Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye: a return to form.
Finally. Finally, finally, finally! Yello have produced a decent album worthy of repeated listening. They lost themselves in the nineties just a little bit, but now they're back. If you liked their earlier stuff then The Eye is an album you'll enjoy. Planet Dada is a great Yello track, modern and stylish but very similar in essence to tracks like Pumping Velvet from...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by phillllllllll

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars start with their 'baby' album and work backwards
i was going through my cd's wondering which ones i might get rid of on ebay to free up a bit of space and this one landed in the to be sold pile. the reasons why ??? unlike most of the reviewers of this album i just thought it all sounded a bit tired and like they had run out of ideas..granted it sounds better and fills youre stereo with more noise than most of what has...
Published on 6 Feb 2009 by Mr. Simon Amery


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye: a return to form., 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
Finally. Finally, finally, finally! Yello have produced a decent album worthy of repeated listening. They lost themselves in the nineties just a little bit, but now they're back. If you liked their earlier stuff then The Eye is an album you'll enjoy. Planet Dada is a great Yello track, modern and stylish but very similar in essence to tracks like Pumping Velvet from You Gotta Say Yes to Another Excess, and Oh Yeah from Stella. The rest of the album is reminiscent of One Second, with tracks like Don Turbulento and Unreal (which is superb -- Jade Davies' voice never grows tiresome). Gone are the pretentious monologues from Pocket Universe, banished are the tiresome Sax samples that worked well in Flag but become repetetive from Baby onwards. There is little of the dark, cinematic quality from Stella, and the strange experimental electronica from Claro Que Si but if you like Yello you can't help liking what they have produced with this album. It's a new century for Yello, and I hope this, their third decade, will be a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yello Album?, 21 April 2004
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
This album is more than a return to form for Yello. To my ears, it's thebest set they've ever done.
There really isn't a weak track and thewhole thing just hangs together so darn well. So many catchy tunes thatplay in your head all day.
As ever, the sound quality is of the highest standard. Expect to hear itat a hifi demonstration near you soon.
I must confess that I had recently regarded Yello as something of a spentforce. Instead, the Eye is nothing less than a triumph for Messrs Blankand Meier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb 'must have' album, 25 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
There is always a sense of expectation when you sit down to listen to a Yello album. This Cd, their latest to date is quite simply astonishing. The quality of the production has to heard to be believed.

This is a Cd that demostrates the real potential of what the Compact Disk can achieve - its that good. Beware though as you will find the volume dial going up and up...

A Particular favourite at the moment Track 10: Indigo Bay is magnificent,

I agree with the other comments made about this amazing album. I've never heard Yello better.

A 'must have' in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still crazy after all these years, 11 Dec 2003
By 
Andrew Bailey "princepetr" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
The 14th album by these ageing Swiss Millionaire Playboys - and one of their best. The Eye is worth buying for the incredible opening track alone, Planet Dada . The Eye rejoices in Yello's usual superb production standards and unlike the slightly dissapointing "Eccentrix" & "Motion Picture ( both released in 1999) there are some great tunes on this album. Brilliantly inventive techo music, minimalist existential lyrics, all the Yello trademarks are here in abundance. A nice treat for established fans and also a great starting point ( along with Excess..., Stella and One Secound) for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars start with their 'baby' album and work backwards, 6 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
i was going through my cd's wondering which ones i might get rid of on ebay to free up a bit of space and this one landed in the to be sold pile. the reasons why ??? unlike most of the reviewers of this album i just thought it all sounded a bit tired and like they had run out of ideas..granted it sounds better and fills youre stereo with more noise than most of what has gone before but sadly there is little to keep you interested and its far too long. takes me two sittings to listen to this. nuff said. i think planet dada is pretty good but they must have been a bit stuck for ideas if they had to do it twice. i love claro que si and all others up to baby which is amazing. even zebra has its moments.sorry to spoil the party but i suggest looking to their past to find the gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Aug 2006
By 
G. J. Luff "GJ" (surrey, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
Once again Yello puts a new spin on their music. Jade Davies, as guest vocalist, triumphs in her interpretations of Dieter's sometimes beguiling lyrics. Dieter also manages to include his vocal tones in what must be the perfect song album since the days of Rush Winters and Billy Mackenzie. Boris, as usual, produces the sonic ambience perfectly. As others have noted, his perception of pure musical indulgence, of absolute mastery of the medium, is second to none. The first track would maybe regarded as an album filler. It is not at all! This is pure Yello experimentality! Well done chaps, it's a great album, and Planet Dada IS a brilliant first track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yello album - it grows on you - excellent, 23 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
I have many of there albums, and with all of them, they really give your hi fi a good work out, so go on play it loud.
Very slick production, which i find takes away some of the puch I love in say "one second".
A well put together album, and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old and new!, 19 Nov 2003
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
After the pseudo-modernism of Pocket Universe and the partial return to form on Motion Picture this new offering shows the duo still have a few tricks up their sleeve! The material includes some great references back to very early material on Solid Pleasure and the like - ie very quirky short tracks that often transport the listener into a storyboard, albeit sketchy ones these days. This is what they do best when Deiter is on vocals, and there is no doubt the mix of modern production and older style instrumentation/rhythms works excellently here. However they have drafted in a female vocalist, Jade Davie, onto no less than 5 of the tracks, so the album becomes alternating Yello and female vocals. Whilst I loved Rush Winters' contributions to Stella era and Billy MacKenzie on later projects, Jade's vocals sometimes don't quite cut through in the same way. Although she has a very nice voice, perhaps keeping 3 of her 5 songs would've made the album more balanced (no doubt some will strongly disagree!). As a whole though this album is far superior to Pocket Universe era, and some tracks are extremely punchy, not just the Euro single Planet Dada (cut-up vox galore). Alas, only 1 cinematic Boris instrumental here (the other is almost solely rhythms), and an odd add-on of Akufen/Blank revamp of the single (subtitled Flamboyant) prevent this being a classic. But still it's great to see them sticking to their guns AND sounding fresh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye, Yello, 4 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. S. Marson "Stuart" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
Absolutely STONKING, buy it, super music along with great production. The best yello ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 15 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eye (Audio CD)
Bought "The Eye" yesterday and I've already listen to it more times than I've with the four last (Yello) albums together... It sounds like Yello!!! The only dissapointment is the lack of new great sounds that is one of Yello's trademarks. But all the "soft" sounds on "The Eye" builds a great album that is a must in Your cd-collection... Buy Bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eye
The Eye by Yello (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews