Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars69
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2003
The set contains Horse Feathers, Monkey Business, Animal Crackers and Duck Soup. It doesn't contain A Night at the Opera, but Monkey Business, Animal Crackers and Duck Soup are the three classics. It's worth it for Animal Crackers alone.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
If you are buying this you are probably already a Marx Brothers fan, but if you haven't seen their films before then it very much depends on your sense of humour as to whether you will love or hate them. You either get them or you don't. I love them. The humour is manic, irreverent, off the wall and very clever. The quips are fast and satirical, the slapstick is hysterical. Considering how old these films are, they still very funny and it's easy to see where so many modern comic 'genius' got their ideas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
Loved all of these films. A pity they have to keep breaking into song though!! You have to listen carefully to catch the gags as the sound quality being from the 1930's is poor. The jokes visually and orally are very funny if a bit 'old hat'. I am replacing my old videos of my Marx Bros films but can't get some of them as they are either too expensive or only USA region one.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2010
Great to see again these hilarious brothers in action - my favourite was always Harpo. How the other actors kept straight faces is difficult to believe. But they were also multi talented, Harpo played the harp, Chico the piano, and even Groucho plays. These films may be dated, especially for the younger generation, but I found them as funny as ever. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This box set was a surprise present for my husband (who loves the old black and white movies-especially The Marx Brothers. The films are just hilarious and were in pristine condition. They were so good that we will probably buy some of the others available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Somewhat unique by even today"s standards. They are only let down by Zeppo's character. However when he stopped appearing after duck soup things quickly went down hill. The occasional music interlude should also be given a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
I bought the Marx Brothers Box Set for my partner, as he is a big fan of them. He has now watched all the films a few times. It was well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Purchased for my husband as a Christmas Present, very happy with them even if he would of liked Night at the opera & day at the races in with the set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Haven't stopped laughing yet!!! Compared to the rubbish which passes as comedy today; it is peerless. Great fun for all the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Bought it for my husband and he absolutely loves it. He is a huge fan and has watched them more than once since Christmas!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)