Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERBIE!!
Well, its the film that started it all isnt it.
I remember when i was 6 or 7 when i used to watch herbie, and belive he was actually real. Herbie, belive it or not, got me into cars, and the VW Beetle is now, and always has been since herbie, my favorite car.
The acting is good, its very funny, and also has a good moral to it. I even got upset when herbie tried...
Published on 7 Aug. 2005 by wdr2k

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a Love-in for Herbie... the incredible little car who shifts for himself!
The phrase "they don't make 'em like this any more" has become a bit of a cliché, but in this case it certainly applies.

This minor classic proves that there really was a time in which family entertainment movies were made for the whole family. The performances are excellent, especially David Tomlinson makes a gorgeous comedy villain. However, Dean...
Published 23 months ago by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HERBIE!!, 7 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
Well, its the film that started it all isnt it.
I remember when i was 6 or 7 when i used to watch herbie, and belive he was actually real. Herbie, belive it or not, got me into cars, and the VW Beetle is now, and always has been since herbie, my favorite car.
The acting is good, its very funny, and also has a good moral to it. I even got upset when herbie tried to jump off the bridge.
To be honest there isnt a better feel good movie out there.
Its insired me to rebuild and old beetle and turn it into herbie (though, like some of the models they used in the love bug, mine will have a porsche engine in it!!)
The special features of the dvd are good, the making of it was informative and i was quite amazed at the stunts!!
Over all, if you are old enough to remember herbie, then there is not one good reason why 'The love bug' or any of the other films in which herbie stars... shouldnt be in ur dvd collection.
Wil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Car That Could, 26 Jun. 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Douglas is a down on his luck race car driver. Trying to find a new car to race, he stops into Thorndyke’s car dealership, only to be followed home by a VW bug. Soon named Herbie by his roommate Tennessee, Jim is surprised to find that he is once again winning when he drives the little car. But is it Jim’s doing, or is Herbie really responsible? Meanwhile, Thorndyke has become obsessed with this car that continues to beat him at every race and will stop and nothing to get his hands on the car to find out its secret. The final showdown comes at the El Dorado, with Herbie’s fate on the line. If Thorndyke throws everything he can at the little car, can Herbie still win the race and save the day?
I remember watching this movie years ago when I was a kid. It was loads of fun with lots of silly stuff to keep me entertained. Rewatching it as an adult, I found the same parts thrilled me. Guess I’m just a big kid after all. The movie is funny, but with a great heart. The cast give wonderful performances as well. The special effects, while showing their age at times, still often stand up to their modern day computer generated counterparts.
This is a movie that the entire family can truly enjoy together. Get it for your family today. It’s sure to be a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real family classic!, 6 Aug. 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Jim Douglas (played by Dean Jones) is a broken-down, has been racecar driver. But, when he finds himself saddled with an innocuous little Volkswagen Beetle, he suddenly finds that he can get a lot more out of it than anyone thought possible. Jim's kooky friend Tennessee Steinmetz (Buddy Hackett) keeps trying to tell him that this car is special, it has a heart and feelings, but Jim knows that a car is a car, is a car, right? And now that he is winning races, his chief competitor, Richard Thorndyke (David Tomlinson), is out to get that inexplicable little car! [Color, released in 1968, with a running time of 1:47.]
This is a fantastic movie, and a real family classic! I loved this movie as a kid, and couldn't wait to introduce my children to it. As expected, they loved it, especially the scenes where Herbie seemed to swallow Thorndyke and when he "oiled" on his leg! The DVD set is excellent, containing a nice Disney cartoon short, and lots of other neat extras. My family and I all love this DVD set, and highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the love bug, 3 Nov. 2009
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
This is great fun for the whole family. My three year old grandson is a huge Herbie fan and loves this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a Love-in for Herbie... the incredible little car who shifts for himself!, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
The phrase "they don't make 'em like this any more" has become a bit of a cliché, but in this case it certainly applies.

This minor classic proves that there really was a time in which family entertainment movies were made for the whole family. The performances are excellent, especially David Tomlinson makes a gorgeous comedy villain. However, Dean Jones' play is equally recommendable, as the heroic lead is a much less rewarding role in pictures like this - while Tomlinson can just go for full throttle lovable nastiness, Jones needs to provide just the right dosages of heroism, arrogant charm, etc. to keep his character believable and flawed and likeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Bug, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this as a child and wondered how well it had travelled in time, the answer for me is that it hasnt lost any of its charm, and I loved it just as much as I did the first time I saw it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Love Bug, 5 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
We all enjoyed this Disney film. The film looks good on dvd. There are no extras only scene selection via the main menu. David Tomlinson steals the show as a dick dastardly type character and the final third the race scene is hilarious. Good for grown ups and little people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas presiie, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
This came very efficiently. Is in pristine condition. Has been loved by all who have watched it. It is a classic for family fun for all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Love Bug, 29 July 2013
By 
John Hanley "donhanley" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
I had a copy that was burnt out so to say been played thousands and thousands of times scratches we deserved a new copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Bug, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Love Bug [DVD] (DVD)
Received in excellent order and an excellent film to brighten up the day, so thank you very much for the good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Love Bug [DVD]
The Love Bug [DVD] by Robert Stevenson (DVD - 2004)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews