Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chill out surf album
great album, set me off on to other artists. all just chilled jazzy grooves basically, its similar to the soundtrack for jacks' film "september sessions". i'd say get it if you enjoy laid back easy listening stuff by Jack, G. love or reggae inspired stuff like finley quay.
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by nothinghappened

versus
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid j.j. soundtrack
After loving Jack Johnsons 'Brushfire Fairytales' and 'On and On', I was keen to explore his work further by buying this- the soundtrack to Johnson's film of the same name. While it's a pretty solid CD with some decent Jack tracks, it doesn't compare with either of his studio albums. It's still better than the majority of soundtracks around, but I'd recommend it for the...
Published on 23 Feb 2004 by Ed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars solid j.j. soundtrack, 23 Feb 2004
By 
Ed (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
After loving Jack Johnsons 'Brushfire Fairytales' and 'On and On', I was keen to explore his work further by buying this- the soundtrack to Johnson's film of the same name. While it's a pretty solid CD with some decent Jack tracks, it doesn't compare with either of his studio albums. It's still better than the majority of soundtracks around, but I'd recommend it for the JJ hardcore only. Perhaps one of his studio albums would be a better place to start your collection?!
Anyway- still a relaxing collection of tunes worth a listen and with worthy G Love offerings to complement more of the same from Jack Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly entertaining, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: Jack Johnson: Thicker Than Water [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Imagine going surfing with your best mates all over the world and capturing the best footage and making a DVD. This is the essence of the film and the guys are having a blast! Peppered with sentimental reminiscences from their youth, and showing some top surfers like Kelly Slater and Brad Gerlach having fun rides, this film is a chilled out 45 minute nostalgia trip with a varied and addictive soundtrack.

Although shot well and an insight into interesting surfing spots of the world, the best feature to watch is the narrated version - The narrative is actually very informative and brings the film to life and gives it more soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chill out surf album, 2 Aug 2004
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
great album, set me off on to other artists. all just chilled jazzy grooves basically, its similar to the soundtrack for jacks' film "september sessions". i'd say get it if you enjoy laid back easy listening stuff by Jack, G. love or reggae inspired stuff like finley quay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' Jack, 9 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
While I say good ol Jack this is not quite what you get from brushfire fairytales and on and on (it's more balanced, introducing artists whose music all blends wonderfully well and less samey). What I mean by good ol' Jack is that this is yet another fantastically relaxed and mellow collection of songs which when accompanied by a beer as the sun sets on a sunny afternoon creates just the right atmos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent CD., 27 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
This CD is an excellent compilation of some excellent artists. All artists have the same kind of style as Jack Johnson so, Jack fans, this one is for you. Songs with Jack and G Love are especially good. It includes a different version on Jack's song "Holes to Heaven" which is very good and all together it is a good chill out CD. It is highly recomended with his other CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD review, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
Lovely CD - great music. Bought for very personal reasons so was happy with it - no more to add really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Johnson: Thicker Than Water [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this initially because I love the soundtrack. I now love the movie too. A lovely insight into the travelling mind of modern surfers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Jacks other stuff, 6 April 2006
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
It has been said in most of the other reviews but im gonna get my say too!
Stick with 'bushfire fairytales', 'inbetween dreams' and 'on and on'. They are all great. Unfortunately Jack was way ahead of the other artists on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thicker Than Water, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
If you love Jack Johnson mellow vibe. You will love this CD he only has twos ongs on this. However the other artist are quite good on this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 2 Mar 2006
By 
D. Fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thicker Than Water (Audio CD)
Having greatly enjoyed much of the content on Jack Johnson's other albums - all of which I would recommend - I was very disappointed in this compilation. Perhaps I was looking forward to it too much and hoping it would be a good place to branch off into other artists. Unfortunately, none of them come close to matching Johnson himself on the very simple aural pleasure level, which seems to miss the point for a 'relaxed' album like this.

JJ's tracks are fine enough, and 'Hobo Blues' - fad-crackle-tastic though it is - leads the rest of the pack, but there are too many 'skip' tracks to make it recommendable. Perhaps it's lacking something without the surf visuals, but it just doesn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Johnson: Thicker Than Water [DVD] [2003]
Jack Johnson: Thicker Than Water [DVD] [2003] by Emmett Malloy (DVD - 2005)
£14.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews