Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy is back!
Here's Donny Osmond at his best! For all of you ladies who saw him earlier this year in concert, this DVD will bring it all back! If you didn't get the chance, then you're in for a treat.
Donny does all the songs on his two newest albums, and does them really well too. The best part for me was to see him singing with himself, as a 14 year old!
For all fans,...
Published on 11 Nov 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Brought as a pressie, so don't take my review seriously!
Bloody awful but my partner loves him. Just hope she doesn't make me watch it with her! :)
She was chuffed to bits!
Published 19 months ago by Adam Liddiard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy is back!, 11 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Here's Donny Osmond at his best! For all of you ladies who saw him earlier this year in concert, this DVD will bring it all back! If you didn't get the chance, then you're in for a treat.
Donny does all the songs on his two newest albums, and does them really well too. The best part for me was to see him singing with himself, as a 14 year old!
For all fans, this is a must, but if you don't consider yoursef a fan, you just may be surprised at how versatile he really is. The boy has grown into a man, and what a man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR DONNY FANS, 12 Nov 2003
By 
Sandra Evans (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
FOR ANYONE WHO WAS AT ANY OF DONNY'S CONCERTS EARLIER IN THE YEAR THIS DVD IS A WONDERFUL REMINDER OF THE TREMENDOUS ATMOSPHERE. IF YOU DIDN'T MAKE THE CONCERT TOUR, AFTER SEEING THIS YOU WILL WISH TO HAD!
THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE DVD IS THE DUET OF DONNY NOW AND DONNY THEN TO 'GO AWAY LITTLE GIRL' WONDERFUL STUFF.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step back in time with Donny - Live!!, 3 Jan 2004
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is Donny Osmond at his absolute best. An outstanding performance by an extremely talented artist, who has actually improved with age (though most fans from the 70's would never have thought that possible).
Donny plays to his audience with charm and vitality, making them feel part of his performance. He gives the impression that none of this is for HIM - he is doing it all for you, his audience.
Edited by himself, Donny has ensured that the best shots are what you get. Including footage of the fans reactions to the vision of their teen idol, this show is more than just about Donny singing - it is a step back in time, and Donny takes everyone back with him. The extras include a short documentary, which is just as riveting as the concert (if not, even more so!)
The only thing better than this recording, was the actual LIVE concert.
What a man. What a show! What a genuine, warm person.
An absolute must-have for all Donny fans ever.
Guaranteed to make you feel like a teenager again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and gentlemen, put your hands together..., 12 Nov 2003
By 
Laura "Lu" (BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
"Demons are prowling everywhere nowadays, I'll send them howling; I have ways"
So sings Donny a little way into his concert, and it is true as, for an hour or two, any fan could sit down to this and banish the blues away.
Filmed at London's Hammersmith Apollo (the same venue as the DVD for Eddie Izzard's comedy tour, Glorious), the concert has a far more intimate feeling than many live videos made at arenas, which also serves to amplify the love that is obviously felt between Osmond and his audience.
The camera changes frequently between shots of he and the crowd and this, far from being distracting, adds to the sense of you being there and part of the fun. The picture quality is excellent too - the show is colourful without being overly demanding and the focus is always kept closely on Donny's performances. And in the production, there are some nice visual touches, including at various points lovely and professionally mixed clips (sound and picture, including home movies and clips from the Andy Williams show). These are usually shown when Donny is changing, but continue into Track 12, Go Away Little Girl, seamlessly and also very movingly indeed.
Few unfavourable things can be said about the DVD - except perhaps to warn that many of the songs are taken from his album Somewhere In Time, which is primarily a collection of Love Songs, so those people not fond of love songs in general may not like the content. Also, the fans screaming through his spoken sections grates after a while, but Osmond takes it all in his stride; the whole affair is very stylishly handled.
His performance and the sound are of an astoundingly high standard. The beautiful quality of his voice lends a breathtaking atmosphere to his slower songs, and the theatre is often filled with awed silence from the audience. The fast songs are also pulled off impeccably, leaving you with more than a little of the feelgood factor and most of the songs in your head afterwards! We are made sure very early on that Osmond was, indeed, singing completely live when an over-enthusiastic fan almost pulls him off the stage :) There is a markable absence throughout of the troupe of backing dancers and over-choreography and over-stylising that we associate with pop music now, and this is a great relief, and although it does result once or twice in a bout of "dad dancing", Osmond does prove to be a very good mover the rest of the time. The show is not overly extravagant, but gives you quality music with emphasis on the music rather than the ego of its performer (which in Osmond's case does not seem to be a problem)
Donny switches effortlessly between styles, delivering some spell-binding ballads together with his more upbeat numbers which do not seem at all out of place. His obvious enjoyment of the entire experience makes it as exciting to watch as it must have been live, and one can tell that the audience enjoys it every bit as much. Donny handles them wonderfully, sharing good-natured banter - much of the viewer's enjoyment of this DVD would be in no small measure due to the sense of humour of all those up on stage.
There are 22 tracks in all, ranging from the 70s to the tracks released in early 2003, each and every one a rare treat. Donny's pure delight in being on stage, singing, and having such a good time with the audience, shines through in every song. This helps make his performance surprisingly sexy as well - there is a very funky version of "Luck Be A Lady Tonight", "I Can't Go For That" confirms that he belongs on stage and there is a very subtle cover version of "I'm Not In Love". Particular diamonds are "Go Away Little Girl", a very moving duet, and an unplugged version of "Young Love". His performance of "Any Dream Will Do" is perhaps a bit too upbeat to capture the original feeling of the lyrics, but as it is not part of the musical here it stills stand alone as a 'fun' song. And the audience love it.
Whether or not you have the Somewhere In Time album, this is a must for any Donny fan. There are plenty of songs included that you won't find on that album, and because of the rapport with everyone in the theatre, it's very, very funny and you get the added visual elements too. There is also plenty for the Puppy Lovers and Crazy Horses to enjoy! In addition, the musicians in his band feature strongly too, and the show is the better for not keeping them in the background. Many of the songs feature brilliant solos from at least one or another of them.
The extras on the DVD are well worth seeing - the Gallery is a musically accompained slideshow of the pictures from the Somewhere In Time album, the original trailer for Somewhere in Time follows the documentary, and the Menu also includes a track list for the concert. They give the address for his official website, and also on the DVD is a documentary about Donny and the featured tour, which alone would be well worth buying the DVD for.
The documentary is not only interesting, but amusing and poignant in turn. Watching Donny describe his experiences in his 20s is very moving; seeing his glee, confusion or delight as he encounters his fans, family, friends and coworkers and frequently collapses into laughter is hysterical. Background, dedicated fans may already know, but it still offers insight into Donny Osmond as a person and performer and is certainly highly recommended. The 'split screens' shot of screaming fans that links parts of the documentary becomes irritating after a while, but it does not appear for long and apart from that it is all of very high quality.
Existing fans will love the whole product - Donny is always pitch-perfect musically, his talent is unwavering and he is utterly charming off stage, with no pretences or ego marring his appearance. Hopefully all these things will attract new fans - Donny Osmond is one of the singers who truly deserves them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Donny is all grown up, and how!!!!!!!, 9 Jan 2004
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This DVD is an absolute 'must have' for all Donny fans. I have loved him for 30 years and he just gets better with age.
Watching his face (ooohhh those eyes.........), you can tell he deeply appreciates all the applause and that everyone is there to see him.
His duet with himself singing "Go Away Little Girl" just about brought tears to my eyes. Fantastic!!!!
We get a behind the scenes look at things, even Debbie his wife and son Don are here.
I can't recommend this DVD enough to Donny fans. I will forever have Donny singing in my lounge room now, woooohoooooo!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONNY OSMOND LIVE - FANTASTIC, 5 Aug 2004
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having just fulfilled a 30 year ambition to see Donny Osmond live at Leeds Castle in July 2004, I rushed home and joined his website, eager to purchase anything to do with this childhood hero of mine. I purchased several items, one being Donny Osmond Live. It's fantastic. It reminded me of the concert that I saw, as many of the songs were the same as on his recent Summer Nights Tour. It's a must for any true Donny fan and you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute must for any fan, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is an absolute essential purchase for any fan - the man is talented and this DVD shows him at his best. Not only do we hear some wonderful songs (including many of the classics such as Puppy Love) but it shows the great rapport between Donny and his fans. If you are a fan buy it - if you know a fan buy it for them. If you aren't sure if you are a fan or know one then I'd still recommend you buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, 10 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Well, the smile, those eyes... my heart melted!! again !
Wonderful to relive the experience of those concerts this year, a full two hours of Donny at his best, lots of songs for SIT as well as those lovely favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALIVE AND KICKING!, 9 Nov 2003
By 
Mrs Karen Taylor (Brixham, South Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
'Donny Live' is for everyone across the board, Donny fan or not! You won't need a chair, more likely a hairbrush to sing along, you'll most likely need some tissues to dry your eyes for the wonderful ballads and if you can keep up with this 45 year old live wire when he's bursting with energy it'll be a miracle! I was there at many of the concerts, (look out for Puppy Love)and I feel I am there again! Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Donny delivers!!, 26 Oct 2004
This review is from: Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I had this video last year for Xmas, and although it is many years since I first fell for Donny's charms, this brought back all the old emotions and what a showman. I loved his version of go Away Little Girl which was never a real fave of mine, thats changed now. also Im not in love was a brilliant version. Anyway got to see him live this year 40 odd, first time. He sounds even better this year. A real Osmond fan must. Exellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003]
Donny Osmond: Live [DVD] [2003] by Steve Kemsley (DVD - 2003)
£7.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews