Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Staggering, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Sally Ann Beaver (Derby, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
What can i say? These guys are incredible. I recently went to go and see Billy Talent at Rock City in Nottingham. Sitting in the car i pulled out my ticket to see in small print "with guest" and sat there, listening to a country radio station pondering who on earth it might be, and how bad the support might be. I was not disappointed.
The Holiday Plan didn't steal the show, but, goddamnit they sure give Billy Talent a run for their money in my eyes. Meeting every passionate scream with their own heartfelt turmoil, the Holiday Plan were the highlight of my evening.
This EP is wonderfully polished, it sits their in my record player and gleams, every note and harmony sparkling through my speakers.
If you really want something to compare these guys with then i would say Hundred Reasons with just a pinch of Taking Back Sunday, just a pinch mind, and a nice healthy dollop of passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great EP!, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
Outstanding EP. My band did a gig with them in Stratford-upon-Avon, England. They are a really great bunch of lads and their music is incredible. This EP is definitly worth the money and it is surely only a matter of time before they become huge. Not one of the four tracks is a let-down and they are all outstanding.
This is the first EP that I have heard that I would place within my favourite CD's.
Giving Up: Up tempo, happy song. Superb lyrics 5/5
Everyday is Winter: Great Emo song. Great verse! 4/5
Combat: Slower song. Nice guitars. 5/5
Around my Wrists: They deserve to make it big for this song! 6/5!
Overall, this EP is superb. If you are into any nu-metal, emo or punk groups (to name but a few), you will really like these guys and for the price of a single, go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars emo moves into the next generation, 21 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
This lot seem to have ignored the last 10 years of underground American stuff and cut straight back to hardcore sounds of the late 80's and early 90's for inspiration. "Every Day's Winter" on this EP is a blend of many of the greatest moments in the hardcore handbook and for that we should immediately offer respect to East Londoner's The Holiday Plan.
Vocalist is reminiscent of Minor Threat's Ian McKaye and at times although very shouty the 4 tracks on this EP could have come from classics such as Fugazi's Repeater. It's an excellent debut all told, crunching riffs, soaring vocals - The Holiday Plan above everything else sound like a band you can truly believe in and in an age of manufactured junk - that counts for gold dust.
They're very young as anyone who caught them on the Thrice tour will have seen - expect great things from this lot for many years to come. They can only improve and have already started with a cracker - "Giving Up" and "Combat" are what Hundred Reasons should be doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're not just pretty faces!, 20 Oct 2003
By 
Cornelia Huber (Feldkirch, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
An up and coming band from North London to look out for - energetic and sparkling post punk that rocks it hard!! Highly recommended if you are into the likes of Jimmy Eat World or Hundred Reasons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good and different, 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
I recently went and saw Billy Talent at The Cockpit in leeds and these were the opening band. These have a unique style and are incredibly amazing live. This single must be bought by people who like slow punk rock/fast punk rock. Also Billy Talent are amazing and buy there CD aswell. You won' be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 19 Aug 2007
By 
Christopher Redman (london, england United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
I decided to write this review in order to give an insight into this amazing band and the best of their releases. They are sadly not together as The Holiday Plan anymore but have started playing again recently as Stay Puff (myspace.com/staypuffrock) and should have an EP out sometime soon. I know the singer/bassist Matt quite well and he is honestly a really funny and amazing guy and so are the rest of the band. Unfortunately they, like other young and talented bands, were messed about by a major label who dented the bands faith in the music industry. Lets just say if your band was put into a TV show for pop bands an your a rock band you'd be pretty pissed off!

History aside, THP play a brand of punk rock / emo that is highly catchy and infectious yet still retains the rawness of being an underground band. Matt's vocals switch effortlessly from singing to jagged vocals that recall the punk / hardcore bands of the early 90's. Musically the band are awesome mixing a range of styles that fits together so perfectly creating their own unique style. They know how to rock and if you ever had the pleasure of seeing them live then you'll know what I mean!

'Giving Up' is a hook-laden corker beautifully describing the heartbreak of a failing relationship. I know how emo cliche that sounds but I cannot help but identify with Matt's lyrics 'I wish I'd given up when there was no more reason why I still had to try'. You can really feel the raw emotion that he feels when he sings those lines and realise that he truly felt the pain of those words.
By the time that 'Giving Up' has finished and your not blown away then prepare for 'Everydays Winter' my favourite THP track. The intro is actually amazing and never fails to send a shiver down my spine. The song describes the mundane acts of life and never seeming like we're going anywhere with it all. Musically it takes you on a journey from the blistering riffage of the intro to the post-rock-esque instrumental and epic finale. Words fail me as how to describe this beautiful song.
'Combat' slows it down it a bit which isnt a bad thing! You can hear the unique range in Matt's vocals which are hard to resist just singing along to. The meaning behind the lyrics is slightly obscure but in short tells the story between two friends and the resentment that can sometimes build up. It's a great song that cements this tight EP even further.
'Around My Wrist' is a great song to end the EP as it rocks but still has that raw emotion that goes straight to your heart. The lyrics capture heartache perfectly as its about trying to hold on to the person that you love even though you think its gonna break you. Matt's vocals are on top form again as he shouts his way through this until your left wondering can they top this awesome piece of emotional rock! No they didnt but their other EP comes very close so it's definitely worth buying too. Its just that with this CD everything is just perfect added to the fact that I can identify with the lyrics on so many levels. This isn't your average emo band okay so dont write them off until you've heard this awesome EP!

Thank you for taking the time to read my review ( I know it was long, but I wanted to provide an insight into this band that not many other people could do )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU NEED THIS IN YOUR LIFE!, 15 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
The Holiday Plan are an amazing band! and their talent shines through on this ep! each song is individualy perfect in its own way! when i first heard this ep! i was shocked at the quality! it is so damn awesome! yet the band where unsigned! but thankfully all is well with the world and they have been and have an album coming out soon! This Ep is only 4 songs yet i would be happy to pay the price of an album for it! YEP ITS THAT DAMN GOOD! I truely have a love for this band and can't reccomend this highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really loved this album- everyone has to buy it, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Mr G Malik (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holiday Plan E.P. (Audio CD)
It's an excellent blend of punk and emo, with words that you can sing along to and music you can mosh to. If moshing isn't your scene you can always just stand back and let the music wash over you. If you don't like this you really need your ears checked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holiday Plan E.P.
The Holiday Plan E.P. by The Holiday Plan (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews