Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (338)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all round tripod
Just recieved this tripod and for the price paid its great, okay its not for people who want to go take pictures in the eye of a storm or a war zone but for an everyday light carry round all day tripod its perfect. The pan tilt head although plastic works well and is very smooth the tripod extents via three section legs with fast clamps on them so it is fast to set up and...
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by R. J. Macrae

versus
352 of 367 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited to all cameras in general but not DSLR zoom lenses
I enjoy night and low light photography outdoors so I thought it was time I invested in a tripod. Being on a budget, I decided to try this.

BUILD & DESIGN

Opening the big white box it comes in, you'll find a free bag and the tripod itself. There's no instructions as other reviewers have mentioned but it's not too hard to work the tripod...
Published on 6 Dec. 2009 by LY


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all round tripod, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
R. J. Macrae "Mac10" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Just recieved this tripod and for the price paid its great, okay its not for people who want to go take pictures in the eye of a storm or a war zone but for an everyday light carry round all day tripod its perfect. The pan tilt head although plastic works well and is very smooth the tripod extents via three section legs with fast clamps on them so it is fast to set up and further extends via the cranked centre shaft to well over my eye level and im six feet tall. Has two levels on it one on base one on head unit both work fine also the quick release head works well to plus carry handle built in to tripod, so easy to move whole setup with ease add the hook for hanging weights or a heavy bag to give even more stabilty and the carry case with shoulder strap and for less than £14 i have a dam good tripod for out and about. Buy one simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


322 of 327 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tripod, 29 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I just wanted to buy a simple tripod to experiment so went with this one as it looked a good deal. I wasn't expecting much but when I started experimenting with it, I was very impressed.
There are loads of twist and turn features, bubble levels, different heights, quick release legs, it's really light. You can even make it like a sturdy tripod as it has a hook for weights to be put on. The case is great too.
I really love using this tripod and recommend it to anyone in the market for their first tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


352 of 367 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited to all cameras in general but not DSLR zoom lenses, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
LY (UK, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I enjoy night and low light photography outdoors so I thought it was time I invested in a tripod. Being on a budget, I decided to try this.

BUILD & DESIGN

Opening the big white box it comes in, you'll find a free bag and the tripod itself. There's no instructions as other reviewers have mentioned but it's not too hard to work the tripod.

The tripod itself has nice bronze painted aluminium legs but everything else such as the quick release catches are made of plastic - Cheap plastic that make cracking sounds as soon as you apply a bit of pressure. If you look closely enough underneath the head, you can actually see the glue used to put the joints together!

The head has a detachable platform so you can remove the camera quickly if you needed to such as for sudden action shots before clipping it back onto the tripod.

Quick release catches are used to extend the legs and hold them into place. There are also two plastic bolts on the central column - One at the bottom near the hook that you can tighten to prevent the tripod closing up and, one at the top where you can crank a small handle to extend the height further.

All these joints makes setting up and putting away the tripod quick and easy.

Extra features, there is a hook at the bottom where you can add extra weight. There are two spirit level - A spot one near the handle and a line one on the head itself.

Personally I've never found a use for any of the extra features really.

As for the free bag itself, it has a single pocket with a small zip that forces you to put the tripod in legs first. This means you'll probably want to clean the plastic feet if you're using it outdoors.

STEADINESS

Attaching a DSLR with an 18-55mm standard zoom kit lens, the tripod seems to be steady enough even at full height. Shots come out sharp even with long exposure times of 30 seconds outdoors.

However, the problem arises when using heavier zoom lenses. At the telephoto end of 300mm shots come out blurred. The tripod itself remains steady enough but even with everything tightened, I noticed the head isn't firm enough to stay still as soon as the shutter goes off to take the picture.

Turning up the ISO setting so that you can lower the exposure time fixes the problem but, this defeats the point of using a tripod in the first place of course!

This also means it is not ideal for bulb mode or when you have to press the shutter button yourself.

Furthermore, if you're using a DSLR the head is strong enough to hold the camera at 90 degrees angle for portraits but, it will fall flat if the angle is anything less than that.

CONCLUSION

The Hama Star 62 appears to be a bargain packed full of features that make it both quick to setup and put away - It even comes with a fairly good quality free bag!

However, you have to wonder how long it will last with all the important, frequently used parts of the tripod made of cheap plastic such as the catches on the legs, the head itself and other joints.

It's a tripod that is suited to most cameras but not for anyone into zoom photography with DSLRs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Good Tripod, 29 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I was a little sceptical when I ordered this tripod as to whether is was going to be completely useless. Seeing as other professional tripods are 10 times the price.
When I set it up I was pleasantly suprised to find that it was definately a betterproduct than the price denotes.
all the parts seem sturdy enough, I guess time will tell as to their durability, but for this price who cares if it only lasts 12 months.
It holds the DSLR securely.
It has all the functionality you would desire of any tripod, you can tilt it, pan it raise it up and down smoothly.
A nice touch is the built in spirit level, but I'm not sure how accurate it really is.
My only little query about the whole tripod is the smoothness of the panning, it's a little stiff, but a squirt of silicone cures this and it may well ease after further use.

A good product that performs above expectation, don't be worried about buying this tripod, it's a real cracker for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Lightweight yet relatively sturdy tripod for cameras and camcorders, it's fully adjustable/lockable with quick-release catches on the legs. The product is aluminium and has a satin finish (in an off-silver colour).

I'm 5'10" and my camcorder sits comfortably at eye-level when this tripod is fully extended (no bending required). The legs are in 3 sections and are fully adjustable from 45 - 120cm with a locking collar on the central column to keep them firmly in place. (The remaining height adjustment comes from the hand-crank central column).

The unit stands upon self-levelling rubber feet which create a triangular footprint of 84cm per side when opened to maximum.

The tripod comes complete with a black nylon medium density carry bag with shoulder strap only, though there is a separate carry handle on the tripod itself (on central column).

There are 2 spirit levels; a 'spot' level at the top of the legs and a 'line' level on the camera base plate, and each of the movable 3-way aspects; pan/tilt/angle moves smoothly for the most part (the vertical crank seems the least smooth). Also, each of these can be locked independently in position as desired. [Another reviewer stated the panning action was not smooth but I've not found that problem on the unit I got].

Finally, there's a hook at the bottom to hang weights from for additional stability, the tripod will hold up to 3.5Kg.

All in all, very pleased, this tripod's a bit of a bargain really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hama Tripod, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Excellent little unit. I was after something to hold the camera steady for long exposure i.e. night shots, this does the job brilliantly. The carry case is very discrete and looks hard wearing.
My Dad 'borrowed' mine so I had to order another one, not really a problem at this price though :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality product at bargain price!, 18 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Bought this tripod on the strength of customer reviews on amazon...absolute bargain...tallest tripod I have seen, very sturdy although lightweight, quality build, and made by Hama which is known in photography circles...how do you do it for this price??? If you need a tripod, you can't ask for more than this at the price !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, even better tripod, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I had to consider getting a tripod when i got into big zoom cameras, the shake from shooting at telephot was ruining most of my pics, so i bought this tripod, i have to say, nott expecting much, but it has to be one of the best ones i have seen. really sturdy and really tall, just like moi! 160cm is high enough for anyone and for more than halk the rrp (hama website0 it is worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 20 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
OK so this is not the best quality tripod out there, but for the price it is an amazing deal! It is huge- comes up to eye level and I am over 6 foot! Build Quality is reasonable- much better than I expected- overall I am very happy with the tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable price for such good quality, 22 Jun. 2009
By 
I. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Well, at the price this was sold at, I was truly not expecting a great product but, as I am just starting out and have never used a tripod before, I thought that I would just go for something simple and cheap to start the ball rolling and perhaps later, once I know what I need out of a tripod, I would research a bit and buy a better one.
Well, now I am THINKING AGAIN, this tripod is amazing - adjustable every which way I need, sturdy construction, easy to use and handy spirit levels built in too.
Seller was great too - arrived in no time, great comms and no fuss. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend both very highly indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case
£17.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews