Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten diamond, 9 Sep 2002
By 
Kasper Hovgaard "c-45" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
Today, Vangelis is best known for his powerful film scores such as "Chariots of Fire", and (more deserved) "Blade Runner" and "1492". But during the 70s and 80s, Vangelis composed some of his best works on regular albums. This 40 minute long album from 1979 is probably one of Vangelis' very best. It contains some of his most well-known tunes such as "Hymne" and "L'Enfant" in their original and most beautiful versions. There's also the very dream-like "Rêve" and the brilliant GHOSTly "Chromatique". Finally, "Irlande" completes this (sadly) forgotten masterpiece. Apparently, the cover design was done by Vangelis himself, which just contributes to the fact that this is a very personal and wholehearted Vangelis-effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Vangelis, 3 Mar 2009
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
Actually, I bought this wonderful CD only to complete the movie soundtrack of "The Year of Living Dangerously", where one important piece was missing: "L'enfant". This piece was played during the rain scene with Mel Gibson and Sigourney Weaver. A typical Vangelis new age oeuvre with a soothing sound tapestry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There is Nothing Savage about this Great Album, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
After `L'Apocalypse des Animaux' and `Fete Sauvage', the forty-three-minute `Opera Sauvage' is Vangelis's third soundtrack album for the French wildlife photographer Frederic Rossif.

Although, it is not really a soundtrack album in the sense that Vangelis does not compose to accord with the minute-by-minute, second-by-second action on the screen. Rather, here, as in other film soundtracks, he composes pieces and leaves it to the film's music editor to make the links to what is happening on screen. The result, sound-wise, is a set of true musical pieces. To that extent, this album can stand on its own as an independent work and can be enjoyed without ever seeing a minute of the film to which it ostensibly relates.

The album opens with the stately fanfare of `Hymne', famous for various commercials and subsequently reworked by Vangelis for his later `Portraits' album. This is followed by an intimate, lyrical, and tender `Reve' (`Dream'). As for `L'Enfant', many will know the music without knowing its origin: it is in the tradition of earlier Vangelis tracks such as `Pulstar' and `Spiral', but is not carried through to a denouement.

Jon Anderson re-appears on the final piece, `Flamants Roses' (`Flamingos'), making a major contribution playing the harp, so evocative of the piece's subject-matter. The only duff track is `Irlande'. It possesses a melancholy Irish air but is too simplistic. There is no development; it goes nowhere.

Overall, then, there is nothing `savage' about this album. It is truthful, for sure, but never unpleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top notch stuff, 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. Mark Stevenson "Marcus" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
This really is an excellent album by Vangelis. It's good first listen & grows with every play. You may know the often used tunes "Hymne" & "L'Enfant" but it is the long tracks here which are truly stunning. If you liked the Chariots of Fire soundtrack you will no doubt love this.

As Jon Anderson would say "Wonderous".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my son, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
Beautifully written - if you like Vangelis then you will love this. My son has most of Vangelis' work which he listens too for hours.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
Many know Vangelis only for Chariots of Fire, but this far surpasses anything that he produced for movies. Perfect as background music or simply for relaxing to, a truly special work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate shimmering snyth 'mood' record, 8 Aug 2011
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
I adore Vangelis and all that I've reviewed on Amazon get a five star.

However, even Vangelis usually has a track that, or part of a track, or an instrument in a part of track etc that doesn't quite sound perfect.

This is glory; simple shimmering glorious beauty, done in a studio. By one man. Slow, balletic, majestic, powerful but never breaking into sweat or shouting about it.

Valium in a plastic CD case, not prescription bottle. But, not a dulled vacant sound but fresh, sparkling and alive as nature. A dew drop.

And I'm a 6'2" strapping bloke....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
I have many Vangelis CDs and whilst I like the music, I use alot of his work for background music on my slide shows. Glad I have it in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
By 
M. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opera Sauvage (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

by Vangelis (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews