Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Stevie Wonder collection with extra track
It is easy to be confused by Stevie Wonder compilations. In the nineties, a double CD was released in America titled Song review, while a single CD was released in Britain with the same title and artwork. More recently, a single CD was released in America titled Definitive collection, so (conversely) a double CD was released in Britain with the same title and artwork. The...
Published on 29 Dec 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thank you
set of two cds covering his amazing caeer, ok for fans but i was only interested in the music from the eighties,,,
Published 2 months ago by seema rosqvist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Stevie Wonder collection with extra track, 29 Dec 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
It is easy to be confused by Stevie Wonder compilations. In the nineties, a double CD was released in America titled Song review, while a single CD was released in Britain with the same title and artwork. More recently, a single CD was released in America titled Definitive collection, so (conversely) a double CD was released in Britain with the same title and artwork. The British double CD is much better than the earlier American double CD titled Song review, which had fewer tracks and missed out some important songs. Indeed, it is the best compilation of Stevie's music that I've seen. A year after its original UK release in a slimline 2-CD jewel case, it was re-issued in a digipack featuring a new version of Signed sealed delivered - a collaboration with Blue and Angie Stone. Even on two CD's, it is not possible to include every Stevie Wonder recording worth hearing, but all the big hits in Britain and America are here.
You probably have your own favorites. I particularly like You are the sunshine of my life, For once in my life, Yester-me yester-you yesterday, Living for the city, I just called to say I love you, Sir Duke, A place in the sun, Lately and Happy birthday. Other classics (also excellent) include Superstition, I wish, Isn't she lovely, Ebony and ivory (with Paul McCartney), Never had a dream come true, Uptight and so many others.
If you only want one collection of Stevie Wonder music, this is by far the best. If you want to build a collection of his music, this is a great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic from a classic, 1 Jun 2005
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
What a splendid collection of some of the best songs ever written.Being young i wasn't around to experience the release of such great tunes but i'm now well up to date and still after all these years stevie wonder's songs remain as classics and stevie wonder is such an inspiration and genuine pure talent. This is an easy way to get hold of the best music around and each song is unique and amazing.Great for every mood!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely definitve, 6 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
only two words can describe this compilation: pure class! bought this for my sister's birthday and, being a 1980's girl whose sole memory of stevie wonder was 'i just called to say i love you', this served the purpose of realising why he's held in such great esteem. from the storming opener 'superstition', to the best rendition of 'happy birthday' i've ever heard (dedicated to martin luther king), it's a classic from start to finish. my favourites are 'i'm wondering',the ORIGINAL 'signed, sealed,delivered' 'boogie on reggae woman' and the beautiful 'blowin' in the wind', although my favourites tend to change after every listen.
all i can say is that for any potential buyers, if you fork out on any album now or in the future, it'll be worth every single penny and pound u spend, my friend! your life NEEDS this compilation!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
set of two cds covering his amazing caeer, ok for fans but i was only interested in the music from the eighties,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow every track a hit, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is an amazing CD with every hit Stevie Wonder has had in his career, a great price and in good condition and arrived in good time thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Master Musician!, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Stevie Wonder is a brilliant musician and the collection is superb. A classic to be played over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great collection, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
bought this for a friend but thoroughly enjoyed listening to it too. Heard A Place in the Sun at a funeral and needed to hear it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Stevie fans, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Doesnt come much better!!! all the hits on 2 cds wow
what a way to spend a summer afternoon listening to on the ipod
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 'best of' collections !!, 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Nearly all the best known tracks are on this one. For reasons totally unknown 'another star' is excluded once again, although the artist and most hardcore fans felt it was one of his finest tracks. Thus only four stars.

This apart, the album is a near complete collection and you can't go wrong with this. Would of been happier with a few extra tracks from his 'songs in the key of life' album, which was made at the most creative period in his career, but you can't have everything. All said and done, still a very worthy addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the favourites, 2 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
We walked out of the church after our wedding to "Signed, Sealed, Delivered" - had everyone dancing. I love the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews