Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute must have for anyone with kids, 12 Jan 2004
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
This is a tremendous film, and a beautiful DVD. My son wanted to watch nothing else for the last four weeks, his enthusiasm for it was immense.
This movie is nothing like your standard cartoon offering - the story is simple and pure, the animation is crisp, the music is enchanting, there is no attempt to dress-up the story, and the representation of West African culture is pretty fair.
If you can (or your kids can) understand any French then try to watch the movie in its original language, the songs and the dialogue work much better, plus the accentation of the English dubbing is questionable (while all the accents are African they span the whole continent so it sounds very "dubbed").
The DVD pack comes with a bonus disk which is interesting and fun, but only in French.
All in all I cannot recommend this more highly. This is a great movie that kids will watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet African folk animation, 12 July 2007
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
The sweet-natured Kirikou and the Sorceress, is a French animated movie drawing on a West African tale that has an authenticity The Lion King lacks. The diminutive, preternaturally wise hero talks in his mother's womb, cuts his own umbilical cord and proceeds to save the village from an oppressive sorceress. The two-dimensional drawings with the characters usually in profile look like folk art and have the feel of a children's book. The attractive score is by the Senegalese musician Youssou N'Dour.
By the way, watch the original French version which adapts itselt to Westren African based accents as opposed to the dubbed English version which incorporates a broader range of African accents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Feast for Eyes and Ears and Everything, 28 July 2006
By 
Mr. R. Muller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful animation about a baby saving his village from an evil sorceress. In the same sort of vein as Spirited Away - animation that highlights the magic and wonder in the world it depicts, and a central character who wins the day by having courage in his convictions, and seeing the world through unjaded eyes. For me, this is even better than SA - it features a much more likeable hero and characters are voiced and animated with greater verve.

The movie opens with pregant mother stroking her belly. A small voice proclaims "Mother, I am ready to be born." Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best animated childrens movies ever, 27 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This Senegalese cartoon film is one of the most appealing animated films of the last 10 years for both adults and children. The images are beautiful and slow-moving, a far cry from the Japanese action-loaded Pokemon stories. The music by Youssou N-Dour is beautiful but very discreet. Yet, the story has all the suspense, love, drama, humour and action you can wish for. Children will ask to watch it again and again (and so will you). If the world had more films like these for children, it might be a better place to grow up in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cher au coeur des tout-petits et de leurs parents!, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
"Kirikou est petit, mais il est mon ami"

C'est une animation merveilleuse. Il s'agit d'une histoire charmante et inspirante avec de la musique incroyable et pas oublier des personnages adorables! J'étais émerveillé quand j'étais un enfant, et aujourd'hui je reste fasciné comme si je suis un enfant. Je m'en souviens comme si c'était hier, comment Karaba la sorcière me faisait peur et comment Kirikou me faisait pleure. Ça rappelle de bon souvenir de mon enfance.

Ce conte est aussi une trés belle leçon de morale pour les enfants.. Être fier de qui vous êtes, qu'importe ce que les autres pensent de vous (si vous mesurez 10 centimètres ou 2 mètres), du moment que vous êtes vous-même et content de l'être, c'est la seule chose qui importe.

Voir, c'est croire. Vraiment. Alors achetez-le! Je vous promets, vous ne le regretterez pas.

"Kirikou n'est pas grand, mais il est valiant"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kirikou, 16 Mar 2011
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
lovely, cultural film, but Head Teacher at primary school where I teach French, said it's not suitable to show to the 7 - 11 yr old pupils because of the bare breasts (albeit cartoon ones!) - oh how prudish/English! I'm sure the French don't have a problem with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best kid films I have ever watched, 14 Jan 2010
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a piece of art and it appeals to both kids and their parents. My daughter and I were absolutely mesmerised by the animation, the story and the music. We have watched it a few times and never tire of watching it again. It's so original and different. I wish there were more films like this for kids. There is also a sequel of this film' Kiriku and the Wild Beasts' as beautiful as this one. Absolutely recommend it, you'll not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Good As If Not Better Than Disney, 15 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
The story, the animation and the music is lovely . It is refreshing to find an african children's story which is truely reflective of African life in all respects. This would be a great gift for children of african descent in any country but also for all children because it is not only immensely enjoyable but gives a very positive view of african culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and enchanting story. Glad to have it., 8 Nov 2008
By 
Marzena Goralska "Marzena Goralska" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] (DVD)
[[ASIN:B0000VJID4 Kirikou And The Sorceress [2002]

Amazing animated movie for kids. My daughters were simply enchanted by it. Lovely story about little, sweet african boy and his adventures on the way to fight the sourceress. Beautiful animation, packed with fun and humour, teaching about most vauable things in life and most of all pure african folkore including great music. Glad I've discovered it. I love it myself. Just got another copy for a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, 16 Sep 2005
By 
Martine H. Eni "book feery" (Londres UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An original video story for young and old and so very interesting to see for ones a real african story the music is very good and those tunes stay for a while after!
Congratulations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD]
Kirikou and the Sorceress [DVD] by Michel Ocelot (DVD - 2003)
£8.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews