Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of BBC Programming
Sunday evenings became Monarch of the Glen evenings. Cancel all appointments, get 5 work shirts out to be ironed and endulge in some escapism. The Highlands enable such a distraction so very well which, when combined with the jolly-hearted struggles of Archie, Molly et al to keep Glenbogle estate up and running, affords a recipe of end-of-weekend pleasure.
The 4th...
Published on 14 Nov. 2003 by Jus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd turn of events
This is for series two as the reviews seem to be muddled. I liked series one a lot, but resented Katrina leaving Fergal and messing both him and Archie about - the series would have been better if she simply went off to New Zealand. She was only in the first episode of series two before upping to London which made her staying and declaring her love for Archie at the end...
Published on 11 July 2011 by Fintan15


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of BBC Programming, 14 Nov. 2003
Sunday evenings became Monarch of the Glen evenings. Cancel all appointments, get 5 work shirts out to be ironed and endulge in some escapism. The Highlands enable such a distraction so very well which, when combined with the jolly-hearted struggles of Archie, Molly et al to keep Glenbogle estate up and running, affords a recipe of end-of-weekend pleasure.
The 4th series is my favourite with the reawakening of Molly's romanticism in the wake of her mourning for Hector and the continuance of the Lexie-Archie love affair. Their jousting over the appointment of a new housekeeper serves as a leitmotiv for future episodes where Lexie's new-found status as wife of the laird introduces some modernism to the running of Glenbogle. Irene (the housekeeper), in turn, becomes the centre of a further wrangle between Golly and the brilliantly-played Duncan. Meanwhile a pack of wolves are brought to the estate to provide some income through tourism but the bullying of the cub of the pack serves only to reignite Molly's loss of her husband.
After a drought of good BBC programming Monarch of the Glen is inspired (if not a wee bit brainless) viewing. Get the spray starch out and get ironing with this very appealing blend of Highland charm for company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Monarch returns - and is still King, 9 Oct. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a fantatic first series, series two returns us to the magic of Glenbogle, six months on from Justine's return to the estate.
The estate is once again on the verge of ruin, and the eccentric bunch of family and staff must pull together even more to turn it around and save the day.
New arrivals bring new troubles, and the question as to whether Archie will ever find true love is even more prominent.
Richard Briers and Susan Hampshire create even more brilliant scenes, and once again the supporting cast produce a tight performance.
Series two builds on the strong foundations set by series one, and the fun and drama continues as good as ever before, making this perfect family Sunday-night viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer joy and entertainment, 22 Jan. 2011
It's simply wonderful to have this most enjoyable and entertaining series in one complete set. I absolutley loved the series when it showed originally on BBC between 200-2005, and a lot of the thrill was waiting each week and wondering what would occur next. But I must say that having been able to watch the series in succession (it's taken me nearly a month of night time viewing just to get to series 6!), I feel part of the Glenbogle family and have been able to experience the joy, laughter, tears, losses and gains along with the characters.

Aside from the ridiculously fantastic price for the entire series, I would reccomend this series to anyone who has not yet seen it. It's simply wonderful. If you can expect constant change, drama and surprise (just like life really is), then the fairytale like charm and idealism of the story will enchant you and get you hooked for years to come - and I say this because I have yet to meet anyone who has not eventually watched the entire series again!

If you did see the series before and have been considering this purchase to see it again, you will surely discover the joy I have of being able to watch the episodes consecutively and it will no doubt crawl into your heart once again and become a very proud placement in your DVD collection, as well as an old friend.

5 proud stars for sheer loveliness :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monarch of the Glen, Series 2, 1 Dec. 2003
By 
DONALD KEITH (MOSELLE, MISSISSIPPI United States) - See all my reviews
High quality television programming is not a lost art. It is alive and well with the producers, directors, writers, cast and support of Monarch of the Glen. Normally, television writers have a good first year, then slowly slide downhill during the following years. Not with this series. Each year continues to get better and better, with all the plot twists and turns that keep you wondering and awaiting what comes next. I haven't met anyone yet who dislikes this program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 1 Feb. 2004
The Highland Drama struck gold again, with this fantastic second half.
Skeletons come out of closets, even for the deceased Hector!
Paul, a new character is introduced dramatically, and romances change everywhere, as Duncans love life takes a turn for the worse, and Mollys greatly improves.
With fantastic actors, a fantastic castle, and the stunning scenery, MOTG really is a delight to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 18 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
Yet another great series of Monarch of the Glen! With exciting new story lines....do Archie and Lexie marry? Does Duncan find love? over 4hours of great episodes and I LOVED every single one. I really would recommend you buy this if you like Monarch. Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jings, crivvens and help ma boab, 1 Mar. 2007
By 
Olivia Blair "climatic_fanatic" (Aberfeldy) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Monarch of the Glen was a television drama, produced by Ecosse Films for BBC Scotland and originally broadcast on BBC One in the United Kingdom. The series premiered in February 2000, and its seventh and final season was broadcast from September 2005 until October 2005 - with 64 episodes in total.

Monarch of the Glen is loosely based on Compton Mackenzie's Highland Novels, which are set in the same location but in the 1930s and 1940s. The real Monarch of the Glen is a famous Landseer oil that every Scot will be familiar with.

The first five seasons of Monarch of the Glen told the story of young restaurateur, Archie MacDonald, trying to restore his childhood home in the Scottish Highlands, whilst the final two seasons of the show focused on new Laird Paul Bowman trying to modernise the estate. I kind of see it as heartbeat in the Highlands - it had the same vibe and timeslot - although it has a better cast perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monarch come back!!, 15 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
Being a mans man I would never admit to my mates that I watched such a program, I have avidly followed this series from episode 1 of the first series. I have enjoyed thoroughly the relaxed aura and the fun that this program brings, its been said before but this is realy perfect Sunday night TV!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Monarch of TV Shows, 21 Nov. 2003
Monarch of the Glen has been one of the best TV shows produced by the BBC in recent years. Set in the Highlands of Scotland "Monarch" is set around the fictional estate of Glenbogle and star two of the United Kingdoms finest performers in Richard Briers and Susan Hampshire as Hector and Molly Macdonald. Their son Archie returned to the Glen to take over as laird in the first series and continues his attempts to save the estate from going under. Along the way all sorts of fiascos occur, usually because of the comical Duncan played by Hamish Clark (Vodafone adverts), Hector (Briers) or his cronie Lord Kilwillie. Monarch of the Glen is a TV show that you can just sit back and relax with. Great Sunday night viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roaming through the highlands, 26 April 2009
By 
V. Van Der Kramer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Monarch of the Glen is a warm, emotional and yet fun look at life with Scottish Laird Archie and his lady Lexie. Retiring Laird Hector features in the first four series, then after his demise the series does take a rather different turn. Suddenly the financial problems disappear and the whole place seems to have had a spit and polish. A very enjoyable series for all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monarch Of The Glen: Series 4 - Part 2 [VHS] [2000]
Monarch Of The Glen: Series 4 - Part 2 [VHS] [2000] by Alexander Morton (VHS Tape - 2003)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews