Customer Reviews

16
2.9 out of 5 stars
Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring (Xbox Classics)
Format: Video GameChange
Price:£9.77+£2.03shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2006
When i played this game i was surprised to find that i enjoyed it a lot more than the other installments. I liked the graphics and animations and the characters are wonderfully portrayed. Certainly a lot more story orientated than the other LOTR games, which are basically all fighting with film clips to help carry them along. There's plenty of dialogue in this game, some of it quite amusing! I just think this game has a lot more variety. Some of the puzzles can be frustrating if you're not an experienced gamer like myself, but it draws you in. Dodging the ring wraiths near the beginning is surprisingly quite edgy stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2012
This game takes a different path to the others (which concentrate on the films and mostly on fighting); The Fellowship of the Ring is mostly based around puzzles, strategic battling and story telling.

However its not all fun and games; it can be glitchy, clunky, frustraiting and the end (as many other reviews have pointed out) is far from the book or the film.

The controls could have been smoothed over more; the camera for instance is difficult to control at points. The difficulty varies randomly in different parts of the game; having an extremley hard part at the begining with the ring wraiths and sections near the end being a breeze.

Nevertheless, it is extremely fun. I found myself getting stuck in the story and ignoring any glitches as it is so close to the book it really felt like the story was coming alive. Obviously parts have been adapted to make them more 'fighty' for gameplay and this is just fine as it adds more excitement and tension (which the game is truely good at).

The fellowship of the ring has such high moments, such as the balrog fight, the beautiful landscapes and wonderful story telling that the low moments of bad controls can be forgotton.

Disapointingly however the end can ruin it for some people and almost did for myself. The story really pulls you in and keeps you going for a long time, bringing lots of fun, and brinigng alive wonderful moments from the book (such as tom bombadil for example) that the end just doesn't make sense and can leave you feeling unfulfilled. Why end it with something that is in no story of LOTR's in either book nor film? Without bringing any spoilers, the end seems a tad silly.

I do think it is a good buy though and worth buying for the series. You wont be too disapointed (unless youre all about fighting); it gives some really fun memories, even if you end up playing it over just once.

Worth three stars for most I would think, but four stars if you can breeze over the clunky controls and look into the landscapes, the story and chracters (Gandalfs especially is very fun to control).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 19 November 2002
Whatever you do, don't buy this game as a result of watching the film! If you are a big fan of the book, then you might want to consider buying it, but only if you haven't got a tight budget when it comes to buying games.
To begin with, the game starts of nice and slow with several 'sub quests' based around Shire folk. It's a bit slow, but it gives you a chance to get used to the controls. Quite quickly you will become very annoyed with the camera angle control, as when you move it right, the camera angle pans left and vice versa and there is no option of changing it; I didn't get use to it until near the end of the game.
The 3D world is fantastically designed with excellent scenery, but it is let down by the fact that you are not free to explore it completely. You might wander down a path, and about three quarters of the way, you just can't go any further for no apparent reason (the character just runs on the spot)! There is also jerky animation that occurs quite frequently for no apparent reason.
The game follows the book quite well at the beginning (even Tom Bombadil is in it), but as the game progresses, it seems to wander away from the story line, especially when you enter Moria. The puzzles get more and more tedious as the game progresses. Initially they start off reasonably well (you have to find various objects and give them to people), but they then soon become quite lame, and move onto a sort of 'find switch, flick switch' kind of puzzle. I then nearly threw the game out when I had spent ages trying to complete a level, and nearly gave up until I happened to notice a VERY obscure ladder which led to the end of the level.
Fighting enemies becomes quite tiresome after a while as it is just a case of 'hit, hit, run away' until they die, and the Artificial Intelligence of the enemies is absolutely appalling; a lot of the time they just stand there while you shoot them with arrows. Selecting your weapon is done via the Left trigger, and in the case of Gandalf who has about 10 different weapons/spells, it can be very difficult to select the right one whilst in combat.
The last straw for me was the final stage of the game where you have to fight one of the Ring Wraiths, which is practically impossible. I was so fed up with the game by this time that I got an infinite health cheat (something I rarely do) just so that I could complete the game, and then never play it again!
Its not all negative though, the game does have some nice touches to it. When Frodo wears the Ring, there are some nice visual effects, and it can sometimes reveal hidden areas; wearing it for too long though can corrupt Frodo, and hence you lose the game - it does make the gameplay a bit more interesting. The game also emphasises some of the more memorable parts of the book that never quite made it into the film.
Summing up, this game should only be bought by an intense fan of the book with money to spare, and a good couple of days free to play it! I guarantee that once you finish the game, you will never play it again, so you might be better off renting it from Blockbuster!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2003
I find it weird how a games manufacturer didn't base this game on the actual film, where it would have made much more money on.
But it is based on the book instead.
Although it does give the game a slight advantage with more indepth character interactions, and more to do stories about.
The game starts off with Frodo in The Shire as a Hobbit, and searches around the town help people with problems they have, to give the game a problem solving task for the player.
Then after finding The Ring at his home, night falls and things begin to get more interesting.
So the dark hooded men on black horses show up in search of The Ring, and you have to guide Frodo quietly through The Shire, past the men who are looking for him on horse-back, to find Sam, Merry and Pippin, and to leave the Shire to help destroy The Ring.
After making your way through many adventures across the dark woodlands, you make your way to the 'Prancing Pony' Inn, that may be familiar to some players from the film.
This is where the Hobbits meet up with Aragorn, who makes for some interesting gameplay as the player then switches to control him, instead of Frodo.
This is where the game gets more exciting, as you play now as a warrior, who fights his way through the conquests that lie before him using an array of weapons, from his sword, arrows (normal, metal and ones that are on fire) and a burning torch to defeat the Black Riders that search for The Ring, and guide the young Hobbits to Rivendell.
Then for a final part of the game you become the Wizard as Gandalf The Grey.
This again makes for entertaining gameplay, where you once again lead now The Fellowship through the Mines of Moria to safety.
Playing as Gandalf makes the player use a combination of problem solving and fighting, which is put into effect with the use of his magic, and his magic staff that you have to use to get through certain problems.
So overall, the graphics are pretty good, and the game gives you a combination of problem-solving, fighting and both, and so I really enjoyed this game and would recommend it to people who have read the book and also to those who have seen the film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 19 November 2002
Whatever you do, don't buy this game as a result of watching the film! If you are a big fan of the book, then you might want to consider buying it, but only if you haven't got a tight budget when it comes to buying games.
To begin with, the game starts of nice and slow with several 'sub quests' based around Shire folk. It's a bit slow, but it gives you a chance to get used to the controls. Quite quickly you will become very annoyed with the camera angle control, as when you move it right, the camera angle pans left and vice versa and there is no option of changing it; I didn't get use to it until near the end of the game.
The 3D world is fantastically designed with excellent scenery, but it is let down by the fact that you are not free to explore it completely. You might wander down a path, and about three quarters of the way, you just can't go any further for no apparent reason (the character just runs on the spot)! There is also jerky animation that occurs quite frequently for no apparent reason.
The game follows the book quite well at the beginning (even Tom Bombadil is in it), but as the game progresses, it seems to wander away from the story line, especially when you enter Moria. The puzzles get more and more tedious as the game progresses. Initially they start off reasonably well (you have to find various objects and give them to people), but they then soon become quite lame, and move onto a sort of 'find switch, flick switch' kind of puzzle. I then nearly threw the game out when I had spent ages trying to complete a level, and nearly gave up until I happened to notice a VERY obscure ladder which led to the end of the level.
Fighting enemies becomes quite tiresome after a while as it is just a case of 'hit, hit, run away' until they die, and the Artificial Intelligence of the enemies is absolutely appalling; a lot of the time they just stand there while you shoot them with arrows. Selecting your weapon is done via the Left trigger, and in the case of Gandalf who has about 10 different weapons/spells, it can be very difficult to select the right one whilst in combat.
The last straw for me was the final stage of the game where you have to fight one of the Ring Wraiths, which is practically impossible. I was so fed up with the game by this time that I got an infinite health cheat (something I rarely do) just so that I could complete the game, and then never play it again!
Its not all negative though, the game does have some nice touches to it. When Frodo wears the Ring, there are some nice visual effects, and it can sometimes reveal hidden areas; wearing it for too long though can corrupt Frodo, and hence you lose the game - it does make the gameplay a bit more interesting. The game also emphasises some of the more memorable parts of the book that never quite made it into the film.
Summing up, this game should only be bought by an intense fan of the book with money to spare, and a good couple of days free to play it! I guarantee that once you finish the game, you will never play it again, so you might be better off renting it from Blockbuster!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
So here's the adaptation of the BOOK, as opposed to EA's adaptation of the MOVIES, and in many ways it's the complete antithesis of 'The Two Towers'. First off, it's much, much uglier. The graphics look very poor next to the glossy gorgeousness of the other game, and there are lots of glitches and framerate stutters too. It's not all bad visually; there are some nice backgrounds and effects, but the characters are rather angular and tend to move stiffly and unnaturally. So far, so disappointing.
The game's big hype is that it contains 'fan-favourite' scenes which were ommitted from the film. This is true, and the story is worked quite well into the gameplay, except for the final part where the book goes out the window - what you expect to happen, doesn't, and what you don't expect, does. I won't be specific in case it spoils anyone's enjoyment. Suffice to say, the end is rather disappointing.
There are a couple of other major faults, too. The inventory system is terribly designed; trying to switch between weapons or spells during combat is a nightmare; you'll either end up using the wrong item, or lose half your health points while trying to find the right one. Plus, the camera is one of the most infuriating I have ever come across - you have to adjust it manually AT ALL TIMES, and even then there's only half a chance you'll be able to find a decent view. Combat is haphazard at the best of times ( I found pressing the attack button repeatedly while swinging the character round in circles worked best!!! ) and the levels are terribly dark and murky at times, making it difficult to find your way, or even recognise approaching enemies.
So...with all these problems, why did I give it three stars?
Well, despite all the niggles, it is actually reasonably enjoyable to play, and it does some things very well - the management of the ring's corrupting power, for instance, and trying to evade the Ringwraiths as you leave the Shire is genuinely tense. It's actually more enjoyable to play than it's better looking, movie-based sibling. What a pity someone couldn't have combined the gameplay style of this version with the graphical splendor of EA's release. Still, if you're torn between the two, I think I would choose this one, unless you are ONLY interested in the movies.
Just one final thing - both the PC and the PS2 versions are different to this, apparently with simpler gameplay and more combat. You have been warned...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 16 February 2004
What a real disappointment for a licensed game of a blockbusting story. Rather than following the steps of the movie, it follows the book instead. Game designers have tried adding an RPG element to the game, though it is slightly linear, it is done well fortunately not leaving you wondering around in circles.
Throughout the course of the game you are in control of Frodo, Aragorn or Gandalf. All three are required to be used in strategic ways in order to defeat your foes. Gandalf in possession of rather spectacular magic attacks, Aragon with great strength and agility, and Frodo with manoeuvrability and speed.
You begin the game with Frodo in the Shire where you can at your will go straight to your objective or help around with the townsfolk that will fortunately present you with equipment suitable for your journey.
Levels are expansive and varied. Some levels throughout the game cool down from the heat of battle, such as visiting an Inn, preparing you for the battles ahead.
Weapons are rather simplistic such as a small sword for Frodo and a long sword for Aragon. The magical attacks from Gandalf make up for the limited number of weapons though. One problem arises however. In order to cycle through your weapons the d-pad or the right and left triggers are used. Trying to find the right gadget or weapon can usually be time consuming especially if you are in possession of a lot of equipment, and can be life threatening if you are in the heat of battle.
You can save any point throughout the game making things a little to easy.
Music is suitable for game play and is well done, though the voice acting is only average. It feels rather scripted than feeling life like.
Bosses in the game are created to an average standard, from ogres to dragon like creatures, though there are not many in total.
Unfortunately AI is badly executed. Creatures will run into you despite your barrow of arrows or rock throwing killing their allies, or the creatures will jam themselves into the environment. Battles do not feel like the epic battles from the movie, as most battles are taken care of by yourself, though on a few occasions your allies accompany you but are stuck in one position when attacking. Many a time will you be carrying out puzzles in order to progress and then all of a sudden you find your team at the other end! This reduces the sense of realism to the game unfortunately.
Graphics are between average and good. Character models are created rather well but are somewhat hazy. The sky and water affects are done very well, mixed with the quite beautifully created surroundings placing you somewhat into the world of Lord of The Rings. But downfall arises. The game is VERY jumpy, especially throughout battles. There is too much slowdown throughout the game, which is very frustrating knowing the capabilities of Xbox.
FMV is amazing. After watching the FMV sequence from the start you are left with hopes of an amazing game to follow, but then left in disappointment when you realize how much slowdown the game suffers.
If you are a true Lord of The Rings fanatic, then I would probably recommend this game. If not, then this game is perhaps not for you.
GRAPHICS: 6/10
Excellent FMV sequences. Character models are creative but fuzzy in texture. Excellent sky and water effects.
SOUNDS: 8/10
Music is atmospheric and places you into the action, though voice acting feels rather scripted than life like.
GAMEPLAY: 6/10
Nice puzzles and side quests, but due to slowdown and bad AI, it would only interest the hard core Lord of The Rings fans.
The good points:
· Excellent FMV sequences.
· Nice puzzles and side quests.
· Great magic attacks from Gandalf.
The bad points:
· Bad slowdown throughout the game.
· Poor AI.
· Battles do not feel like those from the book or film.
· Voice acting feels rather scripted.
· A game that will only amuse the Lord of The Ring fans.
OVERALL RESULT:
6/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 11 January 2012
As the title says, but it is a good game, maybe its just me because i love the movies so much. the graphics aint great but its still has you drawn to it, the constant slaying of orcs is slightly therapeutic. gets the thumbs up for me, especially for the price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 6 December 2013
I got this as the copy I had was pretty scratched and eventually stopped working. I love this game and am extremely pleased with this purchase. I'd recommend this game to anyone who is a LOTR fan or just a bit of a fantasy fan!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
Horrible game, no redeeming features. Stay very far away! Doesn't feel like LOTR at all and gameplay is horrible. The people who made this game ought to be reborn as toads
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.