Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply: Natural, Simple, Original, Nelly...
It is just a beautifull and soft album. Of course you can identify some aspects in the songs in this cd with nelly herself.
But in my point of view the most cool thing in this album is: seeing the growing of nelly furtado, since she had the child, she gives more attention to the human questions, and that we can see in their songs like: explode, buil you up...
Is...
Published on 30 Nov 2003 by erdna_ferreira

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars growing up in public
Nelly Furtado’s album 'Folklore' had a hard act to follow. Her debut album, 'Whoa Nelly!' stampeded up the charts worldwide and went platinum. That was an eclectic mix of funky contemporary tunes, epitomised by the classic pop song, 'Like a Bird'. Nick Hornby even sang its praises as a definitive pop moment in his '31 Songs'.
She covered all the bases; won a...
Published on 31 Jan 2004 by tone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply: Natural, Simple, Original, Nelly..., 30 Nov 2003
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
It is just a beautifull and soft album. Of course you can identify some aspects in the songs in this cd with nelly herself.
But in my point of view the most cool thing in this album is: seeing the growing of nelly furtado, since she had the child, she gives more attention to the human questions, and that we can see in their songs like: explode, buil you up...
Is just amazing how versatile she can be, but the coolest thing is also her originality that you can see in saturdays (when she laguhs in the song).Comparing this album with the Woah nelly, i think both have their beauty and their own spirit.
My favorite songs in this album are: fresh up the boat (5) she ends with the portuguese language wich is interesting and exotic, and it has also a traditional portuguese folk influences; Força (portuguese) wich means strength and give us a idea: don't give up, don't stop, go; Childwood Dreams is the last one is just beautifull and melodic song very similar to Madredeus style (portuguese group, very known). Well what am i saying???????? just buy this album it is worth it, you will grow in terms of music , trust me....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nelly Furtado : No One Trick Pony, 2 Jan 2004
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
One album I always meant to buy was "Whoa Nelly"....but, for some reason, I never quite got round to doing it. I do remember, however, the constant praise it received for having brought together such a wide range of musical influences. Similarly, "Folklore" borrows and is influenced by a wide range of musical styles. Based on the singles released from "Whoa Nelly", though, I think the two albums must sound very different.
"Folklore" also features a number of guest appearances - all stars, I'm led to believe, in their own fields. However, I hadn't been aware of any of them before I bought this album. One of these guests is banjo player Bela Fleck, who appears on "Forca" - one of the album's stronger tracks. Written specifically for the 2004 European Championships in Portugal, it's also in the running to become the tournaments "theme tune" - if selected, I'd imagine we'll see it released as a single. Largely sung in English, the chorous is delivered in Portuguese.
"Island of Wonder" features a different guest performer - this time, Brazilian singer Caetano Veloso. Less energetic than many of the other songs, it's probably got a better 'hook' than most of them. Something about it reminds me of a couple of tracks from by Paul Simon's "Rhythm of the Saints". In my opinion, this song and the album's first single, "Powerless", are the two best songs on the album.

The Kronos Quartet, more guests, play on several tracks but feature most prominently on the UK bonus track. An acoustic version of "Try", the album's fourth track, I prefer it to the 'official' version !.
Of the remaining songs on the album, the strongest for me would be "Explode" and "Fresh of the Boat". The latter is one of many on the album that refers to her Portuguese heritage and the journey her parents made to Canada. "Saturdays" is another - while it's one that Nelly clearly enjoyed recording, for me it was the most irritating song on the album.
Written, recorded and mixed in about 3 months while Nelly was pregnant, "Folklore" was released in late 2003. I'd probably describe it as a very solid album on the whole, with a couple of excellent songs - in particular, "Island of Wonder" and "Powerless". The range of styles and sounds it incorporates makes well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars growing up in public, 31 Jan 2004
By 
tone (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
Nelly Furtado’s album 'Folklore' had a hard act to follow. Her debut album, 'Whoa Nelly!' stampeded up the charts worldwide and went platinum. That was an eclectic mix of funky contemporary tunes, epitomised by the classic pop song, 'Like a Bird'. Nick Hornby even sang its praises as a definitive pop moment in his '31 Songs'.
She covered all the bases; won a Grammy, opened for U2, collaborated with premier dance DJs and Hip-Hop divas, even had Elton John raving. When does she get chance to draw breath? Well, not only did she draw breath but she gave birth; her daughter Nevis was born in September after nine months production, then 'Folklore' was released in November, after just three.
This album, as the name 'Folklore' suggests, has a nostalgic theme. It explores her Portuguese heritage and multi-cultural upbringing as a first generation Canadian in Toronto, while mixing-in her new perceptions on life in the wake of fame and motherhood. On this album Nelly breaks away from samples and keeps it real, enlisting; the Kronos Quartet on strings, Bela Fleck, uniquely, on banjo and Brazilian maestro Caetano Veloso on vocals.
She described the album as reflecting how she has, “a foot in both worlds” and so she still finds room for some happy hooks, unabashed beats and tunes that pop-up to make that dancing foot itch. But it is a more mature album and that may disappoint the 'Baby Girl' fans. She is 'Trynna Finda Way', moving on, leaving 'the party' that was 'Whoa Nelly' and stretching her wings. She may have thought then that she wanted to fly away but she found she was happiest flying home, artistically and literally, leaving a new California home to return to Canada.

The album is a return home also; Nelly talent has grown as she has grown up. This album is definitely one to grow on, three stars now, the rest will come with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORCA!, 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
This album is unbelievable, I almost urge you to stop reading this review right now and buy the thing this instant, but stick with me a bit.
Nelly's first album (Whoa, Nelly!) was an instant hit, and is still one of my favourites to this day, I hadn't heard any of the tracks from her new album before I bought it, and for me to buy an artists album on the strength of a previous album alone is rather daunting, but I gritted my teeth and went with it, and man I am so glad I did. Folklore is quite simply a work of genius, Nelly has shyed away from the mainstream pop tracks that were on the first album, I dare say that those tracks were insisted upon my the record execs to ensure good sales, she has also toned down a little on the Portugese influence too, again I think the execs were trying to hit two markets at once. But that is not to say that Nelly has ditched her roots altogether, not at all - this album is all about her roots, it's a beautiful insight into her life, her past, present and her family's history.
Nelly is a remarkable songwriter, her lyrics are a fusion of simplicity and depth, English and Portugese, meshed into one, and rounded off with an eclectic mix of guitars, banjos (yes banjos - but trust me, if there is anyone that can get away with a banjo in a song it's Nelly), strings, organs....... I could go on.
The songs themselves are all beautiful, and compliment one another brilliantly. I could comment on all of them, but I will just mention my three favourites - The opening track "One trick pony" is lovely and upbeat, with a gorgeous sweeping strings intro. "Forca" (which is Portugese slang for Go!) is a real anthem, and will have you stamping your feet and singing along. And finally "Childhood Dreams", quite possibly my favourite song of all time, this is a really heartfelt love song, it oozes emotion, the lyrics are beautiful - recorded in an old church using the organs as an intro, Nelly starts off gently with just a guitar and her amazing voice, and building to a soaring anthemic finish - stunning!
Nelly really did have fun making this album and is not afraid to show it - she stumbles over several lyrics whilst laughing on "Saturdays" (a beautiful, simple duet with Jarvis Church about her days spent helping her mother with her cleaning job at a motel), you can tell that it is exactly the album she wanted to make, whereas I feel Whoa, Nelly! was only 60% her and the rest forced upon her. To enjoy this album to it's fullest, I strongly recommend visiting Nelly's website to see what she means and feels about each song and the album as a whole. It really is a very thought provoking album, and Nelly touches on many issues that have been a big part of her life, including racism and poverty, but she is in no way negative and uses the power of great writing to get the message across simply and beautifully.
Nelly has one of the most beautiful voices around, almost feline at times, and I mean that in a good way. In the last few years she has matured and her songwriting is testament to that.
Buy this album.
Forca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely A New Direction, 11 Jun 2006
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
I'm a great fan of Nelly's (probably why I gave this more attention than some others) and really liked this album. I obviously own her first album and I think this is much better. It clearly shows maturity and a sense of individuality. After giving the album a couple of listens I was glad I had bought it on the strength of the 'Powerless' which is by far the best song on the album.

The album version of 'Try' is not as good as the Radio Edit which allows the chorus to soar at the end making it the dramatic love song it always should have been. Other stand out tracks include the upbeat 'Forca' and 'Explode' with it's dark lyrics about childhood traumas: 'Shelley got r*ped behind the MacDonalds, by a man she thought was fine, didn't tell anybody'. 'Fresh of the boat' is an interesting track, if slightly obvious in it's morals.

The final track ('Childhood Dreams') is understated and beautiful in it's simplicity. Accompanied by an organ Nelly's vocals float like a dream over her accompanyment. Simply amazing pop song.

I can see why people do get annoyed by Nelly's voice, but it's who she is and it hasn't changed since her first album so I don't really understand why this album has been criticised and 'Whoa Nelly' hasn't. Definitely an album for true fans and any admirer of folk music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FRESH OFF THE BEAT, 18 July 2004
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
Nelly Furtado returns with a record that is more passionate, lyrically superior and just plain better than her debut 'Woah...Nelly!" 'Folklore' is a real grower of an album, not immediately accessible. It takes a few listens to really get into it, but it's well worth it. There are no obvious mainstream tracks such as 'I'm Like A Bird', which captured the essence of her debut. Instead, the listener finds themself with a collaboration of weird and wondrous styles that make for a pretty cool album.
Opening track 'One Trick Pony' is nothing really special, nothing to rave about. It's the second track, 'Powerless (Say What You Want)' that sets the flow going, a song about not conforming and affirming your own individual sense of identity. Third track 'Explode' is a fusion of rock and Portuguese beats which documents teenage life, and it works brilliantly.
Beautiful ballad 'Try' is unmatched when it comes to vocals or sheer style by anything else on the album. It's perfection, and it is criminal that this didn't storm the charts - but maybe that's a good thing as the singles charts have been rendered almost meaningless. 'Fresh Off The Boat' is head and shoulders above any of the other upbeat songs on the album. Simple lyrics that show Nelly loves the simple life characterise this, and the chorus is infectious beyond belief.
'Força', which became the anthem for Euro2004, is again another strong slice of upbeat music with a catchy chorus. Yes there are lyrics in Portuguese (there are in 'Explode' and 'Fresh Off The Boat' among others) but that doesn't deteriorate from the quality of the song and indeed of the album.
Of the remaining tracks, the beautiful 'The Grass Is Green' and the irresistible 'Saturdays' are the standouts. However, 'Folklore' for me lacks that special something that propels an album into a whole other league. A few of the songs seem to blend into one and sound a bit samey. Nevertheless, with 'Folklore', Furtado has made a magnificent album and blasted her pretty average debut into oblivion with it. Nelly is here to stay, and who would want to get rid of such a unique talent?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Say what you want, but nelly has done it again !, 15 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
Nelly's returns with her very human vocals with the wonderfully entitled 'Folklore'.
Its a thoughtful collection of upbeat tunes with strong messages, and makes a refreshing change from the computer inhanced pulp that saturates our airways. The first single-'powerless (say what you want)' is a zesty, defiant but sensitive exploration, where Nelly reminds us that life is too short to worry about what others think, and uncovers the narrowminded nature of the media and popular culture 'paint my face in your magazines, make it look whiter than its seems... shove away my ethnicity'. The banjo and madoline are used skillfully to create the uplifting beats, accompanied with the accoustic guitar, making this a gorgeous upbeat tune.
The exotic mix of instruments present in 'Folklore' makes Nelly's second album as funky and fresh as her debut was. Although the album seems to run out of steam in the latter half, Nelly retains her emotive lyrics, but the tracks become mellower, and seem to loose the strength that the others have. However Folklore is a great example of how to mix provoking lyrics with the 'hook' so needed for a pop record to be a success. And this time the hook isnt sex or violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa Nelly - a second time round., 30 July 2005
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
The only two songs I'd heard off this CD before I got it were "Try" and "Powerless - Sat what you want." I'd fallen in love with Try, and Powerless, but didn't know who sang Powerless so gave up on ever being able to own it. So when I bought Folklore I was amazed to see Nelly sang it, making me a much bigger fan instantly! This album didn't sound too impressive the first time round, and I kept skipping tracks because I didn't have the patience to get into them. But it WILL grow on you, guaranteed, until you wonder how you never realised its brilliance before. Its beautiful melodies, astounding lyrics and mixture of different textures, cultures and styles make it an upbeat, gorgeous album that you will listen to over and over again. Stand-out tracks are Powerless, Try, The grass is green, Build you up, saturdays and childhood dreams, and the accoustic version of Try is fantastic.
Whether it is better than Nelly Furtado's debut, Whoa Nelly, I can't judge because I don't have the first album, but have read great reviews of it and will definitely be buying it after this! Just try it, and keep listening to it, and you will learn to love it and cherish this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 21 May 2005
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
I bought this album because I've got "Woah Nelly", and I absoloutely adore it. "Folklore" is sufficiently different, but still just as good.
Its one of the best albums I have ever heard, and in my opinion, some of the best tracks are "the grass is green" and "build you up".
Nelly Furtado somehow gets an excellent combination of Folk-y sounds, mixed with more rock-ish music, with rythms that make you want to get up and dance.
Words can't express how great this album is. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 CDs With Something to Say, 11 Dec 2004
This review is from: Folklore (Audio CD)
Born in British Columbia to Portugese Canadian Immigrants, Nelly Furtado joins a long line of Superstars (Celine Dion, Alanis Morissette, Deborah Cox, Tamia, Shania Twain, Amanda Marshall, Avril Lavigne to name a few) as Canada'a latest "it" Girl . I vividly remember Nelly's "Tonight Show" debut when she sang "I'm Like a Bird" live and wowed fellow guest Rosie Perez. That song took on new meaning years later when a 16 Year old Canadian Idol contestant in a wheelchair sang "I'm Like a Bird" in competition and the heartbreaking irony made the judges sob. Nelly returned to the "Tonight Show" on the release of her "Folklore" CD and debuted "Powerless (Say What You Want)" for her American fans. This time the fellow guest being "wowed" was none other than Madonna. And rightfully so. Pop Radio is filled with "Say Nothing" songs and along comes Nelly out of nowhere with a nessage: "Cause this life is too short; to live it just for you; when you feel Powerless; what are you gonna do; Say what you want". Literally, the song is about how the Music Industry Marketing Machine tried to hide her ethnicity to make her "more white" so she'd sell more records: "You paint my face in your magazines; try to make it whiter than it seems; paint me all the way to dreams; shove away my ethnicity". The universal message of course is to stand up for your rights - Speak out, "Say what you want". Another Artist saying what she wants is Pop/Rocker AMBER. Unhappy with the direction that her record company was forcing her to take, Amber took her life and her career into her own hands, founded her own label, and released her latest CD "My Kind of World" independently. Though stylistically closer to Seal and Paula Cole than Nelly, Amber's CD is just as acclaimed as Nelly's. The first Single "You Move Me" has already hit #1 at XM Radio. And there are enough followup Singles here to keep the CD in the charts for the next 2 years! Fans of Independent Women Singer/Songwriters who are not afraid to speak the truth and to stand up for their rights should definitely hear Nelly Furtado "Folklore" and AMBER - "My Kind of World"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folklore
Folklore by Nelly Furtado (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews