Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The UK version is better than the US one!
I fell in love with this movie when it first opened in theaters and I loved all the music in it, including the score, and particularly the bit where Colin Firth proposes to Aurelia. But when I bought the CD here in the US, all it had what the popular pop stuff! (I guess they figured Americans wouldn't appreciate the beautiful instrumental music? Probably right actually.)...
Published on 4 Dec 2006 by MKG

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent soundtrack but get the UK version
There are two versions of this soundtrack, UK and Import - this is really just a warning to potential buyers! Most of the great tracks (Girls Aloud, Billy Mack) aren't actually on this imported version, and as the UK version is more readily available, I wouldn't recommend this one -- go and get the other! Overall, not a strong album, as it's very sickly-sweet with the...
Published on 28 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The UK version is better than the US one!, 4 Dec 2006
By 
MKG "RockPhD" (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
I fell in love with this movie when it first opened in theaters and I loved all the music in it, including the score, and particularly the bit where Colin Firth proposes to Aurelia. But when I bought the CD here in the US, all it had what the popular pop stuff! (I guess they figured Americans wouldn't appreciate the beautiful instrumental music? Probably right actually.) You guys in the UK got the whole deal. It will be well worth the overseas shipping!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the film get the soundtrack!!!!, 21 Feb 2004
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
I loved the film and unlike most Romantic comedies, where the soundtrack often fails to deliever with typical soppy ballads plonked in the movie, this soundtrack does justice to the movie. This soundtrack was complied with care, the tracks fit the moment in the movie adding greatly to the film, and the soundtrack makes you remember the movie fondly. Even though it contains many Christmas songs its still something to listen to throughout the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great all-rounder with some real talent, 1 Oct 2005
By 
J. Dowling "Jai" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
Sure, this is never going to go down in history as changing the world, but it's a lot of fun. There is some truely wonderful music on here. Sometimes by Gabrielle is lovely, and the Glasgow theme tune is pure poetry. Olivia Olson has the most amazing voice - definitely a star in the making there! Even the Girls Aloud song (not my favourite group) fits in quite nicely and kicks you into gear. The Christmas music drives me a bit potty though - I want to listen to this CD all the time, but listening to Christmas songs in September?! If you like the film, give this a whirl; you could do a lot worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its Very Good, Actually., 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
The soundtrack to one of the most eagerly anticipated movies of the year was always going to be a big deal. This lives up to expectations with an absolutely sterling cast of performers. Having seen the movie, most of the music can be heard at one point or another, and the songs have been chosen to reflect the scenes from the film.
The first track is the cover of 'jump' by Girls Aloud, this could never be as good as the original which is featured in the movie but nevertheless its a fair stab at a real feel good song.This is followed by the superb remix of the sugababes song 'too lost in you', a forthcoming single remix its sensual sound fits in well. Kelly Clarkson follows this with 'the trouble with love is' another good song which again, manages to fit the theme of the movie. No soundtrack would be complete with some less recent tracks by established artistes, Dido's Here with Me is a fabulous ballard. Following this is one of the main themes from the movie, Christmas Is All Around, a spook take on the wet wet cover song, sung by billy mack the character in the movie, its a real novelty song. Justin Timberlake provides some urban grooves with Like I love You. Whilst Norah Jones provides some more warm sensual sounds with her song 'turn me on'. This is followed by Eva Cassidys songbird, again another popular ballard. Other tracks which feature songs from back catalogues include, Maroon 5, The calling, and the beach boys.
One of the more crucial scenes in the movie features both sides now, a beautiful fragile song by Joni Mitchell. Otis Redding provides some seasonal support with White Christmas. Texas provide the sixties sounding ballard, i'll see it through.A classic sounding song, whilst Gabrielle rounds things off with her new track sometimes, which sounds like a usual gabrielle number, but good just the same.
The only songs that dont seem to fit in to this album are the Lynden David version of all you need is love, the beatles version would have been better, and the wycleff jean song, take me as i am.
The final tracks on the album are the craig armstrong score tracks, one of which 'total agony' is haunting.
In the end this is a fine album and with over twenty tracks it can be forgiven for providing the odd song which does not shine as the others do. I Highly reccomend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only David Lynden Hall, 5 Jan 2005
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
I specifically bought this soundtrack for the track 'All you need is love'... which is so fabulous that I shall be walking down the aisle to it on the arm of my new husband. Its such a fun version of the beatles track. As for the rest of the album, its fab too. I loved the film and every track conjures up happy, funny and sad feelings from the movie. If you loved the film - buy it! If you're getting married - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent soundtrack but get the UK version, 28 Nov 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
There are two versions of this soundtrack, UK and Import - this is really just a warning to potential buyers! Most of the great tracks (Girls Aloud, Billy Mack) aren't actually on this imported version, and as the UK version is more readily available, I wouldn't recommend this one -- go and get the other! Overall, not a strong album, as it's very sickly-sweet with the variation missing (the other version has more tracks and more variation) but if you're a collector or want reminding of the film, this one will just about do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best supporting act, 29 Dec 2003
By 
Shelley Wood "shelleybirduk" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
Richard Curtis said "this film is nothing without the music" and he is right, the film is brilliant but would not be nearly as good without the excellent choice of songs put in exactly the right place at exactly the right time.
unlike other soundtracks this contains the songs In the film, not those "inspired by" or what the tea boy had in his walkman that day and a fine collection it is too.
Some of the songs are instantly memorable and recognisable, i know everytime i hear "jump" now ill think of hugh grant dancing.
"here with me" sum up delicious indecision, to admit real feelings and to hell with the consequences or keep quiet and the peace?
The mix of artists is well balanced with well known names such as the sugar babes and the ubiqutous Eva Cassidy, to little known artists such as Lynden David Hall and Maroon 5 both of whom deserve mega mega sucess (and hopefully this album may be the step up they need).
i cant wait till the film comes out on DVD and while im waiting, everytime i listen to this album the scenes from the film come back to me and i leave with a big smile on my face........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good stuff......, 13 Jan 2004
By 
John (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
The 'Love Actually' soundtrack is fun and exciting to listen to.
No doubt there will be the odd track you will not like, as there is such a large range of music.
The reason why it's not 5 stars is because there are a few 'fillers' at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE ACTUALLY IS WICKED BUT THE MUSIC TOPS IT OFF!, 7 Jan 2004
By 
alice (chicago,america) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
The love actually soundtrack was one of the best cds ive bought! it has some amazing songs on it and ther all a mixture which is great. olivia olsen's cover of 'all i want for xmas' is brilliant! considering her age she has the most amazing voice! kelly clarksons song is superb and the sugarbabes song is my favourite song this month! this is a wicked cd and i recomend it 2 ne1 hu wants 2 spend their money wisely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Albums this year, 19 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Actually (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I've brought. I adore this album as it is full of top hits that will have you singing to your hearts content. It is very easy listening. I only gave it 4 stars as there are a few songs that are not as good. It's a pleasure to listen to. This is one of the Albums that you can play again and again and never get bored of it. Buy this Album now! It is one of the best Albums this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Actually
Love Actually by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews