Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No brain enjoyment, without the Hollywood negatives
After reading other reviews on here just thought I'd be a little bit more honest about this film. This isnt "non-stop action", and ground breaking special effects, but that isnt a criticism.
I love this film and found it totally enjoyable, simply because its a totally original, out there story, done in a simple extremely fun way. If this was a Hollywood movie, it...
Published on 19 Oct 2004 by Mr L A Marsh

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could have been better
this film could have been sooooo much better

its pretty good as it is...brainless entertainment....lots of explosions and kung fu...the only downside is that inbetween the rucking the film slows to a crawl and they let the actors try to act which they really shouldnt have!!!!

its not helped by a terrible dubbing job!!!

when it does let rip...
Published on 31 May 2007 by ben_jekyll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No brain enjoyment, without the Hollywood negatives, 19 Oct 2004
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After reading other reviews on here just thought I'd be a little bit more honest about this film. This isnt "non-stop action", and ground breaking special effects, but that isnt a criticism.
I love this film and found it totally enjoyable, simply because its a totally original, out there story, done in a simple extremely fun way. If this was a Hollywood movie, it would probably be dubbed "the Action event of the decade, coming this fall" and you would be sick of hearing about it by the time they actually got round to releasing it. Then to find out it was about as groundbreaking as double-sided sticky tape.
The two main charachters are perfect, and something Ive found in many Asian movies is that no matter how cheesy, cliched or corny a scene is, Asian actors/actresses seem to be able to pull it off without you cringing. Theres always emotion, without the stereotypical hero types we see all the time.
There is action and its well done, would have been nice to had a bit more but then would rather watch a film with characters you learn about and grow to like, than a story with characters you know little about, spouting out annoying "one liners" and performing gravity defying martial arts on anyone who "gets in their way".
All in all, this is a film you can watch over and over again, hate to use the term, but this is Pop-corn fodder. The sort of film home cinema was made for. Just sit back, forget all the stress and seriousness in your day and enjoy just under 2 hours of great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Returner, 19 Jan 2004
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I saw this film advertised in a shop, and it completly blew me away, there was something about it that really lured me into it! Having only been on release recently i finally got to see it as I do believe that this film has been knocking around for quite a awhile.
First things first, this film is a great time filler, it presses almost two hours long which I think is pushing it a little bit but it seems to fly by completly... I didn't look at my watch once during it. The effects were outstanding and certainly showed up the Matrix in my own view. There were hints of other movies in there two, noticebaly Leon, but if you liked Leon, then you will like this and if you liked the Martix too... well this one makes sense.
The plot is pretty simple: a girl coming back from the future to save the demise of the planet from aliens, a pretty tough hitman with revenge on his mind, and a nasty sadistic killer causing all sorts of carnage... There is a mixture of everything in this, and unfortunetly I have to say it is a lil cheesy in places too but that doesn't stop it from being a great film! I think that it has be to seen just for the whole stopping time effect and though that is very Matrix it still looks absoutely amazing.
The cinematography is breath taking, the acting is superb as the main characters have a brilliant chemistry on screen, and the fight scenes are jaw droppingly good and great fun.
If you go in taking this film seriously you'll walk out disappointed, if you go in not expecting much and just a fun film, you will walk away thinking that it was well worth your time! If Sci-Fi and Martial Arts isn't your thing, head elsewhere!
Personally I thought that this was one of my fave films of all time- mentally taxing or not- i look forward to seeing it in my DVD collection in the future.
p.s A big Telly and surround sound would help a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff., 14 Aug 2009
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A really entertaining and expertly crafted slice of Japanese sci-fi/gun play action film with some excellent characters, some great FX, including some marvelous CGI renditions of apocalyptic destroyed cities with alien ships and huge transformer robots roaming the ruins.

It also delivers some well staged and violent action scenes, a solid cybertech/Industrial soundtrack and a nice streak of gentle humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but fun all the same, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If you can think of an alien/time travel/action film cliche - be assured that's it's in this film! That being true it's also a really fun film to watch, and if you are still reeling from the appalling Matrix re-hashes this could well restore your spirits. Definitely better than most of 2003's comic book -to-film efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic entertainment., 4 Jun 2006
By 
john Paul Power (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A brilliant time travel plot which mixes elements from terminator, aliens, the matrix and transformers to produce a top quality popcorn movie. The acting, storyline and special effects are all high quality and rival anything hollywood can produce.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Save the children!, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This cousin of the Terminator saga, is as improbable as all
such adventure films are, but it is superior to the Hollywood drivel:
It deals with the issue of child slavery and/or organ harvesting
that Hollywood-catering to the PG-13 clientele-won't touch.
It slows down its frenetic action long enough to develop
the main characters, and shed a tear or two.
It keeps the romantic interest muted and ambiguous.
Last but not least, it makes us think about ourselves:
Does a species which abuses and victimizes children deserve saving
from extinction?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, but, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
this is simply a good bit of entertainment and IMHO unjustly overlooked.

It's hardly original in many ways, but there are elements around the time travel that are cleverer than most. Many of the elements are all pretty familiar from this type of movie, but surely, you knew that already.

Elements of the story are culled from more mainstream violent types of movie as well as movies with less adult themes.

Overall, it's knitted together into a passably exciting romp, with some good staged action, and effects-at least in interacting with the aliens - that put many a big budget Hollywood franchise to shame- such as the truly woeful elements of the effects where humans and robots interact in the awesomely dreadful plot free zone that is "Transformers".

Altogether, an enjoyable romp, and one that's due for a re-watch.

Good fun. You won't, I hope, regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great action movie, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Part Leon, part ET, and part Terminator; the plot is very much secondary. This is an action movie so if you like explosions, gunfights, car chases, caricature bad guys and Takeshi Kaneshiro then you'll enjoy this film.

A young girl Miri (Anne Suzuki) travels back from the future to prevent a disastrous war with an alien species that threatens to destroy the world. Fortunately she runs into Miyamoto (Kaneshiro) a gun for hire and reluctant hero who she enlists to help her.

The martial arts action is quick paced and stylish and the relationship between the two leads is watchable and refreshing since unlike most action films there's no romantic sub plot slowing the film down. Miyamoto helps Miri with his muscle and she in turn reminds him of his humanity. In short it's about friendship....and aliens. Returner doesn't take itself too seriously and I advise anyone watching it to do likewise. Just sit back and enjoy the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yipee!, 15 Mar 2004
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I saw an advert for this film and instantly told myself i HAD to watch it! And what a film!
Basically, girl travels back in time, meets cool-dude hitman Miyamoto and tries to save world from alien invasion squads. How can you go wrong?! Well, with Takashi Kaneshiro as the lead <faints> you can't!!
It does have echos of previous movies but Returner just pulls off the moves with so much more style than 'Mr. Neo' could ever do.
All in all, this is a film you can watch again and again. It's just so clever!
BRAVO!!
...And Takashi Kaneshiro is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: Returner [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I like this one, no boring moments, and very watchable. If your someone who looks at a film and says there are bits from other films, then a)stop watching films cause thats always going to happen b)go elsewhere. But if you are not like this and like a good film with a good plot with excellent effects then get this. im glad i bought this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Returner [DVD] [2004]
Returner [DVD] [2004] by Takashi Yamazaki (DVD - 2004)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews