Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Wilson plays Paul Weston
The playing and the outstanding Paul Weston arrangements performed by John Wilson and His Orchestra on this CD is a must for those who like to hear music played really well (and no vocals). Paul Weston's son was involved in going through his father's arrangements with John Wilson. I own most of Paul Weston's recordings,and listening to John Wilson's interpretations of...
Published on 5 Oct 2006 by Tony R.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average in all respects
Lack lustre arrangements. no musical big band drive. just poor. very disappointed. Expectations were high a fan of john
wilson
Published 4 months ago by dennisrandall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Wilson plays Paul Weston, 5 Oct 2006
By 
Tony R. (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
The playing and the outstanding Paul Weston arrangements performed by John Wilson and His Orchestra on this CD is a must for those who like to hear music played really well (and no vocals). Paul Weston's son was involved in going through his father's arrangements with John Wilson. I own most of Paul Weston's recordings,and listening to John Wilson's interpretations of Paul's music is uncanny,you can't tell the difference apart from the modern recording.Buy it and you won't be disappointed.John Wilson has also recorded a CD of Geraldo's arrangements,this also is worth listening to. If you ever get the chance to see John Wilson giving a live performance with an orchestra make the effort to go you will really enjoy it. I am lucky as he appears quite regularly with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, he has a great personality.
Tony R.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful listening.....just Wonderful!, 9 May 2009
By 
A. Devlin "anndev" (Philadelphia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
This CD is one of my favourites and I already have a collection of good music. John Wilson is a genius at recreating good arrangements of fine tunes and making more of them. Paul Weston gave us this treasure and John Wilson and his Orchestra have made them great. I can put it on the CD player and let it repeat all day... I am so glad I discovered this. You should too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 2 Dec 2009
By 
J. Lucy "moviemogul" (kent, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
this is music at its best. the john wilson orchestra
is second to none in this day and age. if you (like me)
are fed up with the junk the purports to be music today
buy this cd and re-live the golden ages past of "proper"
music. - similar cd by same orchestra is "the arrangements
of "geraldo" - a first class music experience. this is a young
leader with a vast knowledge of music recently seen on bbc
in an extravanganza of music from the musicals. great stuff.
buy and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Womderful music, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
Another wonderful cd from this amazing orchestra. They really bring the past back to life and are greast to listen to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wilson at his best, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
Absolutely love this CD. Like the music of John Wilson and his arrangements. Saw him at a live concert, brilliant. Recommend this to anyone who likes orchestral music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really lovely echo of the past!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These orchestrations take me back 40 years! I recommend it to anyone who likes easy listening music that's brilliantly performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
For those of us of a certain age (!), arranger Paul Weston produced some excellent musical arrangements to back the artists of the day. John Wilsons recreations are superb. The mix of the seductive string section with a full swing band is absolutely right and should bring up the goose bumps on all enthusiasts of the genre. An excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars relaxing to listen too, 25 Dec 2012
I have just received this as a Christmas present and it was perfect opening Christmas present music! I shall enjoy listening to this again and again I think. I saw John Wilson on tv when he was at the Proms and have become a fan - so lovely to see the huge enjoyment of the orchestra under his leadership, it made watching such a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Heaven, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
I cannot find a fault with this product,beautiful music and a fantastic orchestra all piled into one.just sheer magic,wow great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wilson Orchestra plays Paul Weston arrangements, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston (Audio CD)
This CD is a real treat for those who love the sound of either the John Wilson Orchestra or Paul Weston. Paul's son Tim brought these arrangements of his father's to John Wilson so that the lovely evergreen melodies could be recorded in stereo with a much bigger orchestra than Paul could muster for the recordings. And what a treat it is! Paul Weston often used to emphasize a particular instrumentalist in his arrangements against the orchestral background, and John Wilson's orchestra has done the same. The arrangements here are unmistakably those of Paul Weston but given the crisp modern John Wilson sound. Thanks to Michael Dutton at Vocalion (a Dutton Laboratories label) there are nearly 70 minutes of romantic music here from 23 tunes that most listeners of that era will know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston
The Classic Arrangements of Paul Weston by John Wilson (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews