Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Works but its a shame its not USB
This bit of kit works but really annoyingly you have to also buy a serial to USB adapter (which probably costs more) if you don't have a serial port on your computer. The actual cable is solid and I've never had a problem with over 3 years of heavy use. You can use it both ways as it were. It gives and takes GPS info. For final clarification it works with 101 and 201...
Published on 26 Oct. 2008 by George W

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Also suitable for the Foretrex 101
This cable also works with the Garmin Foretrex 101.

I noticed from the Garmin website that their part number for the Foretrex 101 PC cable is the same as this Amazon item model number: 010-10484-00.

[...]

I took a chance and ordered one for my Foretrex 101 and despite the "201 only" title for this item; it works!

Unfortunately,...
Published on 17 Mar. 2007 by Paul Newman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Also suitable for the Foretrex 101, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
Paul Newman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
This cable also works with the Garmin Foretrex 101.

I noticed from the Garmin website that their part number for the Foretrex 101 PC cable is the same as this Amazon item model number: 010-10484-00.

[...]

I took a chance and ordered one for my Foretrex 101 and despite the "201 only" title for this item; it works!

Unfortunately, Garmin do not produce a USB cable, but this does the job and enables you to download firmware updates and use map software and free GPS software such as EasyGPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not be Fooled by title, 8 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
Do not be fooled by the nice cheap price for this that I was. Amazon should learn to advertise correctly. I recently bought the Garmin Geko 201 GPS unit - I wanted to buy a serial cable for the unit. This cable was advertised for the 201 only - but what 201 is it for - cos it's not for the Garmin Geko 201 that's for sure. On the supplied bag it says Forerunner 201/Fortrex 201.
Garmin are a disgrace anyway having incompatible cables like this anyway, but Amazon should also label it's products more clearly. I'm now going to have to package it up and send it back, which is always a major pain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for GARMIN GEKO 201, 25 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
This cable is not for the Garmin Geko 201. There are other Garmin products called 201 - Foretrex, Forerunner etc

For Geko cable you will need the Garmin PC Interface cable wih Item model number: 010-10206-00. If you do not have a serial connector on your PC/laptop you will need a serial to USB converter.

Amazon descriptions are very vague - be careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a garmin gecko 201., 5 Feb. 2007
By 
a "lordbo" (newtownabbey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
This is to add to the two reviews above. This cable although advertised for a garmin 201 only (which sugests there is only one 201) is not actualy for the garmin gecko 201???

Anyway i now have to return this cable due to terrible item description by Amazon.co.uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works but its a shame its not USB, 26 Oct. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
This bit of kit works but really annoyingly you have to also buy a serial to USB adapter (which probably costs more) if you don't have a serial port on your computer. The actual cable is solid and I've never had a problem with over 3 years of heavy use. You can use it both ways as it were. It gives and takes GPS info. For final clarification it works with 101 and 201 in both Foretrex and Forerunner flavours. Still a dumb description by Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works on the Foretrex 101, though, 25 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
It may not work on other devices, but I have a cable apparently identical to the one in the picture which works fine on the Foretrex 101. As far as I know the 101 and the 201 have exactly the same jack socket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Garmin PC Cable (Forerunner 201 & Foretrex 201) (Accessory)
fiddly and drops readings but ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews