Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where do they go next?
Having bought and liked the first album from busted, i went out and bought their second effort, 'A present for everyone'. I was pleasantly suprised at the development that busted have taken since their arrival in the charts with the almost geekish 'What i go to school for'. Their sound is an improved rockier one, with darker, teen angst songs that will no boubt hit the...
Published on 20 Nov 2003 by dickspat8

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Busted - Better than S Club Juniors that's for sure...
To be fair i don't blame the guys from busted, they seem normal enough. Ieven thought a few tracks were ok musically. But lyrically.....oh dear. Idon't know about everyone else but i don't really give a damn about wheredavid is to be honest. And if you have to call a title of a song "Nerdy"then there's serious issues there. But also to be fair there are probablylots of...
Published on 21 April 2004 by dragonflamz


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where do they go next?, 20 Nov 2003
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
Having bought and liked the first album from busted, i went out and bought their second effort, 'A present for everyone'. I was pleasantly suprised at the development that busted have taken since their arrival in the charts with the almost geekish 'What i go to school for'. Their sound is an improved rockier one, with darker, teen angst songs that will no boubt hit the spot among the, all too documented, suppressed teenagers in this country.
Typical topics are confronted throughout the album, which most teenagers will relate to, such as looking for and losing love, being a geek, and having girlfriends which are geeks('She wants to be me' showing the latter in an amusing fashion). All of this culminates in a more mature sound throughout the album; and without the risk of losing their target audience.
Particular praise must go to 'Why', solely sung by Charlie, which starts off as a ballad and develops into a fast paced rant about love and the shortcomings of it. Another particularly striking song is '3am', which again tackles the subject of love and shows off their more rockier sound.
Disappointments of the album are 'Air hostest' and 'Crashed the wedding' which both show that they have not totally rid of their immaturity. Also the topics they tackele do get repetetive, and i question whether at their age they have experienced all that they claim. Apart from this the album is an enjoyable listen, which does show a development from their self titled debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!!, 26 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
All you people who claim this to be a rubbish album must be about 70 years old and have hearing problems- Busted are the best band around at the moment and in my opinion are just as good, if not better, than Blink 182. Busted came 3,2, and first place in cosmo girl's 101 most wanted guys and also won "Best band in the world- ever" in smash hit's poll. I don't see greenday and blink winning any of these awards.
Their light hearted lyrics and catchy choruses really get your head nodding, and rocked-up numbers like "3am" make you want to jump up and dance.
This album is totally worth the money- I got it a couple of days after it was released and I still love to listen to it everyday, all the way through.
Those people who critisise Busted for "immature lyrics" and "punk wannabes", you belong in an old folk's home or the "Deaf/ Blind department" at the nearest hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good effort boys., 7 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
When I initially heard this album I acknowledged the obvious progression in their song writing direction. The songs are a lyrical equivalent of the young American teen movie genre: with moments of fun, sadness, and overt boyish anxiety concealed with humour: "So baby tell me now do I need to measure...?" Baby, and what indeed do you think you need to measure? Fortunately not too obvious so the littlies in their fan base will be able to remain innocently oblivious to any sexual references!
This album is different from its predecessor so it would be pointless to offer a direct comparison. However, I've noticed that the song writing has been split more equally on this album, so it's good to see a group effort.
I'd recommend this album for any music lover's collection as it offers an eclectic mix of young, fresh punk/pop, demonstrating a real appreciation of lyrical manipulation and mercuriality.
It certainly would be a good present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Stuff!, 9 Feb 2004
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
This is just as good as the first busted album, if not better! There's more tracks on this album including the brilliant 'Over now' and 'Better than this'. Busted have a more mature sound on album, and James' vocals on 'Can't Break Thru' are fantastic. If you're a true Busted fan, you'll be totally addicted to this...I am!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Present For Everyone - Its sure is!!, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Ms. C. Andrade (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
I brought the album on the day of release and having waiting for ages i knew i wasn't gonna be let down!
Air Hostess reminds me of Dawsoons Geek; the tongue in cheek humour abd brilliant lyrics, Who's David and 3am are superb tracks
She wants to be me is one of my faves but the tracks that i feel really showcase all their voices are why, meet u there,nerdy, loner in love, falling for u and fake. They are all very good and have funky lyrics, also some are more seriuos and deep than others
Its a must for every busted fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who cares if it's pop or punk?!, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
Who cares if it's punk or if it's pop, noone can deny that they are a marketing dream. Whoever thought this one up clearly saw a way of making a quick buck and good on them. They've got three lads, all undenyably good looking, got them to write hilariously funny (and catchy) songs and made a considerable amount of money in the process. Who cares if it's as cheesy and manufactured as "pop idol" because if they are giving people the music they wanna hear then good on them. We'd all like to be in their shoes, they are young, talented and loaded.
This album shows a different and more polished side to the band and the standout tracks are '3am', 'crashed the wedding' and 'why'. Some say they are an insult to the world of punk but if they are making succesful albums, then does it really matter?
Theres a stigma attached to being a busted fan. If you ever admit to liking this band then youseem to have your "proper punk fan" label stripped of you. There shouldn't be because again they've made a cracking album thats selling like hotcakes and they are having fun in the process!
Don't waste your time pretending to think it's a con, refusing to buy their albums and protesting that you hate them. Your not fooling anybody! I can't wait for the day that people accept this band for who they are and appreciate that they make undenyably popular and catchy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of pop, 20 Dec 2003
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
By no means am I a Busted fan, but on reading some of the reviews here I feel I have to address the balance.
Busted are a pop group. Never have they claimed to be anything else. And this is a great pop record. And at least they attempt some kind of musical input.
If you're a rock fan then obviously you're not going to like this record, albeit for snobbish reasons. But at the end of the day, Busted have acheived exactly what was intended by this record and I think they deserve a bit of credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Busted..., 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
I'm 24 and probably the oldest reviewer doing Busted, but who cares, I'm fixated! I was given this album as a surprise gift and from the moment I put it on I was hooked.
Busted, as other reviewers have noted, have grown up - but they don't do it crudely. Potential obscenities have been replaced by sweet little sound effects and the sexual overtones of several songs will go over the heads of younger listeners. Each track brims with enthusiasm, and you can tell that the boys really enjoyed making this album. They sing about real life, and real experiences, and you warm to them for their frankness. "Air Hostess" replaces "What I Go To School For" as the boys graduate into the grown-ups' league; the angst of "You Said No" is painfully inherent in "Fake" and "3am". What comes over in this album is painful and humorous honesty. "I find your sense of humour spiteful, it shouldn't make you proud" (Who's David) alongside classics like "I messed my pants when we flew over France" (Air Hostess).
There are no trips to the Year 3000 on this album - but the Year 2004 should be a good one for the boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very solid follow up. Rock on!, 23 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
It would be easy to dismiss this album as another piece of trashy teenage pretty-boy pop, however that would be very unfair. The upbeat numbers like “Fake” and “That thing you do” are infectious, “Air hostess” and “She wants to be me” are silly yet entertaining and “who’s David” displays the band’s characteristic sympathy with teenage heartache coupled with a catchy hook that you’ll be humming in your sleep. However this is not just cheeky pop-rock, the acoustic “Meet you there” demonstrates that they do have a range, however for me the stand out track is “3am”. It sounds mature, powerful and could show the way forward for when Charlie starts to lose his good looks, Matt’s gurning is no longer amusing and they have to concentrate more on ability to sell records, for there is no doubt that these lads have ability. In short if you liked the first album you’ll like this, but even if you didn’t its worth a try, definitely a present for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a present for everyone, 30 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Present For Everyone (Audio CD)
This new release from Busted is definately an improvement on the last album. The involvement of new writers Fletcher/ matrix has given the band greater depth, although James Bourne is more than capable on his own. Busted now attract a wider age range of fans, from 10 to 25, but even the older generation enjoy their harmless antics. Its a breath of fresh air compared to the aggression in todays music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Present For Everyone
A Present For Everyone by Busted (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews