Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Effort
George Clooney's directorial debut is not perfect....yet what he has given us is a structured, interesting tale about a game show host turned CIA operative. Starting very strangely with a dirty, naked man in his apartment, the movie progresses through a collection of espionage, murder, comedy and near-insanity that you just can't help but enjoy.
Sam Rockwell turns in...
Published on 29 Nov 2003 by M. D. Hart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much smoke and mirrors
This film is perplexing in that it provides an excellent vehicle for Sam Rockwell's acting talent and as such gives you quite a cinematic ride, but the story itself is, in my view, vapid and a bit silly, and purely out of an entertainment factory without any sense of real life, and not enough charm to compensate. Of course it trades on this unreality in the sense that it...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by schumann_bg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars for once the public were right, 7 May 2014
This film bombed at the box office for good reason. It is not very good, Clooney in his first directorial debut uses too many styles and does not control the direction properly. They should not have let Barris be involved in the film since his story is obviously false and delusional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film - but subject won't appeal to everyone, 3 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I wanted to watch see this film because it featured Sam Rockwell and George Clooney, two excellent actors, and so many film reviews recommended it.
Sam and George did not disappoint, plus several other familiar actors. It is a well constructed film - the scenes, the acting, the way the story is told, the camera angles, lighting, etc make it a satisfying film to watch - probably worth 4 or 5 stars.
However, I'm not sure the film subject will appeal to all - it's about the wierd life of a tv entrepreneur/game show host. If this real life character, Chuck Barris, is someone you've heard of, then I should imagine this film will be fascinating.
But I found it difficult to muster any empathy or interest for him or any of the other characters - hence 3-star rating, not 4 or 5. Reminded me a bit of The Talented My Ripley - good quality film, but no heroes - which is fine, but not to everyone's taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ladies and Gentlemen...., 30 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
...Welcome to George Clooney's directorial debut - and what a cracker it is! It deals with the life story of Chuck Barris, memorable TV host and game show creator who was also, apparently, a spy on the side.
Played incredibly well by Sam Rockwell, Barris comes across as quirky, loveable and a bit of a scoundrel. The film is filled with plenty of humour, sly wit and at times is darkly comic, which not only represents the manic style that Rockewell usually presents, but is also a product of Clooney, who has a wickid sense of humour.
But the humour doesn't get in the way of the serious storytelling. The game show side of the story is the more entertaining, and funny, and while it doesn't hold back on the spy life Barris supposedly held, its a bit wish-washy. The CIA undercover agent is not as clear as his game show host character, and the film does falter a bit here when it dwells on the spy operations.
But just when you might be getting bored, Clooney sweeps you back into attention with humour, and style and with some great cuts between scenes that see characters come in and out of different scenes which were actually filmed all in one take.
Filled with cameo appearances, in-jokes, great performances, this is a great debut for Clooney, and more would indeed be welcome. The DVD extras here contain interesting behind the scenes looks, with Clooney being very informative and honest. For those of you who don't know the real Chuck Barris then there is also a short featurette on the guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Havnt watched film yet but case was broken when it arrived
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good start for Clooney, 10 Mar 2004
By 
David (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Chuck Barris is a television legend in the USA. Now in his 70's he is all but unknown in the UK; although his inventive eye for popular TV gave the world such shows as "Blind Date" [originally known as "The Dating Game"] and "The Gong Show". In the 1960's he was regarded as a talented if frothy light entertainer, whose programmes pushed back the boundaries of bad language and taboo. But he amazed everyone thirty years later by declaring that his TV success had actually covered up a double-life: he had once been a CIA "wetboy", a contract assassin with 33 Hits to his credit.
Most people are incredulous at his claims, which although unlikely (could a famous TV presenter ever make an effective Hitman?) are also quite incapable of being disproved: the CIA refuses to confirm or deny that Barris had anything to do with their Cold War operations. His autobiography was too unusual, too weird not to become a bestseller; but as a screenplay, how would it play? Does the director portray Barris as a nutter seeking attention in his old age; or tempt the audience with the possibility that he is telling the truth?
This is an independent movie made by Miramax, produced by Steven Soderburgh [Sex Lies & Videotape] and directed as a first film by George Clooney. The director pulled in friends and favours galore: Barris is played by Sam Rockwell [Charlie's Angels], the female roles are played by Kirsten Dunst, Drew Barrymore and Julia Roberts; and even cameo roles are taken by Brad Pitt and Matt Damon. With such star-names and with such extraordinary material, surely the Film is a winner?
It's close, but no Cigar. It is well made and tells an interesting story: Clooney should feel proud of his work. However, the original screenplay had the idea of mixing the two views of the Barris "Confession" - is he a nutter or a stone cold killer? - but plainly the decision was taken to edit the movie so that all question-marks about Barris are removed: the entire movie accepts the premise that American television's most popular game show host was a CIA assassin, and so the opportunity to explore other issues about was lost.
This is a "journey" film, one where the audience follows Our Hero through the different stages of his life story. Everyone knows that the secret of a journey film is that, unless the audience empathises with the Hero, they are not going to worry about what happens to him. The movie character of Barris is not someone you would want to spend any time with; and so it is impossible to care about his predicament. The only character with a shred of sympathy about him is a fellow assassin played by Rutger Hauer: who has reached an age in his career when he can convey more in an embarrassed smile and a raised eyebrow than could a dozen teen actors on amphetamines.
The DVD is worth a look, certainly; but would you really want to own it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film from a great book, 12 Dec 2003
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I think I was lucky to be one of the few people who actually bothered to read the book, before watching the film, and after watching the film, I had to read the book again.
The story is a brilliant one, but one which has to be taken with a pinch of salt. Set in the era of the ‘cold war’, it takes its gritty style from films in this genre.
Basically the tale of Chuck Bariss, TV host by day and CIA assassin by night, but the story is so fantastic, that you think, there must be an element of truth in there somewhere, nothing this bizarre could be made up.
If you don’t think you know who Chuck Bariss is, he is inventor of Blind Date and Mr and Mrs and a rack of other commercial TV trash programmes pumped out in the late sixties.
You can give Charlie Kaufman a lot of credit for this adaptation, because the story seems to have been lifted seamlessly from the pages to the screen. Though this not you archetypal Hollywood movie, it is a break from the mundane beat up, crash, pow, kaboom movies that are being produced at the moment, and it’s not James Bond either, if this is what you were expecting then you will find this disappointing.
Bariss in his time was seen as responsible for the dumbing down the middle American society, the inventor of trash TV and he was run out of the US for this. You may not like Bariss, but your not supposed to. He is a self loathing, chauvinistic, egomaniac, and a killer to boot. But because of the huge talents of Sam Rockwell, you begin feel somehow enamoured with this character.
The films lifts a lot of the cast directly from Oceans 11, but they without a doubt a great cast, meticulously assembled by Clooneys team, who himself portrays his character with real flair.
Julia Roberts plays Bariss’ sardonically sexy agent colleague, and you’ll even see Brad Pitt and Matt Damon making amusing cameo appearances as contestants in the dating game.
Rutger Hauer is ideally cast and plays superbly, a character, who had a much closer role to Bariss in the book, but no so much in the film, but for me the real star aside from Rockwell was Drew Barrymore. I have never rated Barrymore, but she really shines as the dropsy, dingle-berry and very patient, long time girlfriend of Bariss.
Not everyone will like this film, and a few just wont get it. But it really is a movie worth watching. And if you get to the end of the movie and wonder, what is it with these hats, then you have to read the book. It’s a fantastic rollicking read, and one which I recommend too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in every way, 26 Jan 2004
By 
Darren Carroll "darren_carroll" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a triumphant directorial dubut for Clooney who must have suprised everone except himself. The direction is confident and assured, he frames the action well without ever encroaching on the material or showing off, 'Look Hollywood, I can direct too!'.
Clooney loved Charlie Kaufman's script but knew he had to recruit top talent for peanuts in order to get it made with him at the creative helm. He was in luck because top talent were queuing up. Who to play Chuck Barris? The first in a string of great decisions by Clooney was suggesting and championing the prodigious Sam Rockwell. In my opinion, Rockwell is the most watcheable actor in a generation, he has turned all his parts in all his films to solid gold. He steals every scene, the camera loves him, and he is perfect for Barris' mutli-layered personality. Along with Clooney himself, Julia Roberts and Drew Barrymore (at a career high), you have a brilliantly cast (and utilised) group of talent.
This film has everything - a fantastic script, great Direction, wonderful acting and begs repeat viewing. The DVD features arn't bad either with excellent deleted scenes giving a little bit more to the story (especially on Barris' first 'hit'). Clooney's commentary is typically dry and humourous like the man himself and gives excellent insight into the creative process and his meticulous approach.
As for Barris himself? CIA killer? I doubt it very much but i could be wrong...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silly, 2 Mar 2012
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
If you want to watch a film about a guy whose life was so vacuous that he had to try to make it interesting by writing an autobiography pretending to be employed as a hitman by the CIA, then this film is for you. What could possibly be more dull than watching a fictional autobiography - one which couldn't even possibly be true? Rarely have I seen a film so bad that I can't comprehend why anyone else would want to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Confessions, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This movie is a bore fest. I didn't give a damn about any of the actors in this movie as they were either two dimensional or completely without charm. As the director (and as an actor) George Clooney brings no heart or warmth to the story. The only good thing I can say about it is that I enjoyed the 3 or 4 minutes Rutger Hauer was in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull and uninteresting, 9 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Everything i'd heard about this film before i saw it was all good. Also, with an all star cast i thought that the film would be worth watching. Unfortunately, i was wrong.
Confessions of a Dangerous Mind follows Sam Rockwell who is a game show host by day and a CIA agent by night. That is basically the plot to this strange and boring film.
The film is seemingly meant to make you think. You don't know if Rockwells story is true, or if he made it up in his head. I normally like films that have interesting twists that make you think, but not this one. I never enjoyed the film so i'm not going to waste my time thinking about if it really was just a made-up fantasy in his head.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to see this film but if you do anyway, remember i warned you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003]
Confessions Of A Dangerous Mind [DVD] [2003] by George Clooney (DVD - 2003)
£4.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews