Customer Reviews


420 Reviews
5 star:
 (263)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


304 of 309 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tripod
I just wanted to buy a simple tripod to experiment so went with this one as it looked a good deal. I wasn't expecting much but when I started experimenting with it, I was very impressed.
There are loads of twist and turn features, bubble levels, different heights, quick release legs, it's really light. You can even make it like a sturdy tripod as it has a hook for...
Published on 29 Aug 2005 by arhoar

versus
335 of 347 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited to all cameras in general but not DSLR zoom lenses
I enjoy night and low light photography outdoors so I thought it was time I invested in a tripod. Being on a budget, I decided to try this.

BUILD & DESIGN

Opening the big white box it comes in, you'll find a free bag and the tripod itself. There's no instructions as other reviewers have mentioned but it's not too hard to work the tripod...
Published on 6 Dec 2009 by L. H. Yeung


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

304 of 309 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tripod, 29 Aug 2005
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
I just wanted to buy a simple tripod to experiment so went with this one as it looked a good deal. I wasn't expecting much but when I started experimenting with it, I was very impressed.
There are loads of twist and turn features, bubble levels, different heights, quick release legs, it's really light. You can even make it like a sturdy tripod as it has a hook for weights to be put on. The case is great too.
I really love using this tripod and recommend it to anyone in the market for their first tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great all round tripod, 10 Sep 2009
By 
R. J. Macrae "Mac10" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
Just recieved this tripod and for the price paid its great, okay its not for people who want to go take pictures in the eye of a storm or a war zone but for an everyday light carry round all day tripod its perfect. The pan tilt head although plastic works well and is very smooth the tripod extents via three section legs with fast clamps on them so it is fast to set up and further extends via the cranked centre shaft to well over my eye level and im six feet tall. Has two levels on it one on base one on head unit both work fine also the quick release head works well to plus carry handle built in to tripod, so easy to move whole setup with ease add the hook for hanging weights or a heavy bag to give even more stabilty and the carry case with shoulder strap and for less than 14 i have a dam good tripod for out and about. Buy one simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


335 of 347 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Suited to all cameras in general but not DSLR zoom lenses, 6 Dec 2009
By 
L. H. Yeung (UK, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
I enjoy night and low light photography outdoors so I thought it was time I invested in a tripod. Being on a budget, I decided to try this.

BUILD & DESIGN

Opening the big white box it comes in, you'll find a free bag and the tripod itself. There's no instructions as other reviewers have mentioned but it's not too hard to work the tripod.

The tripod itself has nice bronze painted aluminium legs but everything else such as the quick release catches are made of plastic - Cheap plastic that make cracking sounds as soon as you apply a bit of pressure. If you look closely enough underneath the head, you can actually see the glue used to put the joints together!

The head has a detachable platform so you can remove the camera quickly if you needed to such as for sudden action shots before clipping it back onto the tripod.

Quick release catches are used to extend the legs and hold them into place. There are also two plastic bolts on the central column - One at the bottom near the hook that you can tighten to prevent the tripod closing up and, one at the top where you can crank a small handle to extend the height further.

All these joints makes setting up and putting away the tripod quick and easy.

Extra features, there is a hook at the bottom where you can add extra weight. There are two spirit level - A spot one near the handle and a line one on the head itself.

Personally I've never found a use for any of the extra features really.

As for the free bag itself, it has a single pocket with a small zip that forces you to put the tripod in legs first. This means you'll probably want to clean the plastic feet if you're using it outdoors.

STEADINESS

Attaching a DSLR with an 18-55mm standard zoom kit lens, the tripod seems to be steady enough even at full height. Shots come out sharp even with long exposure times of 30 seconds outdoors.

However, the problem arises when using heavier zoom lenses. At the telephoto end of 300mm shots come out blurred. The tripod itself remains steady enough but even with everything tightened, I noticed the head isn't firm enough to stay still as soon as the shutter goes off to take the picture.

Turning up the ISO setting so that you can lower the exposure time fixes the problem but, this defeats the point of using a tripod in the first place of course!

This also means it is not ideal for bulb mode or when you have to press the shutter button yourself.

Furthermore, if you're using a DSLR the head is strong enough to hold the camera at 90 degrees angle for portraits but, it will fall flat if the angle is anything less than that.

CONCLUSION

The Hama Star 62 appears to be a bargain packed full of features that make it both quick to setup and put away - It even comes with a fairly good quality free bag!

However, you have to wonder how long it will last with all the important, frequently used parts of the tripod made of cheap plastic such as the catches on the legs, the head itself and other joints.

It's a tripod that is suited to most cameras but not for anyone into zoom photography with DSLRs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 20 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
OK so this is not the best quality tripod out there, but for the price it is an amazing deal! It is huge- comes up to eye level and I am over 6 foot! Build Quality is reasonable- much better than I expected- overall I am very happy with the tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal, 12 Feb 2008
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
Lightweight yet relatively sturdy tripod for cameras and camcorders, it's fully adjustable/lockable with quick-release catches on the legs. The product is aluminium and has a satin finish (in an off-silver colour).

I'm 5'10" and my camcorder sits comfortably at eye-level when this tripod is fully extended (no bending required). The legs are in 3 sections and are fully adjustable from 45 - 120cm with a locking collar on the central column to keep them firmly in place. (The remaining height adjustment comes from the hand-crank central column).

The unit stands upon self-levelling rubber feet which create a triangular footprint of 84cm per side when opened to maximum.

The tripod comes complete with a black nylon medium density carry bag with shoulder strap only, though there is a separate carry handle on the tripod itself (on central column).

There are 2 spirit levels; a 'spot' level at the top of the legs and a 'line' level on the camera base plate, and each of the movable 3-way aspects; pan/tilt/angle moves smoothly for the most part (the vertical crank seems the least smooth). Also, each of these can be locked independently in position as desired. [Another reviewer stated the panning action was not smooth but I've not found that problem on the unit I got].

Finally, there's a hook at the bottom to hang weights from for additional stability, the tripod will hold up to 3.5Kg.

All in all, very pleased, this tripod's a bit of a bargain really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 23 May 2009
By 
Patrick Kerwick "Paddy" (Tipperary, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
This is the first Tripod which i have purchased and i must say it is fantastic value for money.
Only bought it because it was really inexpensive and didn't want to fork out over 100 for a manfrotto.
Only problem i have found with this is that you cannot tilt the head left and right to account for uneven ground, but i knew this before i bought and to be honest its not a big problem.
Would highly recommend this, especially if your looking for a first tripod and you want to test the water first.
I actually don't think i will buy another tripod because for this price its just exactly what i was looking for and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hama Tripod, 17 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
Excellent little unit. I was after something to hold the camera steady for long exposure i.e. night shots, this does the job brilliantly. The carry case is very discrete and looks hard wearing.
My Dad 'borrowed' mine so I had to order another one, not really a problem at this price though :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Good Tripod, 29 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
I was a little sceptical when I ordered this tripod as to whether is was going to be completely useless. Seeing as other professional tripods are 10 times the price.
When I set it up I was pleasantly suprised to find that it was definately a betterproduct than the price denotes.
all the parts seem sturdy enough, I guess time will tell as to their durability, but for this price who cares if it only lasts 12 months.
It holds the DSLR securely.
It has all the functionality you would desire of any tripod, you can tilt it, pan it raise it up and down smoothly.
A nice touch is the built in spirit level, but I'm not sure how accurate it really is.
My only little query about the whole tripod is the smoothness of the panning, it's a little stiff, but a squirt of silicone cures this and it may well ease after further use.

A good product that performs above expectation, don't be worried about buying this tripod, it's a real cracker for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great price, even better tripod, 14 May 2004
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
I had to consider getting a tripod when i got into big zoom cameras, the shake from shooting at telephot was ruining most of my pics, so i bought this tripod, i have to say, nott expecting much, but it has to be one of the best ones i have seen. really sturdy and really tall, just like moi! 160cm is high enough for anyone and for more than halk the rrp (hama website0 it is worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definately NOT ideal for smooth panning, 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case (Camera)
I bought this particular tripod for camcorder use (albeit from the Argos chainstore) for shooting an up and coming wedding.
The Tilt action is nice and smooth, but the Panning is stiff in such a way that even when the panning knob is fully disengaged (supposedly allowing for the easiest rotation), the head still 'sticks' and works against you when you try to pan very slowly and smoothly, and therefore jerks as you slowly pan due to the constant 'sticking/unsticking'. In addition you can hear the plastic sticking/unsticking on the video recording when moving the head. Further to this, on a different issue, the lower spirit level was always slightly off axis.
I thought the sticking problem was a one-off and therefore sent the tripod back and swapped it for another of the same model. The lower spirit level this time was accurate, but the sticky panning issue remained.
I tried the DIY technique of applying WD40 to the head in an attempt to get it to free up a little, to no avail. The head is too tight for even WD40 to penetrate into it.
For myself doing an advanced-amateur wedding video capture this is unusable, so I have sent the tripod back and will be getting a different model.
I have still given it three stars as I think it would remain excellent value for budget/amateur still-photo camera use, where smooth motion-panning isn't particularly an issue.
But DEFINATELY NOT for smooth camcorder recording!
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ddaa7ec)

This product

Hama Star 62 Tripod with Carry Case
19.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews