Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, high, fast!
It seems like everyone who comments on this album is very negative about Ryan Adams' change of style - bad press is all over the web. Thankfully I didn't read a review before buying it so I wasn't put off. I listened to it in a shop and knew I wanted it within seconds - yes it is immediate but after 50 or so plays I still love it and there's nothing wrong with...
Published on 9 May 2004 by Mr. N. D. Harris

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars does what it says on the tin (well cd cover)
Rock and roll is a very good title indication for what the album holds. Anyone holding out for 'Gold' Mark II will be extremely disappointed as this 'official' follow up is a definate contrast to that album. This shows Adams fresh in dispute with his record company over the 'love is hell' album, retaliating with an angry, out and out 'rock and roll' record.
The...
Published on 4 Jan 2004 by DT


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get over Gold!, 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
If you liked Gold (and who didn't?), you're gonna be a little dissapointed by this, and if you prefered Heartbreaker (good choice again), don't even bother expecting anything similar! This is a whole new turn for Ryan Adams and although the lyrics still can't escape the scared-little-boy type songwriter from his more emotional moments, musically this will sound different to anything you were expecting. And its not bad, just different. This is still a wholy enjoyable album that will have you smiling from start to finish, just listen to it without the other albums in your head and you'll see its easily one of the best albums released in recent months and not one you'll put down for a good while. Lets stop being stuck in our ways Ryan Adams' fans, lets go forwards with him!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different from Ryan Adams!!, 30 Oct 2003
By 
Pete - the next songwriting genius! (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
Ryan never fails to surprise me with his records. Every album is completely different from the next one and is a credit to his song-writing ability's.
In a recent interview he mentions his singing sounding like Morrissey of the Smiths, which in my opinion is no bad thing and 'Burning Photographs' even manages to sound like its Jonny Marr playing.
All in all its a great colection of songs all written on electric guitar and leaves me pondering what will he do next?
Maybe dabble in a little dance music per chance?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful !!, 11 Jun 2004
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
I'll be damned if this album is anything but Adams releasing a derivative Rock n Roll album just to shut up his record company who were stupid enough to stop the 'Love is Hell' album getting released {initially!!}. Ryan Adams writes achingly good songs and 'Gold' is not the only thing he has recorded. 'Heartbreaker' is arguably superior and the so-called fill in album 'Demolition' is full of songs some artistes would give their right arm to write !!
'Rock n Roll' with it's blatantly awful title, cheap cover design and tinny bar band production is a gesture of protest !! Ignore it, buy 'Love is Hell' instead !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What is this s**t?, 10 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
Ryan, can we have some songs next time please? After a protracted wait and mutterings from Lost Highway of "not your best work" regarding the Love Is Hell sessions I am left scratching my head. Having heard the Love Is Hell tracks it feels like LH have got it the wrong way round. Rock N Roll contains 4 or 5 quality songs, the rest are (after listening to the record for a solid week) inconsequential filler. Thankfully Love Is Hell is being released simultaneously. Judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but still amazing, 4 Nov 2003
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
Complete change of style to his normal alt. country. As the name indicates its loud rock n roll, but has lots of similarities to other bands. "So Alive" sounds very similar to listening to bono sing whereas "shallow" has an oasis style of play to it. Still this is an amazing album, maybe not as good as heartbraker and gold but by changing his style of music and doing it brilliantly ryan adams has again shown what a brilliant singer/songwriter he is. It may take a few listens to get into the album like some of his previous but it is well worth it. BUY IT NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No soul or depth this time, 22 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
This is the album that Ryan Adams gave his record company when they rejected what he really wanted to release. It sounds like a John Cougar Mellencamp album from when he was Johnny Cougar. Buy any of his other albums instead. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another great talent goes to waste, 4 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
This is rumoured to be the album that Ryan Adams didn't want to make, and it shows. It shows in the lazy songwriting, that apes everybody from Nirvana to U2 to The Cure to The Verve without ever getting close to any semblance of originality. "Note To Self - Don't Die", for example, is Nirvana's "Breed" played at half-speed and with considerably less than half the passion. This is the sound of a talented man sleepwalking his way through a cobbled-together set of rock standards, and displays a worrying contempt for his audience as well as a new low in his lyrical prowess. Some of the cliches on here beggar belief. Take a look at the album title, the album cover, and tell me that this is a man giving 100% heart and soul to what he does. No, I don't think so either.
If you haven't bought his devastating and spellbinding debut "Heartbreaker" yet, buy that instead. If you haven't heard his follow-up album "Gold" yet, buy that instead. It's no "Heartbreaker", but stood next to this sorry excuse for an album it's Sgt. Pepper, Sticky Fingers and Forever Changes rolled into one. It's sad to see how his star has waned. This is not the place to start if you want to know what Ryan Adams is all about, and for many, it will be the jumping-off point. Just awful, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock N Roll
Rock N Roll by Ryan Adams (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews