Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites
In Buffalo '66 twisted,but strangely alluring parolee Billy Brown has, in the hands of Vincent Gallo -- writer, director and star of this bleak, outstandingly creative film -- a seething, angered depth, molded by a lifetime of parental abuse, poor judgment and very bad luck and his wounded, embittered performance is captivating, and so is his filmmaking.
Greasy,...
Published on 17 Dec 2003 by Candyflower

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A well observed movie!
I'm not really familiar with the guy in the lead role, but he's done a good job with this film. It's well observed, and quite funny and quite sad. I've seen better movies and I've seen much worse, but this is definitely worth a watch.
Published 13 months ago by Celluloid Hero


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites, 17 Dec 2003
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
In Buffalo '66 twisted,but strangely alluring parolee Billy Brown has, in the hands of Vincent Gallo -- writer, director and star of this bleak, outstandingly creative film -- a seething, angered depth, molded by a lifetime of parental abuse, poor judgment and very bad luck and his wounded, embittered performance is captivating, and so is his filmmaking.
Greasy, resentful and just released from a five-year turn in the pokey -- he'd made a false confession to get out of a $10,000 debt to a bookie -- he has returned to his home town of Buffalo, New York, because he is desperately grasping for anything familiar to give his life some semblance of control.
He visits his vile, hateful parents (Anjelica Huston and Ben Gazzara)but only after wandering into a dance studio and impulsively kidnapping Layla (Christina Ricci), an innocently voluptuous tap student, to pose as his wife. It's a pathetic attempt to persuade them he has beaten the odds of his unfortunate upbringing, but it backfires.
"Buffalo '66" is a gloomy, slice-of-life drama about people with miserable lives, but at the same time it's a vicious satire of dysfunctional suburbanites.
Failing to find security at home, Billy drags Layla to the bowling alley of his childhood championships -- only to succumb to gutter ball syndrome. Later he demands she pose with him for photo booth snapshots to mail home the next few Christmases and feign that they're a happy couple "spanning time."

Adorably Rubenesque and dyed platinum blonde, Ricci gives a gradually and subtly revealing performance as Layla that helps cement the creative vivacity of the film.
Employing picture-in-picture flashbacks, subjective cameras, and an optically shocking, pioneering technique of pivoting around within a freeze-frame, "Buffalo '66" has an edgy, experimental air to it without feeling gimmicky. But as distinct as Gallo's style is -- the whole picture has a slightly grainy, over-developed look to it -- his visual stunts are used mostly to pry inside Billy's head, aiding the film's emotionally profundity instead of distracting from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Indie / Low budget movie, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
This is Vincent Gallo's (Tetro, Funeral) directorial debut. It is a movie of fine acting, writing, and direction, and it features some truly fine cinematography. Buffalo 66 is one of the finest independent films that I have ever seen, and perhaps the most fascinating character study I have yet to see on film.

Christina Ricci provides gret performances as Layla, the odd but tenderhearted tap dancer who provides Gallo's Billy Brown with the only true love he has ever received. Ricci's performance is understated, and she relays just as much heartfelt meaning in one glance of her beautiful, dark eyes as Gallo does in his barrage of rapid-fire monologues.

There are also fine supporting performances from Ben Gazzara aka Jackie Treehorn and Angjelica Huston, as Billy's utterly dysfunctional parents, Mickey Rourke, as a sleezy bookie, Jan-Michael Vincent, as Billy's touchingly loyal friend and owner of a bowling alley.

On top of all of this, Gallo provides a wonderful performance as Billy Brown-a man who has spent so much of his life pining for love and tenderness that he doesn't know how to deal with it once it is staring him in the face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding...., 10 Sep 2008
By 
yakattack! (sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film is just bursting with absolute joy, very intense at times hilarious at others, vincent gallo's acting and directing are genius, you start by hating the character and as the film progress's you begin to really empathise with the situations he has been put through...christina ricci is also brilliant i especially enjoyed the tap dancing scene and the excellent ending...definatly recommended to someone who likes there movies offbeat but full of charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsively entertaining indie flick, 22 April 2007
By 
Matt Pucci "mattpucci.com" (Here, there and everywhere) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Buffalo `66 is as fine an example of independent film-making as you're likely to find. Vincent Gallo's quirky, semi-autobiographical film, in which he stars as Billy Brown - a slightly unhinged, emotionally undernourished convict who kidnaps the surprisingly willing Layla (Christina Ricci) to pose as his wife - is easily the controversial New Yorker's best work to date and features stellar performances from the likes of Angelica Huston (almost unrecognisable as Brown's uncaring, football-obsessed mother Janet) and Jan-Michael Vincent - Brown's long-suffering best friend, Goon. Gallo is equally impressive in the role of Billy Brown; he's unpleasant, and prone to violence, but not entirely dislikeable. In fact, at times, he's almost child-like, and we sympathise with Brown, largely because of what we come to know of his background. The scene in which Billy visits his parents' house, for example, is one of classic suburban dysfunction - and hilarious at that.

There's a sense at times that Gallo is playing himself, rather than actually 'acting'; at others, he appears to be hamming it up a bit for comic effect (see the scene in which he forces Layla to pose with him in a photo booth and repeats the phrase "we're spanning time" ad nauseum) but he can be forgiven on both counts as a) the film is, as mentioned, a semi-autographical work and b) he is undeniably amusing.

Where this film impresses most, however, is in the sheer inventiveness and effectiveness of some of Gallo's techniques as director and Lance Acord's cinematography. Buffalo `66 has all the hallmarks of an indie, art-house film - but, refreshingly, these features actually contribute to our understanding of Brown's character and the advancement of the film's plot.

Brilliant stuff.

Matt Pucci
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 July 2004
By 
Sam Bennis "shammyb" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
What a fantastic film. Vincent Gallo is simply a genius. Directing the film, starring as the lead role, and making the music too!
The plot is simple yet absolutely true to life, the acting is first class with a great cast. The camera shots are fabulously artistic, as is Mr Gallo's character in most of his films. I especially loved moments like; when Billy and Layla leave Billy's parents house and argue in the car. At not one single moment does the camera focus on their faces, but on the road ahead, leaving the audience to imagine how they look.
Two things really stood out in this film:
. Throughout, you learn so much about Billy Brown. You meet his friends, his family and live his life. However, all you get to know about Layla, is her name...Layla. You don't even know her surname.
. Vincent Gallo's bright red boots. They're so cool. I want a pair. If anyone knows of some place which sells them, please contact me at my email address.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If only more films were this well well made!!, 2 July 2003
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A gritty,enthralling,mainly downbeat film.
Disgustingly talented film-maker Vincent Gallo assumed the lead role,directed,co-wrote the screenplay and contributed to the soundtrack.
The story surrounds an emotionally disturbed man having to face his highly dysfunctional family again,after an absence of 4 years.
He wasn't exactly truthful about the reason for the this absence,and enlists the involuntary help of a woman to back up his stories.
It's a good film with a great cast.Gallo,Angelica Huston,Ben Gazzara & Christina Ricci are all very beleivable. The great Mickey Rourke appears on screen in a cameo role,unfortunately not for long enough.
This complaint aside, I would definitely recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vincent Gallo is really an overlooked twisted genius., 21 Aug 2000
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
A great film made for a small amount of money,the directorial debut of Vincent Gallo is simply a work of cinemagraphical art.He brings the best out of a talented Christina Ricci and is outstanding as his semi-autobiographal charachtor Billy Brown.Not only did he direct it he co-produced it,wrote the script and screenplay he wrote and performed the soundtrack,designed all the clothes and did just about everything else of any importance.If your looking for an action packed,star studded Holywood cast with stunning special effects and a massive budget I would recommend that you do not buy this movie.But I you love great films and true art I recommend you do.King Crimson and Yes also feature in the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
as described fast delivery . would recommend to a friend..good story and well acted..would watch it more than once I think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A well observed movie!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not really familiar with the guy in the lead role, but he's done a good job with this film. It's well observed, and quite funny and quite sad. I've seen better movies and I've seen much worse, but this is definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real indie talent, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffalo 66 [DVD] (DVD)
Vincent Gallo wrote the story, the screenplay, and directed this gem of an Independent film, and if that wasn't enough, he wrote and performed the music. Don't be put of by the unsympathetic character he presents at the outset, as all will be explained during the course of the film. It is, by turn, tragic and laugh out loud funny, and the supporting role played brilliantly by Christina Ricci. This is a life affirming movie, that I'd recommend to anyone who is fed up with spectacular Hollywood pap. Ben Gazzara, Rosanna Arquette, and Micky Rourke also figure in this movie, so, enuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998]
Buffalo 66 [DVD] [1998] by Vincent Gallo (DVD - 2004)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews