Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated And Amusing, Not Hopeless And Dire
When 'Hope Springs' came out at the cinema it was given pretty harsh reviews. Critics claimed the film was a dire rehash of other romantic comedies with leads that were obviously second choices for their parts. I'd like to dispute this.
The setup is as follows. Colin Firth plays a man trying to escape from his past and his feelings for his old girlfriend Minnie...
Published on 11 Dec 2003 by sydneyemms

versus
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet
This is a sweet comedy that is unlikely to make you laugh out loud but should make you smile.
The three sides of the love triangle Firth/Graham/Driver are well cast, with Driver being especially good as the ex (sort of) fiancee who just refuses to let go of the ever lovely Firth who, having fled to the States to try and get over the break up of his engagement, finds...
Published on 24 May 2004


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 24 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a sweet comedy that is unlikely to make you laugh out loud but should make you smile.
The three sides of the love triangle Firth/Graham/Driver are well cast, with Driver being especially good as the ex (sort of) fiancee who just refuses to let go of the ever lovely Firth who, having fled to the States to try and get over the break up of his engagement, finds himself more interested in Graham's character than trying to patch up his old relationship. The support cast is also funny and quirky as the inhabitants of a small American town fascinated by newcomer Firth. You get the feeling that the cast had fun making it.
It's not perfect - it lags a bit in the middle, although the beginning and end are well paced. I also felt that although we were meant to feel the strongest bond with Graham's character it was not as fleshed out as it could have been or as strong, so she came out as a little dull compared to Driver. Others may disagree.
The extras include a run-of-the-mill 'making of' feature.
If you like gentle romantic comedy and have a fondness for Colin Firth then you will almost certainly like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated And Amusing, Not Hopeless And Dire, 11 Dec 2003
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When 'Hope Springs' came out at the cinema it was given pretty harsh reviews. Critics claimed the film was a dire rehash of other romantic comedies with leads that were obviously second choices for their parts. I'd like to dispute this.
The setup is as follows. Colin Firth plays a man trying to escape from his past and his feelings for his old girlfriend Minnie Driver. He comes to the small town of Hope in America and without even trying falls into a relationship with Heather Graham.
He discovers the people in the town are taking to this eccentric Englishman and becomes involved in their plans and schemes for the future. Even though he's running away from life he finds himself embracing the place and trying to make his relationship with the eccentric Miss Graham work.
The last thing he needs then is the return of his ex, who has her own motives in wanting to win him back.
What really makes this film work are the supurb performances. In the lead roles the three performers all excell. Colin Firth displays all the charm he brought to the screen in 'Love Actually' and 'What A Girl Wants', Heather Graham is as kooky and stunning as she was in 'The Spy Who Shagged Me' and 'Boogie Nights' and Minnie Driver shows the same excellent comic timing that she had in 'An Ideal Husband' and 'Good Will Hunting'.
Add to this the support of such scene stealers as Oliver Pratt and Mary Steenburgen and you have a romantic comedy that can't fail to charm fans of the genre.
It will bring a smile to your face and put hope in your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Romance in America, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
'Hope Springs' was panned upon release by British film critics. Though the film does have a tendency to resort to some lazy British stereotyping, and whilst it is another lighthearted rom-com starring Colin Firth in his usual bumblingly charming role, and Heather Graham in her typecast zany but gorgeous love interest role; the film has been hard done by. Likeable, fairly amusing and sometimes unpredictable, 'Hope Springs' tells the tale of Colin (Colin Firth) an English artist who crosses the atlantic to the small Northern US town of Hope, to escape a failed relationship with his long-term ex, the manipulative Vera (Minnie Driver). Colin soon falls for the sweet, eccentric Mandy (Graham), and his unexpected romance seems to be slipping into happily ever after, until Vera turns up on Colin's doorstep. Mark Herman's direction and script (adapted from Charles Webb's likeable novel 'New Cardiff') keep the film's pace ticking along nicely, and there are a number of good twists and turns in the film, as Colin finds himself torn between the affections and intentions of the two women.

All three leads put in good, if unspectacular performances; the bitchy, yet feeling Vera portrayed by Driver being the best of the bunch. The film is also visually excellent, its cinematography sweeping wonderfully amongst the leafy trees and helps add an extra depth to some of the quieter intimate moments between Colin; both alone and with Mandy or Vera. 'Hope Springs' is not a groundbreaking or astounding film, but nor is it supposed to be. It possesses enough charm, a good enough script, and a handful of clever plot twists which stop it from getting too formulaic and one-dimensional. If gentle, neatly-observed comedy, with a good helping of romance is your thing, then 'Hope Springs' should be on your 'to see' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely enjoyable, 6 Mar 2004
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There are films that are epic demonstrations of how conventional cinema can be pushed beyond the 'limits' of it's time, such as Star Wars in its day, Lord of the Rings over the last couple of years, and other such films. 'Hope Springs' does not pretend to be anything revolutionary or a means of advancing the art of cinema. It is very simply a romantic comedy formed around an age-old method of a love triangle. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.
Sometimes, you don't want a film to lecture you with moral lessons or teach you about history. You just want entertainment for the sake of entertainment, which is what you are given with this DVD. You can read the synopsis of the plot above, so I won't bore you by repeating that. All I can do is say that in my opinion, this is an extremely enjoyable film with subtle but very funny comedy, a touching and slightly complicated love story, and excellent performances from the three leads and the supporting cast to bring it all together. Have a look at this one. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really feel-good stuff, 5 Nov 2004
By 
Bookworm (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Ok, ok, so I love Colin Firth. I'm over 18 and it's not a crime. He'll discover me one day, but meanwhile I just enjoy watching his movies.
This one may not make cinematic history, but it's a lovely romantic comedy with some great lines. I felt good after it had finished and not just because it was Colin. The location is appealing, as are the characters. Above all, though, it was a lovely story. It comes from a book written by the author of The Graduate, so it's got some pedigree.
Give it a try if you like gentle romantic comedies - I'm sure you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i want to give this 4 and a half!!, 4 Nov 2008
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
what a nice film. Surprisingly poignant and humourous, I do think Colin Firth is a pretty great actor and I have to say through clenched teeth that I feel the same way about irritating Minnie Driver!! There was such a nice gentle feel to this film that at the end you wish there was more to come. A great feel good film for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not about sex, if that's what you're thinking. Though it kinda feels like we might., 15 May 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Hope Springs is directed by Mark Herman, who also writes the screenplay from the novel "New Cardiff" written by Charles Webb. It stars Colin Firth, Heather Graham, Minnie Driver, Mary Steenburgen, Frank Collison and Oliver Platt. Shot on location in British Columbia, photography is by Ashley Rowe and the music by John Altman. Plot sees Firth as a depressed artist, who after being dumped by his fiancée, Vera (Driver), retreats to little town Vermont for some R & R. However, when he meets odd care home nurse Mandy (Graham), an unlikely romance begins to form, but Vera turns up to try and put a spanner in the works.

The sort of film that you watch because there is nothing else on and you want a light and breezy time filler before going to bed. For an hour, Herman's film delivers on its quirky promise, boasting genuine laughs, good acting performances and a zippy soundtrack (Ash/Blink 182/Garbage). But then it runs out of steam and you find yourself wondering just what is the point of the central romance? Is it just a case of two people finding each other in unusual circumstances? Because, like, love is everywhere! These basic rom-com values are easy to stomach (why else watch a rom-com?), as long as the comedy is broad and fills out the narrative to the end. But that doesn't happen here and the supporting character actors are badly wasted: very annoying in the case of Steenburgen, who playing the foxy/slinky hotel owner had a character that had the potential to provide more laughs in the story.

On the plus side it's good fare from Firth, even tho it's about as challenging as asking him to read a book, and Graham can't be accused of lacking gusto and petite charm. While "Mr Unique Face" Frank Collison gets a bit more dialogue than he usually does in films. There's also much to enjoy with Ashley Rowe's photography, some lovely choice of colour lenses for the Autumnal back drop. It's a blip on the CV of director Herman, a CV that boasts the likes of Brassed Off, Little Voice & The Boy in the Stripped Pyjamas, but you sense that the material could have made for a great movie. But what started off so well sadly descends into being laborious and unadventurous. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I totally disagree with the person whos says this film is 'absolute rubbish'. When I first watched Hope Spings it was ok, but I watched it again and now I cant stop I love it! Its even better as Colin Firth is in it- but its a really great feel good film. Its not a huge blockbuster but its still great! The characters are well played to and Joni and Fisher are funny to watch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars boring...really boring, 8 Jun 2009
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
From the beginning you know how it is going to end up, but at least you expect something to happen in between...unfortunately nothing happens in this boring boring boring movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hope springs, 3 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Acting superb.loved the comparison betwwen American and English way of looking at life. The book New cardiff is well worth a read either before or after the film. Will certainly be looking for more films taken from Charles Webb books. I think any book linked to a film should be able to be cross referenced ie you can put in the name of the book and the dvd will come up on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope Springs [DVD] [2003]
Hope Springs [DVD] [2003] by Mark Herman (DVD - 2004)
£3.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews