Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!
This is just a lovely box set! I had seen the previous edition of this set which contained the same movies but in full size dvd cases so the box set was on the large size and would have taken up a lot of space on the shelf, however this new issue which came out September 2014 is amazing, all 19 films are housed in one large case on individual flaps in book style, the...
Published 7 months ago by Tinksjane

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality sound, fuzzy picture DVD's
This film set should not be sold by a reputable seller in its present form.

The films, in my opinion, are unwatchable as the images are fuzzy and the sound quality is very poor - in fact they look worse than low quality rip-offs from pirated works!

Shame on Amazon for selling something of this quality - a total waste of money.
Published 13 months ago by Margaret L


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Package, 9 Feb. 2009
By 
J. Stevenson (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a beautifully packaged product featuring many of Cary Grant's greatest films and much of his early work. Presentation is superb making this truly a collector's item. The films themselves are of good quality though extras would have been nice. Recommended and at the price I paid at the time - good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap is the word, 26 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of movies for the money,but sadly the usual Universal no expense incurred presentation. No digital restoration here and the two 'Scope movies are a disgrace. "The Grass is Greener" looks like it was mastered from VHS in non anamorphic letterbox, while "That Touch of Mink" is a ghastly pan and scan job in spite of the sleeve claiming it's 2.35:1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I thought this was good value, as it contained some of my favourite ..., 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was good value, as it contained some of my favourite Cary Grant films (as well as others I'm not so fond of). However, I was disappointed - and annoyed - to find that four of the films don't have subtitles, even though the description on Amazon suggests they all do. The four films without subtitles are: Bringing Up Baby, Indiscreet, Suspicion and My Favorite Wife. My husband cannot watch films unless they have subtitles so it's very important to us that Amazon provides accurate information in this respect. I would have returned the item if I hadn't decided to pass it on to someone as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's a few missing..., 28 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
I know it would be impossible to include all of his films but it seems to me that there are a few missing that you'd expect to be here. Three of my favourite Cary Grant films are missing; His Girl Friday, The Awful Truth and I was a Male War Bride. It's a shame (and why I can't give this lovely box set five stars) and surprising. Other than that, this is a well put together set and is a perfect present for not just Cary Grant fans, but fans of 1930s/40s cinema and Classic Hollywood Cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cary Grant fans should be thrilled, 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a huge compilation of movies all in one place and at a reasonable price. If you are a Cary Grant fan you will be very happy. All the films I have viewed so far have been in good shape even if they have not been digitally remastered. I am pleased with this purchase and recommend it to anyone who likes the oldies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cary Grant Collection, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can one say about Cary Grant. These are excellent films. His Girl Friday has cracking script and Rosiland Russel to boot! Penny Serenade and The Amazing Adventure are bot good films..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Service was great, the box set is really nice the picture is good , remember it is not blue ray and these are old films. I are very happy with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Cary Grant, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my Dad on Father's Day because he adores Mr Grant. and he really enjoyed this dvd. Good value for 4 classic hollywood films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Set of Classic Movies, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Superb deal on a classic set of films. Made a great gift for my wife. Box set is a real quality item and I thoroughly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Cary fans., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fabulous. I am a huge Cary Grant fan. This box set is brilliant. 16 classic films. Looking forward to winter Sunday afternoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cary Grant Collection [DVD]
Cary Grant Collection [DVD] by Blake Edwards (DVD - 2003)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews