Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut by Lemar
Dedicated is an fantastic debut by Lemar, which has rapidly become one of my most played CDs. My favourite tracks include:
Dance With U - fantastic, what more can I say?
Fresh - above average r n b track
50/50 - excellent stand out track
Another Day - a beautiful poppy ballad, reminiscent of Danel Baddingfield's "If You're not the One", mixed in with a...
Published on 23 Feb. 2004 by Heegee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The CD look like the used one
As it said it's new but it look like the used one with scratch and dirty on the case and some little faint on the back of CD but still usable.
Anyway, it's very cheap and don't want to bother returning it.
Published on 13 Mar. 2011 by Amun


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut by Lemar, 23 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Dedicated is an fantastic debut by Lemar, which has rapidly become one of my most played CDs. My favourite tracks include:
Dance With U - fantastic, what more can I say?
Fresh - above average r n b track
50/50 - excellent stand out track
Another Day - a beautiful poppy ballad, reminiscent of Danel Baddingfield's "If You're not the One", mixed in with a touch of "Goodbye" by the Spice Girls! I'm so pleased this is his next single. If it doesn't get to No.1 there's no justice in the world!
Body Talk - sexy, funky track, great for dancing to.
What About Love - another beautiful poppy ballad. Lemar's emotional vocals are really excellent on this track.
Good Woman - a great r n b track with a serious message (anti domestic violence) Rather ingenious how he managed to rhyme "tolerating" with "woman beating!"
Let's Stay Together - excellent cover of Al Green's song.
Lullaby - good version, but I must admit to preferring the version he did with Ainslie.
Lemar's incredible voice stands out on every track, even the average ones!! I liked the fact that there wasn't too much "vocal gymnastics" which I felt, spoilt some of his efforts on Fame Academy. (e.g. his rendition of the Beatles' "Yesterday".)
Looking forward to the second album already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Albums In Recent Years, 6 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
Everyone heard him on Fame Academy and alot of people were shocked and disappointed he didnt win as his voice was the best on the show. His sound is very soulful fused with that rnb and the selling sound of commercial pop.
Alot of people thought will he be another reality tv flop or one hit wonder, but with a voice like that surely he has success written all voer him. Well to everyones happiness and in some cases relief, Lemar turned out to be not a one hit wonder and come up with some amazing songs, amazing lyrics, music and a great album.
Every song tells its own story with the way it presents itself either by the music, tempo, lyrics, style, emotions. Dance with you was his debut single and it was a top 5 smash hit accross the UK and he looked set for starfame in a short time, could he follow this up though. Well he came back with an equally good track called 50/50 and that was a top 10 hit. Now the album washighly anticiapted and his talent was truley appreciated and looked upon exciteingly. As far as his career goes his album has been a big hit last year and this year constantly being in at a high position week in week out and his new single " Another Day " can only strengthen it.
"Another Day" some people say is a rip off of Daniel Bedingfield's if your not the one, i agree it sounds similar well at first it did but then the more i listened the more i saw past the similarities and began to hear the real sound, lyrics of the song and the real meaning. There is so much emotion in this and the chorus is icnredibly catchy as well as very good. This is sure to be his biggest hit to date i predict a top 3 chart position and a very likely number 1.
He can only go from strength to strength
10/10 , Masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Former Fame Academy student to future legend, 21 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
First of all, Lemar must be credited for not falling into the same trap as his fellow Fame Academy (and indeed Pop Idol) students – that is, hastily putting out a debut album saturated with bland cover versions. Instead, he took the time to write thirteen of the fifteen tracks on the album and unleashed the infectious Dance (With U) in August of 2003. With a touch of pop and a dash of RnB, the single is more than slightly reminiscent of Stevie Wonder’s work. In fact, much of the album contains traces of Lemar’s influences, Lionel Richie and Al Green, for example.
Whilst many of the songs on the album would make potential number one singles, it is Lemar’s beautifully soulful voice that won him respect from the public during his Fame Academy days. Effortlessly floating through my personal favourite track, the smooth 50/50 (released as a double A-side single with the ballad ‘Lullaby’ in November 2003), his vocal ability could not be more suited to its velvety sounds. Noticeably also, is ‘Let’s Stay Together,’ a hit for Al Green (reaching number one in 1972), and Tina Turner’s comeback in 1984 (reaching number 26). Adding traces of his individual musical style, Lemar’s charming rendition of the classic is a treat, and a major success as cover versions go. If you like to get up and dance to an album, you certainly won’t be disappointed with the infectiously catchy ‘No Pressure’ and ‘Body Talk.’
Thankfully, Lemar favours the upbeat numbers over the ballads. Forthcoming single ‘Another Day,’ whilst a platform for demonstrating the artist’s enchanting voice, is a rather mediocre boy-band type tune, which is lyrically clichéd: “I don’t want to live another day without you by my side… I should have got down on my knees and begged you to stay with me.” Similarly, ‘What About Love?’ lacks any real substance and fails to pick up any pace, although the delicate piano playing in the background is rather pleasant. Recent single Lullaby is far more agreeable and better suited to Lemar’s ability as an artist. Also, Alright With Our Love seems to carry more wisdom as emotional songs go. It is lyrically more interesting. However, it is the upbeat numbers that carry more credit: ‘Fresh,’ which appears early in the track listings is a catchy little number with saxophone arrangements announcing its dancing potential. “I’m so cool, I’m so fly, I’m so fresh,” Lemar proclaims, and he’s right. It is easy to imagine this song as a future number one. Another track that intrigued me, purely by its title, was All I Ever Do (My Boo), with its twangy guitar rhythms and acoustic arrangements, makes an ideal track on which to end the magnificent Dedicated.
Those who consider themselves a fan of Lemar from his Fame Academy days will be thrilled with his debut offering – the variety of ballads, mid-tempo and dance tracks is hugely impressive, as is the artist’s ability as a songwriter, which is something of a rarity in a music world full of manufactured pop puppets. Lemar sings with great passion on many of the songs, and his voice, as I have frequently mentioned, is nothing short of outstanding. ‘Dedicated’ is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like sweet soulful music then this album is for you!, 12 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
'Dedicated'Lemar's debut album is set to launch him on the way to becoming the cream of UK urban talent.
The album begins with the motown style 'Dance With You' which has been influenced by the likes of Stevie Wonder and Quincy Jones. Lemar's velvety voice works very well with this type of 'old skool' vibe which we are also treated to on the sassy, horns-a-plenty number Fresh. The revival of disco beats continues on the funky Body Talk which has an early 80's disco-soul feel and a very catchy melody to the verses.
Lemars new single 50/50 is mid tempo r'n'b at it's best. It samples the classic Jay Z cut 'Can't knock the hustle' and is definite number one potential. Sweet Love, Hot Summer, No pressure and Good woman provide a solid collection of smooth r'n'b tracks, jam packed with catchy hooks.
Another Day is a soaring ballad showing a beautiful tenderness in Lemar's voice, Alright with our love (Lover and friend) is reminiscent of Luther Vandross and What about love? with it's soft piano and tender vocals is the best of the slow jams. The three ballads are probably the weaker tracks on Dedicated because they lean towards the pop genre whereas soul songs would have fitted in better with Lemar's style.
Lullaby, co-written with Ainslie Henderson in the Fame Academy, is lyrically and melodically magnificent. The folk-pop influence and gospel choir addition at the end make this track something totally different. Finally is a sweet acoustic guitar version of All I ever do (My boo).
Something of a rarity in music today, there are no filler tracks on Dedicated. It is a very well rounded album which demonstrates Lemar's amazing vocal ability and skills as a song-writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good start, 25 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
This album sets Lemar's career on its soulful way.
First and foremeost, this guy can sing, and no I mean really sing. Without disparaging his contempories from reality shows, he is what they were all about, trying to find real talent.
The first album is ok, with notable plusses such as Dance With U and 50/50. There are some less conspicuous tunes in the middle, but track 9. What about Love is a classic acoustic piano performance. The album version of Lullaby is lusciously smooth, blending gospel, celtic and soul influences effortlessly and his cover of Let's Stay Together is divine. All in all a great start to build on. He'll be around for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulful, 24 Nov. 2003
By 
Mrs June E English (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
What a great voice Lemar has, soft as silk, he makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Who cares if he did not win Fame Academy....mostly the best do not win these programmes, and he was the best.
He would have been up there with all the soul greats in the seventies, Billy Paul, George Benson, Al Green. However, he was not born too late as there is a new and modern twist to his music, a little bit of pop, a bit of rap, a lot of soul and some wonderful lyrics. Even if you are too young to have been around in the seventies, there is enough of a modern edge to this CD to keep you coming back for more.
I'll be listening to this CD for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I've heard for a while, 10 Jan. 2004
By 
Caroline Reynolds (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of '50|50', 'Dance (With U)' and 'Lullaby', and I certainly wasn't disapointed with what I got! I hadn't really heard much of Lemar from Fame Acadamy as I didn't watch it, but he seems to have taken a step away from the TV show and released an album that obviously means a lot to him (shown by the first track, 'Dedicated' and all the "thank yous" in the sleeve!!). Although, without a doubt, Fame Acadamy raised his profile and gave him a launch pad him he seems to have bided his time in releasing an album with a range of tracks demonstrating his incredible talents: he is definately NOT going to be a reality-tv pop flop.
Lemars vocals are just amazing thoughtout the whole album, he has even been able to record a extremely credible version of Al Greens 'Lets Stay Together', maybe one of the best, although there isn't one track on there (apart from the intoduction 'Dedicated') that wouldn't stand up as a single in its own right. Other mentionable favourites include the beautiful 'Lullaby' and 'All I ever do (my boo)'.
It is definately worth five stars so go and BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time we had an Artist of GREAT ability, 25 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
This album has surprised even me, the greatest Lemar fan since Fame academy. I though he was brilliant on the show but never though he could bring out an ablum with more than 1 or two good tunes.
Lullaby is my favourite as i knoew it from the programme, however 50/50 is being played in every r'n'b club going and everyone loves it!!! Track 5,6 and 11 are also my favourites.
This album is better than most albums on the shelf at the moment. It's a unique take on soul/R'n'b no more of this bubble gum Ashanti and Ja rule stuff. It's a tenner well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!!, 9 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
I WAS A BIT RELUCTANT TO BUY THIS ALBUM AT FIRST COULD IT REALLY LIVE UP TO THE STANDARD SET BY OTHERS? YES. I KNEW LEMAR WAS GOOD BUT HIS ALBUM BLEW ME AWAY. WHAT ABOUT LOVE (TRACK 9) COULD BRING A TEAR TO ANYONE ALONG WITH THE OTHER SOULFUL TRAKS OF ANOTHER DAY (TRACK 5) AND LULLABY. (TRACK 13) THE DANCE TACK DANCE WITH YOU (TRACK 2) ADDS A UPBEAT LIFT TO THE ALBUM ALONG WITH 50/50 (TRACK 4) AND HOT SUMMER (TRACK 11) ADDING AN R'N'B AND HIP HOP FEEL. GOOD WOMAN (TRACK 10) GIVES ALL WOMEN A LIFT IN LIVING AN INDEPENDENT LIFE
NOT ONLY HAS LEMAR GOT ONE OF THE MOST STUNNING VOICES HE HAS A REAL TALLENT FOR SONG WRITING BY CO- WRITING MOST OF THE TRACK ON THE ALBUM.
ROBBIE BETTER WATCH OUT AS HE MAY FIND HIS TITLE AS THE UK's FAVOURITE UNDER THREAT!!
I WOULD RECOMEND THIS ALBUM TO ANYONE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like sweet soulful music then this album is for you!, 12 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dedicated (Audio CD)
'Dedicated'Lemar's debut album is set to launch him on the way to becoming the cream of UK urban talent.
The album begins with the motown style 'Dance With You' which has been influenced by the likes of Stevie Wonder and Quincy Jones. Lemar's velvety voice works very well with this type of 'old skool' vibe which we are also treated to on the sassy, horns-a-plenty number Fresh. The revival of disco beats continues on the funky Body Talk which has an early 80's disco-soul feel and a very catchy melody to the verses.
Lemars new single 50/50 is mid tempo r'n'b at it's best. It samples the classic Jay Z cut 'Can't knock the hustle' and is definite number one potential. Sweet Love, Hot Summer, No pressure and Good woman provide a solid collection of smooth r'n'b tracks, jam packed with catchy hooks.
Another Day is a soaring ballad showing a beautiful tenderness in Lemar's voice, Alright with our love (Lover and friend) is reminiscent of Luther Vandross and What about love? with it's soft piano and tender vocals is the best of the slow jams. The three ballads are probably the weaker tracks on Dedicated because they lean towards the pop genre whereas soul songs would have fitted in better with Lemar's style.
Lullaby, co-written with Ainslie Henderson in the Fame Academy, is lyrically and melodically magnificent. The folk-pop influence and gospel choir addition at the end make this track something totally different. Finally is a sweet acoustic guitar version of All I ever do (My boo).
Something of a rarity in music today, there are no filler tracks on Dedicated. It is a very well rounded album which demonstrates Lemar's amazing vocal ability and skills as a song-writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dedicated
Dedicated by Lemar (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews