Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (293)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven in a Tabbard!
Originally shown on BBC1 between October 1999 and January 2000, it has taken far too long to get this show released on Home Video and DVD. Series One has yet to be released on DVD, but don't let that put you off if you haven't seen it. Series Two is so much better, engaging it's audience with a running plot, a sense of drama and most of all, the side-splitting...
Published on 10 Nov 2003 by boylyrical

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles, or too expensive or region one (USA)
when will this film be released for region two with English subtitles for hard of hearing please? I am trying to replace my old videos with DVDs at a reasonable price but find it hard to find good copies. They are either region 1 (USA) or no subtitles or far too expensive!!
Published 7 months ago by EAP of B


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven in a Tabbard!, 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Dinnerladies - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Originally shown on BBC1 between October 1999 and January 2000, it has taken far too long to get this show released on Home Video and DVD. Series One has yet to be released on DVD, but don't let that put you off if you haven't seen it. Series Two is so much better, engaging it's audience with a running plot, a sense of drama and most of all, the side-splitting one-liners.
This DVD contains all 10 episodes in Series 2 of the Victoria Wood classic <i>Dinnerladies</i>. The first episode is by far the funniest, but that's not to say that the rest aren't a document of comic genius either. The entire cast are wonderfully funny and able to carry a sometimes dramatic storyline beautifully.
No special features worthy of mentioning, but the episodes themselves are enough to keep you occupied over and over again. I showed the episode 'Christine' (a substitute dinnerlady with comic spiritual enlightenment) to a family member who has less humour than a black tie and she loved it. In fact she laughed more than I did! But that's only because I've watched it a million times before... and I'm still buying the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as Oscar Wilde, 2 Jan 2006
Dinnerladies is possibly the most underestimated comedy the world has ever seen. Almost every line seems to contain something good, and there are so many jokes, witticisms and finely-observed characters packed into each half hour that almost anyone is bound to laugh at something sooner or later.
The lion's share of the credit has to go to the writer (and star) Victoria Wood. She exhibits the highest form of humour, quiet but biting, satirical without being exploitative, filled with humanity while at the same time laughing at every aspect of humans, you can see yourself and people you know in virtually every character. The actors are all on top form, and Wood makes full use of what seems to have become her acting company from her "As Seen On TV" series. Some serious themes creep in now and then, but Wood's matter-of-fact non-melodramatic approach suits the situations perfectly, and actually seems more realistic than the way serious dramas make plausible situations into contrived crises.
It's difficult to know why Dinnerladies and Wood herself aren't more widely acknowledged, this is possibly the best sitcom since Dad's Army, and it's certainly as pleasurable to watch. I only hope that we see lots more from Wood in the future, if she can write as well as this we need to see more from her.
As for this particular DVD presentation, I bought it on Amazon for a special offer price of £9. £9 for all two series of something as good as this doesn't deserve any less than five stars, and even at double the price I wouldn't have any hesitation in purchasing it.
It doesn't come with any extras though, which is a shame as an interview with the cast and crew would be a most welcome companion to this complete collection. This is a landmark series, make no mistake about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh and cry, 9 Feb 2006
By 
W. J. Miller (West Bromwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
These DVDs are astoundingly good value at less than £10 for the boxed set of both series. There are no special features or extras, but all sixteen episodes are here and that is enough.
Dinnerladies is very funny with its humour being primarily character-driven. In fact, all the action takes place within the confines of the kitchen and canteen where the dinnerladies are employed. The script is so wonderfully crafted that there is no need for changes in location in order to make it work. (Victoria Wood is a genius!) What is more, because the characters are developed so well and so realistically, you care about what happens to them. You are drawn into their world and some episodes can make you cry as well as laugh. That is a truly rare quality in British comedy.
In short, Dinnerladies is one of the best sit-coms ever to be broadcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only five star canteen in the land, 18 Mar 2005
By 
Budge Burgess (Troon, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This is extraordinarily good comedy, writing and acting stripped bare and left to their very basics. Set in the canteen of a factory, it harks back to the early days of live television, with one set, the camera never straying from the kitchen/canteen, and the impression being generated that everything is happening, pretty much live. That time does pass says something about the quality of this production - you, as viewer, do suspend your disbelief and feel as if you are eavesdropping on the private lives and passions of the dinner ladies and their world.
The cast is exceptional. Victoria Wood has talent and reputation enough to attract a wonderful ensemble of actors, and she has remained loyal to them for many years. The performances and characterisations are all beautifully observed. The comedy is done very gently, but there are some savage asides and some really caustic lines. The writing is outstanding. Victoria Wood is a decidedly self-effacing lady at the best of times, but she is a writer of genius, a writer capable of incisive insight into British life, a writer who can be brutal at times, but who never lets go of a warm, tender love of her characters and a very human outlook on the world.
This is extraordinary television, extraordinary writing, and a comedy performed with aplomb and passion. 'Dinner Ladies' is a classic; this is the sort of programme you can return to again and again and laugh and cry - excellent value on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Feast!, 17 Nov 2010
By 
bluyonda - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic TV series centred around the daily running of a factory canteen, co produced and superbly written by comedy genius Victoria Wood. Below is my brief synopsis of each episode, as a reminder or to give insight if unfamiliar with Dinnerladies. Cast of Characters includes amongst others:~

Victoria Wood ~ Senior Dinnerlady Brenda (Bren)
Andrew Dunn ~ Catering Manager Tony
Anne Reid ~ Dinnerlady Jean
Thelma Barlow ~ Dinnerlady Dolly
Shobna Gulati ~ Dinnerlady Anita
Maxine Peake ~ Dinnerlady Twinkle
Celia Imrie ~ Human Resources Philippa
Duncan Preston ~ Maintenance Stan
Julie Walters ~ Bren's Mother Petula

Special Guests:~
Dame Thora Hird ~ Enid
Eric Sykes ~ Jim
Dora Bryan ~ Connie
Kate Robbins ~ Babs

COMPLETE FIRST SERIES (all included on the first disc):~

1. Monday ~ During the general Monday morning catering organisation in the kitchen, you are gradually introduced to the characters. Plenty is continually happening which carries right through each episode. Something seemingly insignificant occurs, which gives rise to an unexpected outcome in the last episode.
2. Royals ~ The staff prepare for a Royal visit. This has a profound impact on Stan. Beautifully written and brought a tear to my eye.
3. Scandal ~ Bren's mother and her new 'boy' friend cause a stir...nothing to do with cooking!
4. Moods ~ Emotions are rather fraught; November blues intermingled with a variety of other factors like bad hair and a possible pregnancy. Mother's are invited to 'bring your mother to work day' Eric Sykes attends. Thora Hird makes an appearance which adds a level of gravitas as only she could give... and Bren's mother...
5. Party ~ The works Christmas Party; relationship issues, intrigue, suppressed miss-timed romance, miss communication and... Bren's mother....
6. Nightshift ~ Tony is off recovering from treatment and his replacement leads to profound consequences. The sinking ship is rapidly deserted and the warmth of the ending is writing perfection.

SERIES TWO Disc One:~

1. Catering ~ The decorators attempt to do their job; miss communication, broodiness, Segourney the trainee and pre op difficulties involving a rather long ladder.
2. Trouble ~ A relationship is on the rocks so everyone suffers, Marbella beckons Tony and Bren, spilt orange juice does have consequences and... how do you do placenta on a Baby Belling?!
3. Holidays ~ Bereavement, pregnancy, Bren becomes brave, emotional blackmail and heart strings pulled.
4. Fog ~ Stale relationship, miss understanding, blood donor, an escaped prisoner, 'don't go mad...get mad' and new romance's.
5. Gamble ~ The bet is on, tree delivery and where are those decorations? tongues wag, pills, coffee and romance, a ghost from the past but worst of all...tangled tree lights without their original packaging!
6. Christmas ~ Misunderstandings, repercussions and the inevitable monumental jumping to conclusions, staff Christmas dinner, a birthday to remember and Bren's mother...

SERIES TWO Disc Two:~

7. Minnellium ~ Millennium catering intermingled with inevitable bad weather and resulting stress, six pack or catering pack? combustible human resources and a mystery baby.
8. Christine ~ A new dinnerlady arrives causing home truths to surface, Viagra, a social worker visit, new romance and of course...Bren's mother...
9. Gravy ~ Fresh start and new ways, only three weeks, Totally Trivial show and yes... Bren's mother...
10. Toast ~ New uniforms, the wrong kind of help, a missed opportunity and a goodbye with an unexpected ending.

Picture and sound quality are superb and this was played on equipment so naff, WE were paid to take it away! One plastic DVD case has all three DVD's fitted inside, including a delicate hinged middle section. There are no extras, no casting leaflet and the running order is on the back cover. This was pure self indulgence for me, so all this mattered not one jot!

Casting is perfection, with the actors bringing their characters to life with down to earth realism. Each believable and I'm sure we have all met most of them in our own lives. Words flow effortlessly with impeccable timing. I enjoyed watching this recently as much as I did when first broadcast, worth every penny. Timeless perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most pleasant surprise, 13 Jun 2009
An infrequent visitor to Britain, I had seen the name Victoria Wood in DVD stores but I really had no idea who she was or what she did. Recently, I saw 'Dinnerladies' offered at a low price and ordered on the off-chance. I'm very glad I did, as it turned out to be a most pleasant surprise. A comedy series in a single set (the canteen) is challenging in itself, but sharp, funny and often poignant writing not liberally scattered with four-letter words makes a refreshing change. The characters are played magnificently by members of Wood's faithful troupe (as I discovered on subsequent DVD purchases); of course, they are usually somewhat 'over the top' but comedy often comes from exaggeration and repetition. I don't know what it is in Victoria's voice or accent and there's a certain something in the eyes too, but I find them most appealing; her character's underlying sadness and worldly wisdom makes one quite sad when the 16 little episodes come to a close. It is, however, a sign of some of the better comedy series that the writer and producer (both Victoria Wood) know that it is judicious to end on a short but high note (à la Fawlty Towers) rather than see a series drag on over an increasing number of series getting unfunnier and unfunnier as time goes by. This purchase has prompted me to discover more of Wood's work, whether as a stand-up comic or in a fuller acting role such as ITV's 'Housewife, 49'. If you like clean, intelligent comedy, then join the queue in the canteen and cast an eye over the dinnerladies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic comedy series!!!, 14 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. Nathan Armstrong - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
i orginallly had this on vhs video and even though i must have watched it 20 times from start to finish it still makes me howl with laughter

be it the on/off romance between bren(victoria wood) and tony...the midlife crises of dolly and jean..the couldnt give a care attitude of twinkle...or the outrageous, wind breaking, friend to stars, mother from hell played by julia walters

the cast it amazing....and many are regulars on tv now from shameless to coronation street...plus guest appearances by thora hird, eric sykes, dora bryan..and even jimmy krankie!

comedy moments such as the frozen sperm in the freezer...norman the breadmans accident on a diving board in guernsey...

everytime you watch you laugh at the jokes you know and yet still have new ones you haven't noticed before..i promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dinnerladies Dish Up A Treat, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: Dinnerladies - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is the second series of the two series comedy, penned by Victoria Wood, about a factory canteen and the dinnerladies who work there.
This second series follows the first in that there is great humour tinged with day-to-day sadness and dreariness. Several plot-lines, begun in the first series, come to satisfying fruition in the second series. The characterisation is fantastic, with Julie Walters' Petula Gordino perhaps stealing the show, but really, all the characters have great lines and wonderful comic moments.
I cannot recommend this DVD enough. It's fine writing, wonderfully acting and brilliant characterisation make this a classic which you will want to watch again and again. Perfect for a Sunday evening, with a cup of cocoa, slice of cake and attitude of hopefulness. Cosy humour that warms the coldest of hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny,entertaining, and dazzling cast, 29 Jan 2011
dinnerladies is excellent,and full of entertainment for any age to enjoy.
my mum watches it, i always watch it, even my 13 year old daughter watches it.
the characters are well played, with well known faces, you actually feel like you can identify with most characters or even know someone just like them.
love it and cant recommend enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Dave Swanton "Swanny" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In this day of reality television, the thought of putting Dinnerladies into the DVD and sitting back to watch each episode is sheer bliss. The characters are all excellent and it does not matter how many times I watch it, it still makes me laugh. Victoria Wood at her very best 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinnerladies - The Complete Second Series [DVD] [1998]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews