in some potential criticisms here. I didn't personally find any of these a problem, but they could be an issue for some people. Firstly, starting off is relatively slow for the first few levels. I was quite happy wandering round picking mushrooms, but you're pretty weak for quite a while. Secondly, the game can seem so huge that you don't know what to do next (and while I'm on the subject, the in game journal is ok, but could still do with some serious improvements. It's quite easy to wander round for ages trying to find some little cave or specific person for a particular quest). Thirdly, combat is really a case of clicking your mouse button lots of times. I personally think that's a good thing, but it won't be everyone's cup of tea. Finally, most dialogue comes in the form of text boxes rather than spoken words.
Having said all that, I found Morrowind to be an incredibly immersive time-stealing game. After many many many hours of gameplay on the original I spent many more playing the expansion packs. Even now I haven't played out all the possible quests. There is also a huge modding community and it is possible to download an enormous number of mods for the game, ranging from gameplay improvements to massive extra storylines.
Buy it, but beware of the fatal repercussions on your personal life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morrowind: Game of the Year Edition (PC), 14 July 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
I'm not a big fan of RPG's in general; there are far too many to choose from and they all seem to be too similar. Taking a gamble, I purchased this game; at first it took some getting used to - i.e. it was hard and I died a lot! But after a while, it became clear that this game was something special, offering total freedom to roam and stick your nose into other peoples business with varying results...
The music and sound effects are excellent and the possibilities for character development are vast, with your only restriction being your race, which you select at the start of the game.
To cut a long story short, if you like a rich immersive gaming experience, are looking for a new challenge or something different, and have some time (a lot) on your hands, then this is definately THE game to buy!!! - UNMISSABLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, 8 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. D. J. Read (Alnwick, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
When I first bought this game, a few years ago, my PC was not up to scratch and I had to endure poor frame rates and all sorts of problems. But today, with modern PCs this comes into its own.

The true genius of the game is the ability to freely wander anywhere, interacting with anybody, joining guild,s rising within them to become the masters of them. The character development is clever, with a number of attributes that are 'levelled up' by repeated use of that attribute. This does cause problems with things like the armourer ability, where you in essence have to get yourself beaten up so that you can repair the armour and therefore level up.

The graphics have obviously been surpassed now, but they are still very good. It is fantastic just sneaking around, pucking locks, pickpocketing, but there are a few weak points, and I will try to encompass the 'add ons' in this.

The main plot, though it took me many months to start because the rest of the game is so good, was weak. If you go straight into it you will not get the most from this game, it feels very cobbled together, and almost an afterthought.

The next problem I experienced was in the tribunal add on. There is a part where you have to place a bomb in a wall, obviously to destroy the obstruction. A cheeky bug (I'm not sure if anyone else has experienced it) has manifested itself whereby I get the countdown, but there is no explosion and I cannot get past this obstacle. You can imagine how angry I was. But Bloodmoon was brilliant to be fair to it and redeemed the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindshatteringly different, 9 Sept. 2004
By 
Mr. Di Zendle "Piping hot potato!" (Potato, Potato) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Well! Where to begin in writing a review of this whale of a game? Okay... I'll try and keep this spoiler free (I know how irritating it is to read a review of a game or book and then right at the end have the reviewer mindlessly blurt out the final boss's name or something equally vexing).
Morrowind is the 3rd game in the Elder Scrolls series, but is significantly different to its predecessors. Firstly, graphically, Morrowind is stunning. Water ripples and reflects, at night the moon and stars appear with amazing definition in the sky (The first time I saw the night sky i simply sat there staring at it for a bit). In comparison the shoddy pixellated sprites of the earlier games in the sequence, this is quite a departure.
Secondly, the system has been changed from Daggerfalls annoying click-and-drag-and-drag-and-unclick system into a true FPS mode.
Thirdly, the scope of the game is much smaller. Daggerfall is set in the entirety of the Tamrielic empire. Morrowind is set mainly in Vvardenfell, a small island district of Morrowind, a minor province of the empire. This reduction in scale is however by no means a bad thing. Gone are the randomly generated identical dungeons and towns of Daggerfall, replaced with locales both varied, unique, and interesting. No two cities in Morrowind are of similar design.
The level of detail in Morrowind is astonishing. Strapped for cash? Well then dive around river beds, fishing for pearls. Need some medicine? Pick any of the many, many different types of flowers and vegetables growing in Vvardernfell, and eat them for unique effects on your stats. This game is so mind-bogglingly in its scope that it keeps on surprising you right up until the end. I mean, you can even eat scrap metal from enemies you've killed! Sure it'll hurt you, but you can do it! Or you can mix the shrubs and gems and dust of skeletons (or whatever)and other things you've picked up together to make custom potions... the complexity of the system is incredible, especially considering how easy it is to use!
Bethesda have gone out of their way to make the game fun. You can design your own magics, make your own weapons and armour, and just generally mess around in the game for hours without following the major plot strand. The amount of side quests dwarfs even the main storyline. You can join the Mages guild, the Fighters guild, the Thieves guild, many houses fighting House Wars reminiscent of those in the novel Dune, or even an assassins Tong. Each of these factions has its own plots and quests and special items... and so the game continues expanding.
The most important thing, however, for any RPG, is the plot. And in this aspect Morrowind really excels. The player feels as though he is thrust into a living, breathing world complete with its own myths and peculiarities. The storyline unfolds along a reassuringly predictable route, complete with prophecies and gods and dwarves and messiahs and all the standard Epic Fantasy fare that we love so dearly (hurrah!)
In conclusion, Morrowind is one of those totally immersive exceptional gems of a game, the sort of one-off experience that, for instance, Final Fantasy 7 was in the late '90s. If you have spare time to kill for the next month or two (And yes, it is that long - this game requires literally hundreds of hours of gameplay) then there are few games that I could recommend spending it on more than Morrowind.
If there's anything that you feel I've missed out in this review, feel free to contact me at goldendenz@hotmail.com, and I'll get back to you on it.
Oh, and just to finish off, a few little tips to the new player, just so that you don't end up wasting a lot of time at the beginning like I did. I promise I'll keep this spoiler free!
1. At the beginning, you can't kill anyone. Full stop. Little old ladies will pummel your heavily-armoured ass into the ground. Don't even try it. And certainly don't spend 3 hours trying to beat up one farmer, like I did *grin*.
2. If you've commited a crime, just pay the fee. If you have to do hard labout it'll take away some of your stats .
3. Never sell a Grand Soul Gem. And don't trap anything in them until you meet golden saints and ascended sleepers.
4. Ash Vampires aren't actually called Ash Vampires. They're called "Dagoth [Insert name here]". Don't spend hours looking for an enemy that doesn't actually exist... like I may have done...
5. Always carry round at least 5 restore magicka and health potions. Just in case.
6. As soon as you can, get Recall / Mark / Almsivi Intervention / Divine Intervention
7. Never ever EVER equip an item that boosts a stat or attribute. When you take it off, that attribute will be permanently lowered. Which is annoying.
8. As soon as you can, make some new spells for yourself, like a super megaton fireball that uses all your magicka (heehee)
9. Don't bother with the Unarmoured skill. Its bloody useless. Always wear armour. Oh, and the best armour in the game is of the Heavy type, so it might be worthwhile always wearing Heavy armour. Though if you want, you can do it like I did, and just get Light Armour, Medium Armour and Heavy Armour to 100 each by standing in a field for a few hours and getting repeatedly bitten by rats.
Okay, that concludes this review of Morrowind, if you have any tips for me to improve my reviewing style, or any feedback at all, or anything else, then please email me at goldendenz@hotmail.com.
Have fun, and play lots of Morrowind, because it's a superb god of a game. I'm off to make myself a tuna mayo and sweetcorn sandwich and a cup of tea, as its 4am. And I have to be up at 7 for work. Oh jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing! A must buy! Well, I liked it anyway..., 15 July 2004
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
This is the best game I have ever played to date, bar none. And I've played a fair few.
The reason, it is an absorbing world which has had such imagination, thought and art invested in it as to make it believable, almost liveable.
I've played for hours only to cover a small portion of the game and it is incredibly replayable, the experience is quite different depending on what you chose to play and whom you chose to ally with.
It is not a linear plot like many RPGs, it is totally open-ended! You can go anywhere and do anything. What you chose to do you get better at, regardless of where you start off. The freedom is one of the charms of the game.
So the downsides, it is consuming of time, and it is one-player oriented but that is how it draws you in. This would be a great stage for a Massively Multi-player Online RPG.
In terms of value for money, there is little to parallel it. For what you pay, you not only have untold hours of enjoyable play (in different styles: thinking, subterfuge, slashing, mixing, casting) but also the Construction Set to create your own races, classes, dungeons, landscapes etc.
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of the Century, more like, 18 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) (Video Game)
Having just played Baldur's Gate for the second time, and longing for some epic tale to immerse myself in, I bought Morrowind GOTY on the off-chance, in the hope that it would quench my thirst for another truly emotional RPG experience. Well, I can safely say that that was the best 30 quid I EVER spent. More than quench my thirst, it drenched me like a tsunami and swept me away, and well over a year later I was still wringing out the last few drops!

Being also an FPS fan, I really do prefer a 1st Person view with mouselook and ASDW controls, so my first impression of Morrowind was instantly one of relief and pleasant surprise. While other games such as Summoner, Gothic or Wizards and Warriors had previously been a bit of a pain for me, Morrowind promised to be the perfect combination of everything that I looked for in a game.

Alright, so a few years down the line it's showing its age (no Havok or ragdolls, slightly dated - though still good - graphics, no lipsynch etc,) but in terms of gameplay, storyline and sheer vastness this has yet to be beaten by anything - even Oblivion. For me it was like every night for over a year I could play out another chapter in my own heroic adventure which even Frodo would be shocked at. So many places, caverns, secrets, factions, quests, friends and foes, that even after finishing the main quest you can still keep playing for months in search of ancient Tamrielic
artefacts, hidden shipwrecks, faction advancement, easter eggs and all sorts. It just goes on and on. And on.

All that, added to the expansions included in the GOTY edition, and you can see why it was money so well spent. It's virtually like having two MORE games on top of what you've just been through, each with their own quests, races, enemies, weather etc and the odd novelty here and there. I originally bought it for Xbox, but when I saw it going cheap for PC, I bought it to be able to make use of the thousands of user mods available, and the TES3 Construction Set that allows you to make your own mods. The previous review's title "A Neverending Story" could not be closer to the truth. Oh, and pretty much any PC can run it nowadays :)

Any downsides? Well, really only two:

1) You can ruin some quests by killing essential NPCs or creatures
2) All things must eventually come to an end :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC)
Morrowind Elder Scrolls 3: Game of the Year Edition (PC) by Ubisoft (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / NT / XP)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews