Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the price
You do get what you pay for but for the cost this is a decent tripod for a stills camera. The head does not have a smooth action and therefore this tripod is not really suited to video work but that shoudl not be an issue when taking photographs. The centre column is somewhat unstable and therefore shoudl not be used unless really required. However it has two spirit...
Published on 31 Mar 2005 by A. J. Grogan

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not heavy duty.
I bought this tripod around 4 weeks ago and managed to break it today. A small piece plastic has snapped which secured an arm to the central column. The tripod is still perfectly useable, but the leg in now less secure.

However I give it 3 stars as it's pretty cheap, and for what pay it's a great tripod. If you are looking for something to use on level ground...
Published on 12 Jan 2008 by Mr. Hywel Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the price, 31 Mar 2005
By 
A. J. Grogan "tonyjgrogan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
You do get what you pay for but for the cost this is a decent tripod for a stills camera. The head does not have a smooth action and therefore this tripod is not really suited to video work but that shoudl not be an issue when taking photographs. The centre column is somewhat unstable and therefore shoudl not be used unless really required. However it has two spirit levels (one on the base and one on the head) and a handy carry handle on the actual tripod (as well as the case) which is very useful when moving short distances and keeping the camera on the head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much for your money, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Jeremy Gall "jeremy3117" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
First off, let me say that I'm hardly a professional when it comes to cameras, and am only commenting on the tripod for a digital still camera.

But this tripod is incredible, and for the price just seems like one of those rare finds you'd recommend to anybody.

The legs expand to three sections by simply unclipping and re-clipping plastic clasps, and the whole section is made secure by the twist of a collar. The legs have swiveling rubber feet to accommodate uneven ground.

The upper section raises above the apex of the tripod with a crank handle for precise adjustment, and once again secures with the twist of a screw collar.

Rotation around the tripod is secured by a screw knob, and the tilt adjustment is secured by rotating the handle along its axis.

The camera is locked into the tripod by a quick-release plate screwed into the standad camera socket.

There are two spirit levels: one to indicate the camera plate is level in the tilt plane, and one on the top of the legs to indicate the tripod legs are level, although that one's very small and not exactly much use.

About the only thing I could criticise is the adjustment which hinges the camera plate at one side, letting you turn the camera on its side for a portrait image. This doesn't seem to have an exact 90 degree stop, and actually comes to rest a little beyond 90 degrees, so it's a bit of guesswork to make sure the camera is at the right angle. But with a digital camera, do you really need to turn it on its side anyway?

The tripod package I bought comes in a good quality canvas-type bag which does the job very well. And if you don't want to use that, there's a rigid plastic handle attached to the central strut which also serves well.

What more can I say? I'd buy one again: possibly won't last a lifetime, but astonishing value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for non professional use., 29 Sep 2006
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Like other reviewers have said, this is a very good tripod for the money. All I will say is that if you need a tripod for camcorder use and you're going to require very slow and smooth pan and tilt movements then you really should be looking at much more expensive semi-pro level and above tripods preferably with fluid damped heads. This one tends to jerk and judder when panned or tilted very slowly.

Overall, excellent quality and very good value for money. Top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent stuff, 17 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
This tripod beats hands down all available at high street retailers - I went around most of them (comet, argos, jessops etc). The two main detractions are the tripod head is very plasticy in construction - but it is solid, the other complaint being the 3D head is not the smoothest mover - so I wouldnt recommend it for video.
Having said all that this tripod is great for stills work, the hight really is a massive 65"(166cm) I'm 6ft and its just above eye level with the camera on. The legs are quick, easy and smoothness itself to deploy as is the quick release plate and you get a really handy bag to carry it in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the starting amateur, 16 Aug 2009
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I bought these to go with my Celestron Skymaster (15x70) binoculars which I use for star-gazing, amateur astronomy. It does eliminate the majority of wobbles but it is still a little too light-weight for the to eliminate shaking completely. However, several things count towards the fact that I am happy with this tripod and happy to continue using it for a while. First of all, the residual wobble can be eliminated with patience and allowing the binoculars (or camera if that's what you're using it for) to settle for a minute before approaching it gently for viewing. Secondly the controls and the excellent variable height you can achieve, and various other finer adjustments, mean that you can move it around and adjust it very easily and quickly. It retracts quickly for storage and the inclusion of the carry case is a bonus. The final point is that, having never used a tripod before, it took me literally 4 or 5 minuets to figure out the various settings, put my binoculars on it, and view Jupiter and its moons clearly. Very pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for a beginner, 19 Mar 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Quantity Surveying) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I have a Canon Powershot G5 used for portraits and landscapes and whilst I am pleased with the picture quality, at high zooms I do get camera shake, so time to buy a tripod. As a beginner I went for the cheap option. The legs are in three extendable sections - tall enough for me (I'm 6 ft 4). Not 100% wobble free though and they do seem to be a bit lightweight. Not suitable if you just want to 'press the button' but using the auto timer or remote control I am now getting completely stable pictures for the first time. Good enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does the job, 13 Jan 2005
By 
Tg Allen (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
The term 'you get what you pay for' is true, however this tripod for the money is extremely good value. If you want a tripod with fluid pans, tilts etc then you know you'll be looking at near £100, for under £15 this tripod does decent panning and does the trick for static shots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, and Well Worth the Money, 18 Aug 2006
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Surely it's only professional photographers who used a tripod? Well no it isn't. The digital photography boom has brought the photo taking public many things that cost a lot of money in those antiquated days of film (only joking). One of those benefits is Macro and this is becoming almost standard on digital cameras. For Macro a tripod is almost essential.

For the money, this one is as good as any. Reasonably compact; carrying handle; 3-D pan and tilt head; quick release platform and a good extension height of 100 cms. over the folded height of 66 cms. All these things are of benefit to the user, but lets not forget the most important thing stability. A tripod that is not stable is a complete waste of money no matter how many functions and extras it may have. This one has rubberised feet and is extremely stable. As I said early it is as good a buy as anything for the casual user or one who is prepared to take their time over the photograph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overall impressive, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
So far since I got this tripod its proved itself a great item, I have a Canon DV Camcorder and it works fine and theres no wobbling. The spirit level is very usefull and It goes very, very high! And of course its got a fantastic price tag as usual from Amazon! Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for only £20 inc delivery, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Michael Corley "Mike" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I'd wanted to save up and buy a manfrotto 55 or similar. But couldn't justify/afford spending £120 then a head on top.
I saw this tripod on offer for only £20 and took the plunge.
It's very good. It surpasses other tripods for around £50. The legs are a good solid aluminium. Almost tall enough for me without extending the central column (i'm 6ft) and very sturdy. I lift the centre a little for it to be eye level. The legs have a pivoting rubber foot on the end to give a good footing. A spirit level on the shoulder helps if on uneven ground. The controls are easy to adjust and a further spirit level next to the camera mount helps the level again. The mount can flip 90 degrees for portrait shots. It can be locked anywhere between 0 degrees to 90 - (it flips a little more than 90 but can be locked where you want). I borrowed a different tripod which locked around 0 or 95 degrees making portraits crooked. The plastic is a little cheap looking in places, but only when paying silly money do you get better hinges, controls.
If money is no object then pay 100 plus. Otherwise get this bargain for £20 with a carry bag included too !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hama Star 63 Tripod with Carry Case
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews