Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example on why looks can be deceiving
I admire woman who can hold there own and this film says it all. While watching this I couldn't help but to think of Charlies Angels plus the opening scene with Lynn easily marks out the style of this film. "So Close" revolves around a computer program that can hack all the security cameras on earth. Developed by their dad, the program was inherited by Shu Qi and Vicky...
Published on 8 Feb 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not even close (to a good film)
OK based on the reviews and the low price I bought a copy. Now I'm very tolerant of poor films, happy to park my brain, open a beer and just watch any old action movie - I also don't make a habit of submitting reviews. But this is an exceptionally poor film, childish is the word that sprang to mind as I was watching. The set action pieces are uninteresting and lacking...
Published on 24 Mar 2010 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect example on why looks can be deceiving, 8 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
I admire woman who can hold there own and this film says it all. While watching this I couldn't help but to think of Charlies Angels plus the opening scene with Lynn easily marks out the style of this film. "So Close" revolves around a computer program that can hack all the security cameras on earth. Developed by their dad, the program was inherited by Shu Qi and Vicky Zhao after his death, and rather than sell it and make lots of money, they use it to become career assassins - follow your dreams! But after years of busting caps, Shu Qi has become a hurting-on-the-inside kind of lady. Her passion for being a super cool hit woman has cooled and she's starting to feel sorry for the thousands of people she took away. Unable to bring herself to do more than kneecap the legions of goons she used to blithely blow away, she's started to think about getting out of the game, finding a guy, and settling down. Little sis, Vicky Zhao, on the other hand, wants to be like big sis and open many cans of whup a** on veritable armies of henchmen. Karen Mok, a cop who has run into the glass ceiling so hard she's got a concussion, unwinds from all the razzing she gets from her sexist colleagues by pursuing Vicky and Shu Qi and maybe, just maybe, falling for Vicky in the process. Cop/criminal romances are, historically, really bad ideas but it works really well here.

Flying bullets, spinning sidekicks, supercomputer balderdash, car chases, and shattering sheets of glass tumble off the screen like an all-you-can-eat action feast and it takes a fight with Japanese screen legend Yasuaki Kurata to bring this whole buffet to a close. Corey Yuen deploys the pop ballad "Close To You" all over the soundtrack and here's a chance for a whole new generation to get it stuck in their heads, associating it with images of Shu Qi dealing out death from nickel-plated 9mm's.

"So Close" is a movie that manages the neat trick of being simultaneously super-silly and super-cool. With Corey Yuen bringing years of being Jet Li's action director to the table; and Vicky Zhao, Karen Mok and Shu Qi bringing perfect hair, perfect clothes, and perfect roundhouse kicks, it's like a fashion shoot that cant be beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Interesting Women, 31 Dec 2007
By 
AG Stephenson "andrewjoychris" (Newhaven England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
This is a very stylish film directed by Corey Yuen, who was also responsible for the excellent martial arts movie 'DOA'.

The action scenes in this movie are equally precisely choreographed and full of fantastic twists and turns. It has a plot of sorts - but that's really there to help string the unbelievable action sequences together.

The three leading women are amongst the most interesting actresses in China at the moment. Karen Mok is part-Eurasian, appears to be a bit of a genius who speaks five languages and majored in Italian literature, and has also starred in many Hollywood movies. Zhao Wei is the bad girl of Chinese cinema, having once modelled in a Japanese war flag. She's also a well-known singer and sometimes goes under the name of Vicky Zhao. On top of all that, she is also a soap star in her native land. Shu Qi is the gorgeous babe who appeared in 'Transporter' with Jason Statham but is still searching a little for that great super-hit of a movie.

Definitely worth a night's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb viewing, 20 Jan 2009
By 
Andrew J. Gibbs-ripley "gibbsy88" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
The action in this film is outstanding, and the actresses play their parts very well (partly because they're cute women beating the living daylights out of everyone else). The only criticism is that the story tends to wander a bit in the middle, but the ending more than makes up for that. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful in every way, 15 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
From the opening sequence you can tell this is a polished film yet it manages to stay away from being hollywood in style. It's very watchable, I found myself watching it over and over (and not only because of the beautiful women). It's rare to see a female action hero let alone a good one, the women in So Close are just plain excellent.
What else can I say? Buy it, I'll be surprised if you don't like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Actionlovers dream., 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
One of the best ever actionmovies,not to be
missed ,better than most from from Hollywood
Highly recommended! only wish it had been
on blue ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than I Expected, 18 Jun 2010
By 
LadyTsang (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
Admittedly, this is one of those love it or hate it kinda movies. It's the kind that you really shouldn't like but you just can't help it.

While it's intentions are perfectly clear (beautiful girls and lots of action) there's a certain self awareness and shamelessness that adds to its charm. It's designed to do one thing; entertain and in my opinion, it does. There's no pretentiousness or hypocrisy and because of this, there are some really beautiful moments throughout.

If you want a deep and meaningful commentary then you might want to give this a miss but if you want a fun action flick and a richly presented sibling relationship then give it a go.

It's either going to completely miss its mark or hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a blockbuster, but a good film with hot babes!, 21 May 2011
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
If you like martial arts films, and sweet asian babes, get this film! The story is good, and the fights are well thought out. The 3 main players are all attractive and very skillful, so you get what you might expect from the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good action, 14 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. David Wilson (fife scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
Takes a while to get going then the action is good with one of the best samurai sword fights i'v seen with Martial arts legend Yasuaki Kurata from Fist of Legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A watch it once film., 4 Mar 2004
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
Ok if you like sexy asian women and a so so plot then you will like this, but i thought the story had a few "when is the action going to start" moments, when you mind tends to wander in a film, a bit slow for me, but good to pass the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable film, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] (DVD)
Acting not brilliant but the scenery is enjoyable with the three leading characters . An amusing film with good action scenes and both comic and tragic moments .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004]
So Close [DVD] [2002] [2004] by Corey Yuen (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £1.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews