Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
60
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2005
As you would expect from slasher horrors as they make more the quality decreases. I really enjoyed 1 and 2 and 4, but this wasn't as good. Don't get me wrong it's still scary, but it is slightly lacking in story. I still think it is a good film in the series, but nothing beats the original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
like number 4 i did not see the point in halloween 5. i personally think the only ones that count is 1,2 and h20. however this like number 4 is quite good and watchable. the story continues straight after number 4 where micheal continues this chase to get his neice jamie lloyd. danielle harris i think is a talented actress (and theres no way i could act with a man dressed like him even at the age i am now). still, i think the best performance came from rachel (jamie's adtoptive sister) but that performance happened in number 4, cause rachel dont last long in number 5. a lot of halloween fans were a bit let down by the death of rachel in number 5 as number 4 she became like the new laurie strode. much the same plt as number 4 really where micheal chases jamie. still a good watch and its always worth seeing micheal myers as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Really enjoyed this movie definitely worth getting on blu ray if you like this movie extras are not that great but the movie and sound track on hdef is brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
This wasn't the sellers fault at all, It was under a different list on Amazon.
Really wanted the uncut version of the film, However the DVD wasn't uncut.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
More of the same in a virtual retread of part 4. Watchable yes. But overlong, very. And truly diabolical acting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Super swift postage - a great item at a great price - a thoroughly recommended Amazon seller.
I most certainly will use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
Love these films and on blu ray they look even better than I could have imagined, would recommend to any real Halloween fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Love this film so much! The little girl Jamie is really good. I also like her in the remakes as a teenager.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
i like this movie, but Jamie lloyd should had been the killer in this one. That would have been awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2007
Following on directly from number 4, Number 5 has both the flaws, and the good points of its prequel, making it a respectable horror movie, and superior to the other entries in the series. Like Halloween four, this should now be seen as a strong slasher film in a genre full of rubbish and cliche- it may not be the most original, and it may not have the cinematography, tension or atmosphere of the original, but it does manage some good scares and is one of the more involving knife and run films. And it has Danielle Harris in it.

After the shock ending of number 4, we find that Jamie is now extremely traumatised and expects Michael to appear all the time. She is under constant (though not constant enough) care and supervision, and has lost her ability to speak. Rachel, the other survivor from 4 is sympathetic at the start, but unfortunately conforms to the dumb teen status of her friends. Stupidity it seems, was an enjoyable hobby in the eighties. The various other friends, teens, victims vary from watchable to annoying, most of whom are simply there to satisfy the bloodlust of those people who watch these films. Of course Michael is still around, and the killings begin again. Luckily though (perhaps, as he seems to have got a little Michael Syndrome himself) Loomis is still in the town. He decides to use Jamie as bait to lure and catch Michael, but it now seems that like all good super-villians, Michael is completely indestructible. And he's brought a few friends with him...

Again Harris is superb, so much so that the rest of the cast are made to look like amateurs, apart from Pleasance who descends further into madness. Unfortunately, but unsurprisingly for a man of his talents, he seems to be getting tired with the series. There are enough shocks to prevent the film from becoming another stab flick, but there are the usual unsurprising elements-teens having sex then getting mutilated, characters there with the sole purpose of being killed etc. The scene in the old house where the police 'guard' Jamie is very good, with Jamie showing she may be the only one capable of protecting herself. We see a different side to Michael, just a glimpse, as Jamie tries to get through to him. Again the ending is a shock, though not entirely unexpected, but the man in black thing is intriguing, and the viewer is left wondering what has happened, and what is yet to happen.

The DVD has no real extras, but for fans of the series, or of the first movie who have not watched the rest, this is one to buy, along with number four. They're cheap, but much better than most slashers around in the cinema these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)