Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound - and the complete album at last
I'll write a more contemplative review when I've lived with this 25th anniversary edition for a few weeks, but the initial play-through has been a great experience.

What you get on Disc One is, firstly, the original "Secret Wish" album as issued on CD on ZTT/Island in 1985, including the specially-remixed "Dream Within A Dream" that Stephen Lipson produced just...
Published on 19 July 2010 by not_a_real_folkie

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Mix!!!
Let me start by saying that Secret Wish is one of my favourite albums of all time. The production work of SJ Lipson and the mixing of Trevor Horn were just genious. Musically the album extends so far beyond other electronic albums...there's elements of classical, jazz, progressive, hard rock, industrial, etc...that it's like a whole new genre of music that other albums...
Published on 12 Aug. 2006 by Greg A. Carrigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album, re-packaged brilliantly!!, 20 July 2010
By 
Glasgow Dreamer (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an album I had always loved, I bought the cassette when it came out at first, and played it non-stop on the WalkMan, and later bought a standard CD version. Both always left me wanting more, and this extensive re-packaging certainly gives you more.

Lavishly packaged in a fold-out digipack with a fine 24-page booklet containing a good brief history of the band and the album, along with a number of good B&W and colour photos, this package effectively gives you two full versions of the album - all nine original tracks and remixes of each one, plus the full 20 minutes of the Jewel/Duel cassette single and a few extras. Experimental at the best of times, the remixes are at times astounding. However, it has to be said that several, although different, are not really any better than the original, more familiar versions. Having said that, they are ALL worth a listen, and I'm glad they are now in my collection.

Listening to it really makes you wonder what happened to them - why, with a voice like that, did Claudia Brucken not become an international mega-star. Possibly her "European-ness" got in the way a bit, but even her more recent work with Paul Humphreys in OneTwo still showcases that voice to full effect. I still go weak at the knees at several points on the original album, and I'm sure you will too, if you give it a go.

Between the quality and the quantity of the music included here, the excellent presentation, and the giveaway price, I would strongly recommend anyone to make this your next purchase from Amazon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Propaganda - A biographical review, 15 April 2004
By 
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
Propaganda was a mid 1980's electro-pop group based in England, comprised of Claudia Bruecken, Susanne Freytag, Ralph Doerper, and Michael Mertens. 1985 saw the release of Secret Wish, their magnificent debut album for the ZTT records (also home to Frankie Goes To Hollywood and Art Of Noise). The best album cuts in my opinion are the upbeat and melodic song P. Machinery (P for perfect), the melancholic number Dr. Mabuse, and the haunting opus, Frozen Faces. The fantastic medley of the songs Relax (Frankie's staple) and P. Machinery, by the Italo disco group P4F was an effort not unknown to many in the Euro disco scene of the time. Unfortunately though, after releasing a remix album later in the same year, the group split apart and the members set to pursue their own musical projects.
In one front, Claudia Bruecken --the lead Propaganda vocalist-- remained with the ZTT records for releasing "Laughter, Tears, and Rage" (1988), a splendid electro-pop effort in collaboration with the instrumentalist, Thomas Leer. Later on in 1991, Bruecken also released a solo album, but as far as I know since then she has been quiet in the recording business. On other fronts, while Ralph Doerper returned to Die Krupps (his former electro-industrial outfit) for their late 80's collaboration with Nitzer Ebb, Michael Mertens recruited two former members of the Scottish supergroup Simple Minds, and a new female lead vocalist, Betsy Miller, for the 1990 release of "1234" (also under the name Propaganda). I am not aware of many Susanne Freytag solo projects except for her vocal role in "Spirit Feel", a 1995 techno/ambient album. There has been talks about a possible Propaganda reunion, but unfortunately as the time of this writing, the reunion hasn't been materialized.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential for my collection, 4 April 2006
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
As a massive fan of electronic music this for me has many of the essential ingredients. I love the mixture of brutal tracks then softer pieces. The german edge to the singing gives it the extra something that fits well with 80's electronic music. If you like electonic music add it to your collection, i'm only sorry Propoganda didn't keep on writing.
Many happy memories from this CD, my first ever CD to play on my Philips CD104B (another classic!)
A top CD that must be played loud..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 3 Feb. 2011
quite possibly the best albumn ever - Propaganda exploded into the 80's this albumn and this is the original line up to the band, it was perfect on Vinyl but even stronger on CD. In truth the orignial albumn is all you need, the bonus CD is a rehash of mixes that also made the 80's what they are but today for me the original versions are strongest. I think Claudia Brucken left the band after this album recording on her own - look out for her on Love: And a Million Other Things which is also magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful., 17 Mar. 2011
By 
M. J. Farnworth "beetroot" (preston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This record still sounds ahead of it's time. ABC and Scritti around 84/85- Astute use Fairlights and endless tinkering in the studio where technological advancements aroused creative possibilities and music that will date well. Cupid and Zillionaire have more than made their mark.

Secret Wish is another matter. It's conception of creative divisions and gestation are remarkable and make's a good short read in the linear notes but perhaps it's best not too analyse too much.

But in one way it's great that this was the only real Propaganda album (1234 being part of the bigger picture) as the sequenced build up, from the edgy calmness of "A Dream Within A Dream" to rising tension throughout and towards the Masterpiece Dr. Mabuse feels complete- a (No 27 in 1984)- A hit for those days and all the more remarkably, a distinct in synth pop terms (81-84) the greatest hit that doesn't have a chorus, and along with "Duel" are contenders as the most dynamic in terms of voluptuous and exciting remodellings of the 80s'.(remixes seems an unsatifactory term in this context). Disc 2 retains the quality- each remodel feels like a necessary addition to the oeuvre.

The fact is this album hasn't dated and Secret Wish given the financial expense of its production and creative/artistic mutation is something that sadly seems unlikely to be repeated seldom or soon.

Did Propaganda implode too soon? ABC and Frankie as Trevor Horn produced artists, strived forward, with variable results, Propaganda made their statement and (effectively) that was that -almost too perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kraft-y-werk? You could say that!, 26 Feb. 2007
By 
L. Foxall "foxall" (Warrington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
After hearing Duel on the radio & reading other people's reviews about A Secret Wish, I decided to make a purchase. Not the most convincing of foundations to justify making a purchase but I don't care because I'm glad I bought it!

This album in places reminds me of Kraftwerk because some of the tracks such as `Dream Within A Dream' and `Dr Mabuse' have an experimental feel to them - they're focused more towards the sound they create rather than lyrics and can last for quite a while with the longest track being `Dream Within A Dream' @ 8 minutes long. However, if you're worried the song you started playing at the beginning of the Autobahn will still be playing at the end of it, fear not because unlike Kraftwerk, the appeal to the mainstream is there for all to hear I think, and if their "experimental" material does not appeal to you, then I'm sure `Jewel', 'Duel' & 'P-Machinery' will - if you like synth-pop. Having listened to the Human League, Heaven 17 & New Order, A Secret Wish immediately stands out because of its industrial edge - it adds a different dimension to synth-pop which even today (over 20 years after it was released) sounds good and fresh.

I must admit I have bought albums on fragile foundations before (i.e. little or even no research into the albums' tracks) and sometimes it has been to my cost but like (and I will admit, luckily!) most albums I've bought this way, A Secret Wish has rewarded me. Satisfied? That's an understatement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars propaganda-where are you now????, 22 Jan. 2003
By 
Mr. D. Smith (nottingham, u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
having had the original on vinyl in 1985 it was nice to get it on cd,yes all the polished production still shines through.claudia brucken may not have the best voice but its certainly distinctive,duel still sounds as fresh today,and goes to show what dross we have in the charts these days.
ive orded 1234 as well,another fine album too,where are all the groups like this now??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp and to the point, 24 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
I first heard 'Dr Mabuse' at its release time and was hooked. I wanted more and bought the tape. I was not disappointed. 'A Secret Wish' starts beautifully with 'Dream Within A Dream', a melodic flowing track then seems to explode across the rest of the album.
Some tracks may take some getting use to and the vocal style is quite different, Claudia Brucken having a distinct but obviously German accent, but this seems to add to it and tracks such as 'Duel' fill the listener with positive energy.
Another favourite track is P-Machinery which could have had a Terminator tie in!
My CD has the full length version of Dr Mabuse and it is spectacular. This album seems to define the 80s synth and sequencing like no other, it really is a seminal work in this respect even if you don't like it.
Propaganda did release a plethora of different versions of their singles and the 'Wishful Thinking' album is a good example of some erratic remixes (credited mainly I believe to the remixers and not really the band themselves) but it too is also worth buying - but only when you are settled with this CD first.
The CD sound is crisp and bright, this kind of music is so well suited to CD.
Nigel 'Reg / Mr.Jolly' Blunkell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best ZTT Album In The World......EVER!!!, 30 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes, you heard right! Forget about Frankie Goes To Hollywood or even the Art Of Noise, the honour of most sublime recording ever released on Zang Tuum Tumb goes to Teutonic Synthpop Situationists Propaganda! From hearing their first hit (The Nine Lives Of) Dr. Mabuse blaring ominously from the radio chart rundown back in them far off days of early 1984, I was perturbed, intrigued, then ultimately hooked. No other top 30 record at the time grabbed me by the 'nads like this one did - all foreboding menace, propulsive, crashing drums, huge synth fanfares and strident vocals. The album that followed surely had to be a bit special.

And blow me, when it arrived a year later, was it just! Herrs Ralf Dorper and Michael Mertens, along with Frauleins Claudia Brücken and Susanne Freytag have fashioned a colossal symphonic suite of Wagnerian pop melodramas that, at that time, could surely move mountains!

Beginning with Susanne Freytag's choice quotations from Edgar Allen Poe (which, funnily enough also opened the credits to John Carpenter's eerie creepy classic horror yarn The Fog a couple of years earlier), the first track Dream Within A Dream unravels like a proper spaghetti western theme tune, cantering along at a steady ambient pace accompanied by Freytag's ongoing narrative before all manner of discordance that's been simmering underneath breaks to the surface, disrupting the track midway with guitar solos, frantic drum-breaks and the rest before some sort of calm is regained once more. An absolute MONSTER of an opening track and one of the best curtain-raisers to any album ever.

What distinguished A Secret Wish from other albums released at the same time was that there were two distinct versions - one on vinyl and one on CD. The CD version featured longer, different mixes of some of its tracks, and it's this latter one which kicks off this new 25th Anniversary edition - the shorter original album version ushers in the bonus tracks from 10 onwards.

There isn't a single weak track on the original album (be it the vinyl OR CD version!) as it's consistently strong material throughout. However, special mention has to be given to the ingenious pairing of the second hit single Duel, programmed here alongside its evil twin flip Jewel. The Two Sides Of Propaganda - The Definitive, certainly: summed up succinctly with these two songs: both essentially the same song, but one relentlessly harsh and abrasive (Jewel) whilst the other is gentle and melodic (the radio-friendly A-side). Most definitely a case of Yin and Yang....

The colossal 10+ minute [CD] mix of Dr. Mabuse is as definitive a statement of intent as you're ever going to get with this band...but even here they get clever and sneakily segue straight into The Last Word (Strength To Dream) for the final couple of minutes. By contrast, both these songs stand as separate tracks on the vinyl version - Dr. Mabuse being 5 minutes shorter.....

And that's just the first disc! The second features different takes, 12" mixes of the various album tracks and the stupendous 20 minute cassette mix of Duel/Jewel/Wonder/Bejewelled just to further one's listening pleasure. These extra 11 tracks take the running time to 72 minutes....

However! One glaring omission stops this 2CD set from being THE most perfect and essential reissue this year: and that's the inexplicable (some would say unforgivable?) absence of the superb cover of the Velvet's Femme Fatale (subtitled The Woman With The Orchid) along with the truly schizoid and disturbing Bernard Herrman-like strings deconstruction of the uncredited track which follows it on the original 12" B-side of Dr. Mabuse. These two tracks would still fit on the CD and take the running time to just under 79 minutes. Perhaps it might be because Femme Fatale was already issued on the [now deleted] alternative Propaganda versions compilation Outside World (2002) that justified its exclusion here...?

Whatever..... anybody who hasn't heard this seminal album should do the decent thing and get hold of it now. It's true that a lot of the early to mid-80s synth pop stuff has dated rather badly be it in the sounds of the instrumentation or the samey generic production values of the time (lots of reverb and flanging, Fairlight/ Linn drum programming etc), but this is one release that hasn't gone that way mercifully - sounding as fresh and vital today as it did all of 25 long years ago.

Get this now - and lose yourself in its huge all-encompassing widescreen enormity. Believe it my dears, this is one of the greatest debut albums ever. Kein Zuruck Für Dich - indeed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STREAMLINED TO PERFECTION, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
Kelvin Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Secret Wish (Audio CD)
A SECRET WISH: every song flawlessly produced by TREVOR HORN and one of the few completely successful new wave electro-pop albums of the mid-eighties. Even now, some 25 years later - having hard-wired itself into my musical DNA after just one rotation - it still has the capacity to impress on so many levels. The vocals, for example, sung in English by CLAUDIA BRUCKEN, are given a distinctive edge by simple virtue of her native Teutonic phrasing, and it suits the material to perfection. Of course, the sound is unmistakeably European but any undiluted comparisons to KRAFTWERK or IRMIN SCHMIDT end there; Trevor Horn's English pop sensibility has fashioned a hybrid which is altogether more exciting. And this is no fluke; he worked similar magic two years earlier on PHILIP JAP's superb SAVE US.

DUEL
P.MACHINERY
DR. MABUSE
THE STRENGTH TO DREAM

and DREAM WITHIN A DREAM
THE MURDER OF LOVE
JEWEL
FROZEN FACES
SORRY FOR LAUGHING
THE CHASE

Pounding rhythm and pristine melody; a raft of sequenced synths and unexpectedly affecting string arrangements; a fixed point where the sounds of industrial wastelands meet their equal but opposite numbers in the form of lush, painted pastures: the very principles of music for pleasure. Well, mine at least. A Secret Wish is one of those defining albums of a time long gone...yet it remains utterly, unequivocally contemporary. And the joy of that particular contradiction will always hold true.

Simply play very loud and let the sheer force of PROPAGANDA (overwhelmingly) win you over.

VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Secret Wish
A Secret Wish by Propaganda (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews