Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars
Well after the first album grew on me and i couldn't stop playing it for a whole year on and off. The second outshines it by far with the more mature sound, better backing tracks and mcin try this you won't be disappointed. Ok there are two tracks that that i tend to skip stop and biggest fan, but all the others are banging. Watch out for here4one the new single an...
Published on 2 Jan. 2004

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bahahahahhaha
I was wondering why the whole new genertaions were full of little 10 year old 'innit bruv, my bruv's well ard he'll knife ya' style kids and know I can see. If I had to grow up listening to this apparent 'music' then I can't even begin to think what would have becoem of me. They have no talent at all, they're not even a proper band for god's sake just a load of pretty...
Published on 26 Feb. 2004 by john_smith75


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars, 2 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
Well after the first album grew on me and i couldn't stop playing it for a whole year on and off. The second outshines it by far with the more mature sound, better backing tracks and mcin try this you won't be disappointed. Ok there are two tracks that that i tend to skip stop and biggest fan, but all the others are banging. Watch out for here4one the new single an amazing track with a piano intro and opera verse pure class!! Other songs that stand out no angels, ride, all we wana do is rap and for the girls the classy balard still thinking about you will hit the right spot! Give it a try if your a fan and if your not then this album might be one to surprise you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ooh, haven't they grown!, 9 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
After a long, long wait – well, I don’t know about anyone else, but it’s been a helluva long wait for me – the second album from Blazin’ Squad is here!
For those who don’t know much about the Squad, here’s a brief introduction: Blazin’ Squad are ten 17-year-old MCs from East London. There’s Kenzie, Strider, Krazy, Flava, Freek, Melo-D, Reepa, Rocky B (aka Platnum B), Spike-e and DJ Tommy B. Their debut single, Crossroads, went to number one last summer, and since then they’ve done well with several more singles, their first UK tour and an album, In the Beginning.
Blazin’ Squad are my personal favourite band ever, but they’re not very widely respected; most people think of them as a bunch of talentless kids. Hopefully this album will show off just what they can do...
1. Here 4 One
If I had to describe this track in 5 words they'd be: weird, random, absolutely pure genius. It starts of as a classical, melodic piano tune, but then it goes quite upbeat and garage-y. The weird bit is there's an opera verse in the middle - seriously! Blazin' and opera...well I never. The chorus is really catchy and it's got a great beat and brilliant MCing. I don't know how this would do if they were to release it as a single, but it is truly inspired! Exactly my cup of tea - a brilliant start to the album! 10/10.
2. Biggest Fan
This is a really poppy track – it’s about the boys seeing a really fit girl in the audience when they’re performing, so the ‘biggest fan’ idea is sort of reversed. It’s a good, catchy tune, upbeat and poppy, and Krazy’s singing has really improved since the first album. It’d probably appeal to younger girls. Not the best song on the album, but not bad either! 7/10.
3. Flip Reverse
The second single from the album – out now! This is the single which gained the group a bit more respect within the industry and a wider range of fans. To be honest I wasn’t that keen on it to start off with, but it really, really grows on you and I love it now. It’s more upbeat and urban than their previous singles - it’s got a great, dancey beat and a really catchy chorus. 9/10.
4. Ride
I wasn’t too keen on this one to start off with, but it’s another one that really grows on you. Melo-D’s MCing on it is so good! There’s a good beat and the chorus is great - it sounds a bit like something Blue would sing. 8/10.
5. Still Thinking About You
When Kenzie said on TV that there were going to be “a few ballads” on the album, I thought of their second single, Love on the Line, and despaired. But this song has really, really surprised me – it almost made my cry! It’s a pop ballad but it’s actually not that cheesy, and it’s soooo unbelievably sweet! I don’t think Blazin’ have many male fans, but the few they do probably won’t be too keen on this one! Definitely aimed at girls – it’s lovely! Bless them all! I hope they don’t release this as a single though, as they’ve gained a bit more respect since releasing Flip Reverse and I think they’d lose it if they released a ballad like this. 9/10.
6. No Angels
An amazing song! Melo-D said “No Angels could be the best thing we’ve ever done” and I agree. I think this really shows off their talents. I was actually quite shocked after hearing – it’s the best example of how much they’ve grown up since In the Beginning. It’s quite slow and their MCing on it is brilliant, especially Rocky’s verse. The chorus is really good too, and the backing track is gorgeous. Excellent! 10/10.
7. Stop
This is actually quite jazz-y to start off with. It’s a slow, laid-back tune about a girl, with really good vocals – sung, of course, by Krazy. The first few verses are all singing, it’s only towards the end that the MCing comes in. It’s a really nice song – not one of my favourites on the album, but it’s still good. 8/10.
8. Shorty
I love this one! It’s another of the more urban tracks on the album and one of the strongest – it’s upbeat, the MCing is really good and the chorus is brilliant. I was singing “shorrrrtyyyy” for about an hour after hearing this. 9/10.
9. Revolution
When I read the title of this song, I knew I’d never be able to listen to it without thinking of Children of the Revolution, which has been one of my favourite songs for years. And it turns out it’s a cover of it! How chuffed was I! I even jumped around and screamed! Sometimes covers can ruin a song, but not in this case – Blazin’ have truly made it their own. It’s fantastic! It’s the most rocky song on the album. The MCing is excellent with a great beat, and it’s backed up by that brilliant chorus. For me, this is one of the best covers they could possibly do, and they’ve done it oh so well. I take my hat off to them! 10/10.
10. Girls
No prizes for guessing what this song’s about. It was produced by JD from So Solid Crew, and it’s quite garagey. It’s got a good beat, and some great vocals on it. Strider and Melo-D sing on it – not just Krazy for once! – and they’re both really good. It goes more upbeat at the end and that bit’s great, but to me, nothing about it stands out in particular. I think it might take a while to get into this song. 7/10.
11. Baby It’s the Weekend
This one is quite poppy – not as poppy as We Just Be Dreamin’ or Biggest Fan, but still pop. There’s some great verses and the chorus is really strong, I love it – overall, a great song. 8/10.
12. All We Wanna Do Is Rap
This is another of the more garage-y tracks on the album. They performed this one on tour in May so it’ll be familiar to some of the fans. It takes a while to get into it as the backing track is pretty minimal. But the MCing is good and the chorus is brilliant. 9/10.
13. We Just Be Dreamin’
This is the first single from the album; it went to no. 3 in the summer. It’s just a nice, laid-back summer track. It’s really poppy and the chorus is catchy and there’s some good MCing on it – it’s another one that will appeal to younger girls. 7/10.
14. Keep On
“This one’s for all the peeps with ambition”, the intro says – this one’s about going for what you want. It’s another very urban track with a good beat, and the MCing is really good. It takes a few listens to get into though. 8/10.
15. Life’s A Struggle
To be honest, this song let me down a bit at first. From the title, I knew this would be about hard times and trouble and stuff, so I thought it’d be like Where the Story Ends, which was one of my favourite songs from the first album. But it’s got a really good chorus, and I like the way they MC on it – instead of doing a long verse each, they only do a few lines. It’s got a nice guitar part – it’d sound nice acoustically. Not one of my favourites, but it’s a good song, and I think I’ll learn to love it. 7.5/10.
What I like about Blazin’ Squad is that you always get a wide range of music with them. There’s a mix of pop, garage, hip-hop and r’n’b in here – there’s even a bit of rock and opera! You’d never get that much variety on a Busted or Blue album. I also like the fact that they cover quite a lot of different topics in their songs – ambitions, problems, what people think of them, etc - not every track is about getting it on with a girl.
They’ve come so far since their first album. They’re MCing is much better, so is their singing and the songs in general are stronger. I’ll always love In the Beginning, and it’s got 4 or 5 brilliant songs on it, but the quality of the music on Now or Never is generally higher and more constistant. Also there’s more songs, which is always good.
To be honest, I really can’t think of that many disadvantages. The only thing I’d say is that you don’t hear that much of some of the boys – at times it feels like they should be called “Krazy, Flava and Rocky and the other lot” instead of Blazin’ Squad! I suppose it’s whatever’s best for the song but it doesn’t seem that fair!
Give this a try; I think you’ll be surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a new side of Blazin Squad, 18 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
This new album came to my door this morning and i have already listened to it 3 times. ALL the tracks on this are very unique and different from their last album "In the Beginning" I think one of the best tracks have to be Revolution. Its really good and they have really put their own touch to it. I cannot wait for their 1004 tour its going to be excellent! In wembley i am in the 11th row! Quite good considering i got the tickets 15 mins after they opened the lines!
Best of luck people and BLAZER 4 EVA!
Jodie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITS HEAVY!!, 3 May 2004
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
I think this album is a great follow up from their first one! I shows they have matured and have come up with some heavy lyrics n bangin beats. There is nuffin i dont like bout this album n i cant stop listening to it. I made people who i knew didnt like Blazin' Squad listen to some of their tracks from this album and they agreed that these boyz do have talent and can write good tunes. My fave tracks are All we wanna do is rap and Flip Reverse.But overall i fink this album is Mint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, what an album!, 1 Dec. 2003
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
Wow..what an album! Well..this album is great and a big change to the blazin' boys sound. It seems more them and what they want to do! I loved the first album 'In The Beginning' but 'Now Or Never' is even better! There isn't a song on the album where i could say "ohh i don't like that bit!" With the two singles on here you would be forgiven to think the album would be like them! But no.. 'Here 4 One' has a piano start and opera in the middle! Which is a pure good opening! Then you have the slow ones like 'Stop' using the Commodores piano piece from 'Easy' and 'Thinking About You' which is a beautiful ballad! All the songs are different, with rap, singing, and different styles such as 'Shorty', 'Biggest Fan' and 'No Angels'! The album makes you want to sing along, well i do! The squad's version of the T-Rex song 'Children Of The Revolution' is mixed well with their own lyrics and renamed 'Revolution'! 'Life's A Struggle' is a great follow up to 'Where The Stpry Ends' and means a lot to teenagers just like 'Where The Story Ends'. Their lyrics written by them are inspiring and meaningful to life's issues, and when you remember they are all 17/18 its great not to be amazed! Their talents are coming through, and people are being made to notice them now! So this is definitely a must buy for all true fans..if you loved the first album you will love this even more! You have all the ten lads giving their best! Flava is well known for his Mcing and in this album proves his natural flow as do Rocky B and the other lads too! Lee has defintely got best singing voice and shows this by singing on this cd! Flip Reverse was a more mature sound for the squad..and the album backs up this! If you never liked the squad before..give this album a try i reckon it could change your opinion of these ten lads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard As Nails Youngsters Show Feminine Sensitivity, 22 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
If you thought Blazing Squid were all rap and no trousers then you'd be wrong - they do have trousers, baggy ones at that. They wear them because you have to if you're from the streets, which this bunch of urchins obviously are. This album reflects the extremely tough lifestyle of today's young adults and will strike a chord with anybody who has worried about homework, taken a shine to a young lady or maybe had the chain come off their bike. Most of the tracks have really nice beats that you can easily jig along to but when it's when things slow down that the Blazing Squid really show themselves to be masters of seduction, despite an average age of just 9. The slower sensitive songs reveal a much softer more feminine side, which is nice. In summary, a great album to listen to if you like kids rapping about who they fancy and want to kiss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
I love the band they are such lovely well rounded guys. I cant believe the split up so disappointed sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blazin' Squad, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Miss K. Penfold "catcrazy" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
I've always like blazin squad from the minute i herd them sing, and I love all of their songs on the cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smacked It, 21 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
Blazin' have come of age with this disc. They have found the direction that wasn't as evident in their first release. A great opener 'Here 4 One' mixes classical piano and opera (yes opera!) with a banging club beat. There is bhangra style on 'Shorty', plus an homage to, no doubt, their parents' favourites with a new spin on T Rex's 'Children of the Revolution' simply called 'Revolution' on this album - but they do name check T Rex in the intro! A couple of stand out ballads: 'Still Thinking Of You' and the fantastic closing track 'Life's a Struggle' which seems to be a natural follow up to the first album's 'Where The Story Ends' dealing, as it does, with teenage angst and strife.
Mix in the singles 'We Just Be Dreemin' and the stunning 'Flip Reverse' and this album cements Blazin' Squad's place in the current top British Pop line up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bahahahahhaha, 26 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Now Or Never (Audio CD)
I was wondering why the whole new genertaions were full of little 10 year old 'innit bruv, my bruv's well ard he'll knife ya' style kids and know I can see. If I had to grow up listening to this apparent 'music' then I can't even begin to think what would have becoem of me. They have no talent at all, they're not even a proper band for god's sake just a load of pretty boys in Burberry hats. To anyone who likes this CD - get a mind of your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now Or Never
Now Or Never by Blazin' Squad (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews