Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRENGTH IN SIMPLICITY!
Phew, this is heavy! Comparisons are often made to Biohazard - but Hatebreed are less experimental, less hip hop influenced and crucially only employ one vocalist as opposed to Biohazard's 2 pronged attack.
There isn't a great deal of variety, but when is there in Hardcore?!
The genre has it's own limits, but here HB play to the strengths.
The riffs are...
Published on 26 Jan. 2009 by Adam Jackson

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore (light) for the MTV Generation
First things first, do not be put off too much by the slight inaccuracy of the title of this review. Firstly I know Hatebreed are not exclusively seen as a hardcore band and are sometimes classed as `metalcore'. Secondly, Hatebreeds riffs are down-tuned AND heavy..and..er..thats about it really! Don't get me wrong because main man Jamey Jasta has done a lot for metal and...
Published on 12 Mar. 2010 by A. Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise for more Hatebreed magnificence!, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
Hatebreed's debut album Satisfaction is the death of desire was released in 1997 on Victory records. It then took the band 5 years to release their sophomore album Perseverance after a couple of changes in the band and a sign-up to the major label Universal records in 2002. The album was a progression for the band with a heavier sound and a more focused brand of hardcore. This album follows on just 1 year after that release so whereas the last album was prepared for 5 years this has had barely any time in the making compared. So it is completely understandable why this album has such a similar sound to Perseverance with very little development for the band with their sound. I am not complaining about this at all. Perseverance was a brilliant hardcore album and this 1 follows suit. I've never understood why bands who have a great sound suddenly change it just so they can say their sound has progressed/developed and it sounds far worse. Linkin Park are a cracking example of that. I am a big believer of 'if it ain't broke don't break it', so I've no problem with this choice the band made. I enjoyed the last album and I certainly enjoyed this 1 too!

This album was recorded as a foursome because Lou 'Boulder' Richards - guitarist had left the band due to personal problems which left the band with just 1 guitarist. This however does not affect the sound at all and it sounds as thick and as full as the last album did.

The album's name The rise of brutality is reflected in the artwork - the cover has pictures of Jesus carrying the cross, Romans, a man with his head down in angst and a chimney stack spewing pollution. The back has a priest praying and barb wire covering the top of a fence. Inside depicts a riot with an armed riot squad. The album's main theme is different to the last album. Whereas Perseverance was mainly about pushing through bad times with your head held high this album focuses more on the brutal and cruel nature of humankind; morally bankrupt, and how disordered and messed up this world is.

The album literally carries on from where the last one ended with the song Tear it down which was an instrumental for the end of Perseverance (album). Some of the songs have notes next to them in booklet where Jamey Jasta reveals his thoughts on the inspiration for the songs. One thing I will say is that Jamey has never sounded so good vocally as he does on this album. The first track slams the listener into submission as soon as the first scream is heard with lyrics like "For once just stand the f*** up and fight!". It's the shortest song on the record at 1:47. Straight to your face really has us prepared for the sound of this whole album. Jamey ends with his trademark "blah!" which I love. Facing what consumes you is the hardest yet and one of the best. The chorus is amazing; "Doubt me, hate me, you're the inspiration I need". Live for this was 1 of the 2 singles and definitely a memorable track. Not as heavy as the last but it has a great sound and a chorus to match; "Every drop of blood, every bitter tear, every bead of sweat, I live for this". Doomsayer is great with a powerful sound like hammers to your ears and is one of my favourites. It's got a pretty long outro which is unusual for this band. Another day, another vendetta is another of the best songs which really describes Jamey's view on how destitute the world is with lyrics like "The question they keep asking me, how can one so young be so bitter and angry?, well the answer is plain to see..." and a hard-hitting amazing chorus. It's a negative song but the lyrics are also so positive too which is something this band excels at. A lesson lived is a lesson learned starts with a humorous "Do it" followed by a scream. Another strong track with a solid chorus. Beholder of justice is up there with my top 3 favourites. It speaks of the injustice of this world with Jamey yelling "Beholder of justice, who have you abandoned... why have you forgotten us?"! This is now has a very upbeat sound and was another single. It's another really memorable track with a powerful, influential chorus; "This is now, how can I change tomorrow if I can't change today?... if I control myself I control my destiny". It's another track that portrays why I love this band with such a power-house sound and brutally honest, motivational lyrics. Voice of contention is 1 of a couple of less exciting tracks with a slower sound. It is still a decent song. Choose or be chosen picks up the pace with a fast rhythm and a great, rhythmical chorus. One of the most memorable tracks. Confide in no one is a song to learn from with a fantastic sound with a double sound, dubbed vocals in the verse which is really effective and sounds so good. The chorus is simple but gets the message across! "Confide in no one... confide in nothing" Jamey screams. I can relate!

The bonus track Bound to violence, which appears on the soundtrack for the movie The Punisher (2004), is a solid song with a strong sound. It isn't of any less quality than the rest of the songs on this album. The rhythm is almost catchy, the chorus is powerful and there is some very impressive lead guitar which comes in halfway through - a positive experiment by the band.

Another great album by this band with the continuation of a powerful and effective hardcore sound that fans like myself enjoy and value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best- but still excellent!, 19 July 2007
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
Hatebreed are the best heavy metal band ever! This album isn't as good as previous albumbs, but still gives you that good dose of hatebreed attitude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 17 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
This album has gotten mixed reviews in the press, so when I listened to it I was expecting a very varied album. But no this album is not varied, its very consistent. Consistently incredible! Every song is brutal and heavy, a soundtrack for moshing exactly as it should be, the best track coming in the form as the crushing anthem, This Is Now. This is what heavy music should be like, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rise, 11 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
Hate breed the rise of brutality..what can is ay about this album other than wrap your god damn ears around it right now....it slays!
The rise of brutality literally is just that...it's fast and it's heavy and brutal as hell so please if you like your music heavy then this is the album to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brutal!, 12 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
Awsome...It lives up totally to its name, its completely amazingly brutal full blown ass ripping metal 'stuff.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HARDCORE AT ITS BEST, 15 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
BUY THIS ALBUM ITS PUR HARDCORE AT ITS BEST IM NOT GOING TO BITCH ABOUT THE DETAILS JUST BUY IT ITS KILLER THE BEST HARDCORE CD IN YEARS 11 OUTOF 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars H A T E B R E E D, 11 Nov. 2003
By 
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
this album is the heaviset album they eva made. amazin. heavyier music then any other band i kno !!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well well hatebreed have outshone us yet again, 17 Nov. 2003
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
well i too thought that after perseverance it cudnt get much better but they truely have!!with crushing riffs and pulsing drums you feel at one!! join us!! *evil grins and invite to join the mosh*
come onn!!! this will definately be a good investment at this price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Brutal, 8 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rise Of Brutality (Audio CD)
This record was awesome it was just as good as preservance it is heavy thrash metal music. I saw them in concert before and believe me they really kick @$$. I would rate this 10 out 5 stars if I had the choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rise Of Brutality
The Rise Of Brutality by Hatebreed (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews