Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!
This is just a lovely box set! I had seen the previous edition of this set which contained the same movies but in full size dvd cases so the box set was on the large size and would have taken up a lot of space on the shelf, however this new issue which came out September 2014 is amazing, all 19 films are housed in one large case on individual flaps in book style, the...
Published 5 months ago by Tinksjane

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality sound, fuzzy picture DVD's
This film set should not be sold by a reputable seller in its present form.

The films, in my opinion, are unwatchable as the images are fuzzy and the sound quality is very poor - in fact they look worse than low quality rip-offs from pirated works!

Shame on Amazon for selling something of this quality - a total waste of money.
Published 11 months ago by Margaret L


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressed!, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Tinksjane "tink" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a lovely box set! I had seen the previous edition of this set which contained the same movies but in full size dvd cases so the box set was on the large size and would have taken up a lot of space on the shelf, however this new issue which came out September 2014 is amazing, all 19 films are housed in one large case on individual flaps in book style, the whole box set can't be more than 3.5 to 4 regular dvd boxes wide so fits nice and slim on my shelf. The movies are in good quality, whilst not HD they are a good acceptable quality and for the price I think this is great. No it doesn't contain all Cary's movies, but it does contain some of the very most popular ones and they go from very early career to his later career and if you are a fan like me then you will source the missing ones separately. The box set is housed in an outside cardboard case to keep the set clean and has lovely a photo of cary on the front and has a listing of all movies contained on the back. Its an excellent and well presented box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


207 of 222 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream of every Cary Grant fan comes true!, 4 Dec. 2003
By 
Irena "Say something about yourself!" (Rishon LeZion, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cary Grant Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection of Cary Grant films includes "Bringing up a baby",
"My Favourite Wife" , "Indiscreet" and "Opperation Petticoat".
The quality of DVD image is quite nice including the older films.
The artistic decoration of the set is superb - it is relatively slim box (twice as wide as regular DVD box).
After you pull it from the case it unwraps in four pages in diffrerent directions (like a flower), each of them contains DVD on it.
And each page has gorgeus photos of Cary Grant and one of his costars - Katharine Hepburn, Irene Dunne, Ingrid Bergman.
The set also includes 4 art cards - on the front side there is a
reprint of an original poster of the film and on another the list of the Chapters of the DVD.
The special features include "Production notes" and "Cast and crew".
This beatiful box set is a dream of every Cary Grant fan and every classic films lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality sound, fuzzy picture DVD's, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film set should not be sold by a reputable seller in its present form.

The films, in my opinion, are unwatchable as the images are fuzzy and the sound quality is very poor - in fact they look worse than low quality rip-offs from pirated works!

Shame on Amazon for selling something of this quality - a total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful films / poor quality DVD, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
C. CROFTS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just watched His Girl Friday and the aspect ratio / screen is shaved at the sides so the C and A of Columbia are missing off the side of the screen - a very poor quality video transfer of a wonderful, wonderful film - get the movie from a different supplier on a different disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware!, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
Desmond Bull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item is by no little distance the worst video transfer i've seen. Car-boot pirates would sneer at it. Watching "His Girl Friday" you will not be sure which blur is Cary Grant and which is Rosalind Russell. There is no price low enough to justify this travesty of two classic films (and a filler). Buy this and you will feel soiled. Ambivilent enough?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cary Grant Collection, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can one say about Cary Grant. These are excellent films. His Girl Friday has cracking script and Rosiland Russel to boot! Penny Serenade and The Amazing Adventure are bot good films..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Cary Grant, 11 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my Dad on Father's Day because he adores Mr Grant. and he really enjoyed this dvd. Good value for 4 classic hollywood films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful selection of films and I bought it at a ..., 29 Jan. 2015
By 
S. Moulding (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful selection of films and I bought it at a bargain price - less than £1 a film. 19 films in one box set - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Came on time and is just what it says on the label,classic Cary grant films for all the family to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good to see these old movies, some better than others, but for the price, outstanding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cary Grant Collection [DVD]
Cary Grant Collection [DVD] by Blake Edwards (DVD - 2003)
£9.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews