Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, relaxing film to watch
It's a good film after a hard day. Easy to digest, not much 'work' needed to understand or to emotional invest in this film. Harrison Ford is always great and the 2 of them makes a funny pair. I especially like the whole idea of cops having a second job and taking mobile calls relating to their second career during police work. Plus I like the 2 caracters. A few good...
Published 19 months ago by Emese

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't call me sir, I work for a living...
When not solving murders in Hollywood, Detective Joe Gavilan and his rookie partner Kasey Calden both moonlight in other fields

Gavilan sells real estate, and Calden aspires to become an actor.

Assigned to the vicious in-club slaying of a promising young rap act, the two detectives delve into the recording industry where they hope to find answers -...
Published 13 months ago by Corey Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't call me sir, I work for a living..., 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
When not solving murders in Hollywood, Detective Joe Gavilan and his rookie partner Kasey Calden both moonlight in other fields

Gavilan sells real estate, and Calden aspires to become an actor.

Assigned to the vicious in-club slaying of a promising young rap act, the two detectives delve into the recording industry where they hope to find answers - ideally ones that also come with property buyers or auditions......

The problem with this film is that it cannot decide what it wants to be. Yes it's funny in places, but so is The Fifth Element (random I know) and I wouldn't class it as a comedy.

It's a mishmash of different genres, drama, thriller, hip hop type drama, and action rolled into one. Or the little sub-genre I call 'the time when Ford tried to get down with the kids'.

And this is all it is, Ford trying to get his mojo back after a string of flops with a Rap music background narrative and a hot young co-star (think Exit Wounds).

And for the most part, it works, Ford is great as he has this 'I don't care anymore' attitude that makes home endearing.

Hartnett is okay and the rest of the cast are forgettable. Story wise it's all over the place, and Shelton should know better, Dark Blue was a great movie.

So all in all, it's not good by any means, but curiously watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We've been partners for what, four months, and now you wanna be my shrink?, 28 May 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Ultimately you have to think that those who have wanted to see Hollywood Homicide would have done so by now, certainly fans of the generational divided lead actors (Josh Hartnett and Harrison Ford) would have long since tuned in to see what it's like. It's fair to say that its reputation is most divisive, with some critics proving to be most ferocious in their summations. Personally I find it to be an enjoyable spin on the buddy buddy cop formula, where director Ron Shelton isn't afraid to put emphasis on characters instead of just filling out the pic with high octane bangs and crashes. The wry portrayal of the police system in a bustling Los Angeles is nicely etched into the froth, with the sidebar of coppers having two jobs being a deft poke in the ribs.

Good fun with well crafted action scenes, but the main strength is in the writing and to see once again that Ford has been very undervalued as a comedy actor of the years. 6.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Romper Room, 7 Jan. 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
All in all the story and plotline is very formula; there are good guys that are misunderstood and bad guys that are silly and scared. The good guys chase and chase and chase the bad guys. Will they catch the bad guys? Will the bad guys confess to unbelievable crimes? Or will just once the bad guys get away. Don't hold your breath.

There is an added wrinkle as both Detective Joe Gavilan (Harrison Ford) and his rookie partner Kasey Calden (Josh Hartnett) take care of outside interests while in pursuit.

Mean time it is fun watching this almost cartoon like execution, as they run past all the familiar landmarks out and about Los Angeles, California, USA:

Beverly Hills, Hollywood & Highland, Hollywood, Los Angeles Subway System, Mt. Olympus in Hollywood Hills, Pacific Palisades, Parker Center Police Headquarters -at 150 N. Los Angeles St., Parking Lot, L.A.P.D. Hollywood Station at 1358 Wilcox Ave., Santa Monica, Venice Canals, and Venice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, relaxing film to watch, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It's a good film after a hard day. Easy to digest, not much 'work' needed to understand or to emotional invest in this film. Harrison Ford is always great and the 2 of them makes a funny pair. I especially like the whole idea of cops having a second job and taking mobile calls relating to their second career during police work. Plus I like the 2 caracters. A few good laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bland, but with an easy charm..., 17 Jan. 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Hollywood Homicide is a very formulaic buddy cop movie, with an over complicated plot, only a few laughs, and coasting leads.
But, honestly, I enjoyed it far more than I probably should have. The opening is really quite bad, with dodgy "modern yoof" dialogue, and a suedo rap/hip hop scene. It takes a while for the storlyline to get going, and even then it's a confusing miss mash of scenes that don't seem to join together, and ends up with our two cops chasing after a villain we never even knew how they worked out it was him!
Still, with a side stories regarding secondary careers (Ford's cop is also a real estate agent, while Hartnett also plays a wannabe actor - oh the irony!) that are mildly amusing, they do tend to get in the way of the main storyline, and extend the running time longer than it should.
But it wasn't all bad. There were some amusing scenes - the interview room scene was funny, and a bizarre chase across, around and through a river also picks up a slightly dragging film.
Yet it is good to stick around, because come the final half hour, there is a pretty decent, action fuelled finale, involving a car chase and fight that, surprisingly, works around Ford's and Hartnett's easy, laid back relationship. The "That's it - I'll drive!" scene is an example of that.
It's not brilliant, it's far from perfect, but it will charm viewers. Remember, make a mine a cheeseburger...
Extras wise, there are a bunch of trailers and bios, and three featurettes. The making of is the most interesting, but the otehr two are dull. Especially LAPD Stories, which really doesn't have much to do with the film in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agood watch, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
We got this DVD copy to replace a video copy, quite a good plot both lead actors work well together, we hope they would make a follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great blend of action with comedy!, 20 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
To me, Hollywood Homicide seems to satisfy most tastes and genres. It is an action, thriller, crime, comedy and romance. Harrison Ford and Josh Hartnett work very well together in this film with Ford playing the veteran and Hartnett playing the rookie, which I suppose is the same in real life. In my own personal opinion, Harrison Ford has been hiding away for a while but he has come back with a great film
There are several hilarious scenes in this film, my favourite being when Galvin (Harrison Ford) and Calden (Josh Hartnett) are 'interviewed' by the internal affairs department. I laughed a LOT at that scence because of the way that the pair were not taking it seriously at all.
Hollywood Homicide also shows the audience all the trademarks of Los Angeles. This includes Hollywood (seen as the film is called Hollywood Homicide, this is pretty obvious), Venice, Beverly Hills and Rodeo Drive. When I saw the scene in Venice and Rodeo Drive, I could see that it had not been manipulated or changed in any way, meaning that the scenery had not changed from real life. When I was in LA, the first thing I thought when I went to Venice was, 'this is where the chase was!'. If you watch the film or have seen it already, and have been to LA, you'll know exactly what i'm talking about.
Hollywood Homicide is also a genuine film, and is not trying to make anybody the hero of the film. Neither does it focus on one genre, as I said earlier, the film contains many different genres. I would generally recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Weird Side, 1 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is not your usual buddy cop film. half of it is muddled and you dont understand why things happen, and they disapear without any sense, for example a cop chase involving two kids, a woman and a fake building. yes i was as baffled as you will be. the plot is about several slain rappers killed by their boss, whichj shows some similarities towards tupac shakur and suge knight of death row records, which is ironic really as the sole survivor of the group is played by rap star Kurupt, who is also with death row records. usually rappers cant act but his part in which he paddles up a narrow canal from the cops is probably the best bit! Harrison Ford is still a dodgy actor and plays his part as grumpy aging cop woodenly, whilst josh hartnett actually does a pretty good job as rookie cop out to proove himself. this will never be a classic and the confusing plot only makes things worse, but its good for a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amateur Hour, 10 May 2004
By 
Edward Teach (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Somewhere in the deepest excesses of the Hollywood psyche, there must dwell a malevolent beast that oversees the construction and distribution of utter drivel. Alternatively, there must be a hitherto unknown film school that tells you exactly how not to make a formulaic buddy cop action comedy. If either is true, the said malevolent beast was certainly hosting class on the day Hollywood Homicide ever saw daylight.
This is – by Hollywood’s decreasingly high standards – one of the worst examples of film making to ever hit our screens. Within ten minutes the audience is confused and annoyed by a naivety in the direction that continues to astound with its amateur hour air. Messrs Ford and Hartnett, everything that is good about the generation gap in Hollywood, here seem to have found themselves in purgatory, contractually obliged to go through the motions after discovering that they had been duped by their respective agents.
This is neither funny or exciting, intriguing or ambitious. For the 111 minute running time, I would suggest a stint on the lawn, watching the grass grow. At least there is a smidgen of entertainment to be had in that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Harrison Ford attempts the art of humour (With little success), 11 July 2008
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
You can leave this off the Christmas list for sure! Harrison Ford has, for some reason, been given the roll as a wise cracking Cop who must uncover the mystery of a death inside a night club, along side his stereotypically dumb young officer.

Theirs little else to say... I can't say I've ever rated Ford highly as an actor away from his serious/cheeky roles (Indiana Jones, Star Wars, The Fugitive) and this film is one step in the wrong direction... Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004]
Hollywood Homicide [DVD] [2004] by Ron Shelton (DVD - 2004)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews