Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Bruce Springsteen-Limited
Having purchased all three Springsteen compilations (original `Greatest Hits', `The Essential...' and later `Greatest Hits`) I have to say that `The Essential Bruce Springsteen' is probably your best bet for your first try of what he has to offer. You get a wide selection of tracks across two CD's that are fairly representative of what his music is like. Any compilation...
Published on 13 Oct 2009 by Spider Monkey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bruce Springstten
Only complaint is that there is a three CD version instead of the two CD version that I bought. I would have bought the three disk version if I had realised.
Published 12 months ago by Anthony H


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner all the way, 24 Mar 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Essential Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD)
Although not comprehensive, this 2-disc set is a very good introduction to the magic of Springsteen, one of the few timeless and authentic rock legends of the last three decades. Unlike for example Lou Reed, Springsteen is also a legend that never disappoints.
Disc One takes the listener from his promising early excursions like 1973s Blinded By The Light and 4th Of July through 1975s brilliant rock anthem Born To Run and 1978s awesome rocker Badlands, the gloomy ballad Darkness On The Edge Of Town and the defiant tone of The Promised Land through to 1980s majestic song The River (I really miss Wreck On The Highway here) and 1982s melancholy and brooding Nebraska.
Highlights on Disc Two include the powerful rockers Born In The USA and Glory Days, great hits like Dancing In The Dark, Tunnel Of Love and Brilliant Disguise. For me the most impressive songs here are the introspective numbers like Streets Of Philadelphia and The Ghost Of Tom Joad. Lonesome Day with its country feel, Mary's Place with its horns and The Rising are beautiful and moving too.
The chronological sequence was a good idea as one can follow the development of Springsteen's career through the changing sound, the varying themes and the ever more serious approach. Obviously not compiled for completists who will have all the albums and box sets anyway, The Essential Bruce Springsteen is perfect for those who wish to have the most of his best in one place. It's a winner through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Bruce Springstten, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only complaint is that there is a three CD version instead of the two CD version that I bought. I would have bought the three disk version if I had realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but miss somethin..., 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It contains a very good retrospective of long career of The Boss! The initial years are very well done on this cd. In the eighties bruce got so many good songs that I almost apologize the miss of "Cover me", "Hometown", "going down","Tougher than the rest", " I wish I was blind" and so on. I think you can add the cd "Born in USA" to your purchase and so you are more inside. But no doubts, "The essential" is better than "Greatest Hits"!! Enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Intro to Springsteen, 19 Oct 2009
By 
D. Wallach (PEACEHAVEN UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential - Limited (Audio CD)
Very good intro to Springsteen pre Working on a Dream. Try and get the 3 disc special edition as this has some gems on it you will only hear if you go and see him live (Trapped etc). Has enough exclusive material to make it a worthwhile purchase for someone who has all the albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, broad-based introduction to the music of The Boss, 13 Mar 2009
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD)
With 30 tracks over 2 CDs, The Essential Bruce Springsteen is intended to cover the best of Bruce up to its release date of 2003. All very well and good but is it er...essential?

Arguably not in place, though TEBS is an excellent introduction to The Boss, Unlike the Leonard Cohen volumes in the Essential series, TEBS includes 1, 2 or 3 tracks from every Springsteen release rather than say 5 from the classics and none at all from Bruce's few less favoured LPs. The intention behind this presumably is that, if you like the tracks featured from a particular LP, it is worth buying or investigating the whole album without you feeling short-changed from already owning three-quarters of it...

On to the selections themselves, all of the really obvious inclusions such as Born To Run, Dancing In The Dark and The River are present and correct with the biggest omission probably being the epic Racing In The Street from the Darkness On The Edge Of Town LP. From a more personal point of view, the tracks featured from the then recent Rising LP are excellent and may prompt me to investigate the full album. It's also great to finally have an LP including the stark and moving Streets Of Philadelphia, a track that illustrates superbly how less can often be so much more...

In his short foreword in the liner notes, the man himself says that TEBS was put together with the new fans who had come to see him for the first time on his most recent tour predominantly in mind. He is right as it serves as an excellent introduction to his music. Well worth buying for new fans and those who only have some of Springsteen's previous albums. Buy this then get the full albums featuring the tracks you particularly like - you are unlikely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to Bruce Springsteen., 7 Nov 2003
By 
Mr Eamonn Hayes (Worcester Park, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD)
This is a great introduction to the breathtaking songs and writing talents of Bruce Springsteen.
This is much better then the previous Greatest Hits album and i thoroughly recommend this to anyone who has been unsure about buying one of his studio albums. Believe me when you do buy this you will soon be buying the whole lot.
Of course there will always be songs missing off these collections that should have gone on, but the simple fact is all his songs are fantastic so where do you start?
I'm not going to talk about individual tracks as everyone has their favorites. So enjoy.
Besides the fantastic songs this man really comes into his own live.
Having luckily witnessed this 4 times for me there is no turning back.
If you ever catch him live you will realise why he is called 'THE BOSS'.
Pure brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know What You are Buying., 15 Feb 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential - Limited (Audio CD)
There isn't really anything much to add to the reviews. You pretty well know what you are going to get from `The Boss'. He is a pure out and out entertainer who knows how to give it his all. I just wanted to give a word of caution. It is worth reading the product description in some detail. There are two versions available of "The Essential Bruce Springsteen", a two disc and a three disc. I particularly wanted to listen to "Lift Me Up", which I happen to think is one of his very best songs. It is certainly one of his more introspective pieces, which is perhaps not as well known as many of his others. Being a bit of a dummy I managed to order the two disc, which does not contain this song. If you read the tracks on the two disc you will see that this song is not on there. It happens to be on the bonus disc 3 which is a limited edition CD with 12 rare and previously unreleased songs. So it says anyway! The Amazon review for the three disc incorrectly details it as a two disc CD. With all this confusion I have tried to console myself with the thought that this was an easily made mistake. I would say that the true "Essential Bruce Springsteen" has to be the more definitive three disc limited version. I now have the three disc version and a friend of mine who is another Springsteen fan reaped the benefits of my mistake. Know what you are buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the must have for any CD collection, 29 Dec 2003
By 
By the time he was signed to the Columbia imprint in 1972, Bruce Springsteen already had a fair number of rock miles to his credit. Having started out playing in bands during the mid-sixties, the kid from New Jersey managed to blend the raw power of American rock’n’roll with his own kind of politically conscious songwriting. It was the ‘Born To Run’ album that broke Springsteen worldwide and The Boss has never looked back since. The ‘Essential Bruce Springsteen’ set is the first career spanning collection of one of the worlds most influential artists and features tracks from his debut album all the way through to tracks from last years number one album 'The Rising'. This is the album that fans have been waiting for, to hear the never before heard outtakes and live recordings. It is defintley one of the best ways to finish a world tour. This CD is a must have for any CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic collection of songs to cover elements of different Springsteen albums. I bought this as a taster and it suits the purpose perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant journey through the music of Springsteen, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's Bruce - what more is there to say? This is the album to get if you want to listen to Bruce's best bits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Bruce Springsteen
The Essential Bruce Springsteen by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews