Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZEN IT IS VONDERFUL !!!!!
Well it's difficult to fault anything on ninja tune at the best of times ! This is no exeption, starting with DJ Food and progressing through the old classics up to there newest aquistitions DJ Vadim, Mr Scruff and Kid Koala, This retrospective compilation is worthy of a listen by even the newest to the Ninja Tune label. Guiding you pleasantly through cult classics to...
Published on 27 Jan 2004 by M. Nicholls

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fans Beware
Yet another compilation from ninja tune and all of a very high standard.
However i found myself saying hang on i've already got this, a few to many times. yeah OK maybe the word RETROSPECTIVE in the title should have given me some idea, but quite a few of the tracks already appear on previous compilations.
If u don't own anything by any ninja tune artists the...
Published on 18 April 2004 by bummerinthesummer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ZEN IT IS VONDERFUL !!!!!, 27 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
Well it's difficult to fault anything on ninja tune at the best of times ! This is no exeption, starting with DJ Food and progressing through the old classics up to there newest aquistitions DJ Vadim, Mr Scruff and Kid Koala, This retrospective compilation is worthy of a listen by even the newest to the Ninja Tune label. Guiding you pleasantly through cult classics to modern day madness everyone who is anyone and anyone who is everyone MUST own this. Absolutly Top Notch !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purrfect, 2 Feb 2004
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
Buying this compilation was a gamble that's paid off. I was not familiar with many of the artists but the presence of Coldcut, The Herbaliser and DJ Food indicated it would be a funky, beaty affair. Well I'm totally impressed by the quality throughout and am thrilled to have acquired a few tunes here that will make their way on to my CD player and many a mix tape for years to come.
Standouts for me are the scratchy ska of Kid Koala's 'Skanky Panky', the dirty, Strip Club fave 'Sordid' by Amon Tobin, and the lovely 'Purrfect' by Funki Porcini.
Zen CD is a record that opens up doors to music that isn't heard every day. It is cool, moody, exciting and original. There is a DVD out too. For music that evokes filmic images in my mind, I hope the visuals do the music justice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely compilation..., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
plenty of my favourite tunes from my days of spinning vinyl, all on one album...brilliant!!! ...okay, so there are plenty of other ninja tune compilations out there, and this is just a load of old tunes re-spun onto another compilation album, but it's really great - i love it! <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fans Beware, 18 April 2004
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
Yet another compilation from ninja tune and all of a very high standard.
However i found myself saying hang on i've already got this, a few to many times. yeah OK maybe the word RETROSPECTIVE in the title should have given me some idea, but quite a few of the tracks already appear on previous compilations.
If u don't own anything by any ninja tune artists the this album is worth 5 STARS and is a perfect introduction to what this record label has to offer but if u have a largeish collection of the back catalogue then its not really neccarsary, just obsessive or decadence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value at twice the price!, 14 Feb 2004
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying I mean that. This collection is worth £20 without question. We are talking about a double-cd of tune after tune that will grab you by ears and cause reflex movements in arms, legs, fingers and anywhere else that has the freedom of movement.
I would list the real stand out tracks, but it would basically be the complete track-listing. I already own the majority of tracks on this CD and I still bought it.
Whether you are new to Ninja or have the complete back catalogue - can you really afford to miss this beauty?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been mixed, 4 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. M. Bond (Salisbury Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
I love Ninja Tune records and the tracks on this cd are amazing but it would have been a 5 star review if it had been mixed. Apart from that it is good, especially if you are just finding out about Ninja Tune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Again random purchase wins out, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective (Audio CD)
Bought this CD completly on the advice of a Hip Hop site from the states. Pleasantly suprised to find that pretty much the whole album is good. Coldcut stand out as probably the best group on the album with the stand out song "More Beats and Pieces" but generally the entire album is of a high quality. Recommend this album to anyone that feels that can answer no to the question - is the music too loud?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective
Zen CD: A Ninja Tune Retrospective by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews