Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song is great! Is that possible?
The follow up album to The Fallout is typically less rusty than the first album - as they've now gotten off the ground. However, I'm giving this album 5 stars for different reasons.
Half of The Fallout album was utterly amazing, whilst the other half wasn't quite so...but this album contains 12 amazing songs. Alone and All She Wrote are particularly Rox0r. A much...
Published on 24 Sep 2004 by moisty_klezfixer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd album syndrome, 3.5 stars...
Don't get me wrong about this record, it's a very accomplished effort but just not as good as Default's first.
Often bands can suffer from this so called "Second Album Syndrome," and as I've already mentioned this is not a bad record, it's just feels like some of those magic moments from "The Fallout" are missing.
It all just feels somewhat of a rushed record,...
Published on 28 Nov 2008 by Mr. N. J. Henderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song is great! Is that possible?, 24 Sep 2004
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
The follow up album to The Fallout is typically less rusty than the first album - as they've now gotten off the ground. However, I'm giving this album 5 stars for different reasons.
Half of The Fallout album was utterly amazing, whilst the other half wasn't quite so...but this album contains 12 amazing songs. Alone and All She Wrote are particularly Rox0r. A much more rhythem based album than the first, there seems to be less lead tabitures...but I think it works just as well.
If you want 12 great Indy Rock songs, then this is the album. You'll be proud to own it, like I am!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2nd album syndrome, 3.5 stars..., 28 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong about this record, it's a very accomplished effort but just not as good as Default's first.
Often bands can suffer from this so called "Second Album Syndrome," and as I've already mentioned this is not a bad record, it's just feels like some of those magic moments from "The Fallout" are missing.
It all just feels somewhat of a rushed record, trying to capatalise too quickly on the platinum selling debut and as a result this record feels incomplete.
That said however, I must praise the quite brilliant song that is "Taking My Life Away," which is a very powerful ballad and a superbly constructed song.
That's about as good as this record gets, and considering that's track two the rest of the album is less memorable.
To much filler on here, Default suffered becuase of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put a finger on it, 4 Jan 2004
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
Obviously people can say that bands such as this are produced as a dime-a-dozen, but there's something different about Default. Being that Nickelback lead Chad Kreoger works with Dallas Smith on many of the songs, a certain Nickelback-esque sound can be heard. But Default is still able to produce their own formula for their music. To start off with, the new songs have taken a completely different road to the majority of other 'alternative' rock bands, making their songs instantly recognisable. Default definitely (although obviously in my own opinion) are set to be more successful as each song becomes released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as heavy as there first outing, 18 Sep 2005
By 
Spencer MacDonald (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
f you heard there first album the fallout you maybe disappointed with this one. This album indeed shows a lot more variety in there music but this is necessarily a good thing. The first album was a great album with heavy guitars and amazing vocals it sounded rough round the edges but this is what you liked about it , for elocation they cleaned up there act with much more popey tunes sounds much more like it should of been there first album but it isn't.
Well worth a look as long as you know what your getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums I've ever heard, 20 Oct 2005
By 
Christopher Brown (Banbury, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
If you find yourself listening to Default's first album (The Fallout) alot, it is well worth getting Elocation. With Elocation you are not just getting a re-make of The Fallout, but something new. Although some of the songs may be a little more mellow you still have that Default feeling through great lyrics and guitar rifts. Tracks to look out for are 'Who Followed Who' 'Break Down Doors' and 'All She Wrote'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Follow up to the fallout, 20 July 2004
By 
E. Evans "bowlingalbinouk" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
Elocation, the follow up to the fallout is worth buying if your a default fan. Tracks like,"who followed who" and "throw it away" are good follow ups to "deny" and "sick and tired" from, the fallout,
default are often compared to nickelback, but if you compare the albums from both bands, default comes out miles better in lyrics and catchy guitar riffs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
This album is awesome, not their best work but it's still great! Combines some heavier Rock tunes some ballads. Recommended for Nickelback fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nickelback Clones or Rising Stars?, 26 Nov 2003
This review is from: Elocation (Audio CD)
When I first listened to this album I found myself thinking I was listening to a Nickelback album from their early days. Maybe this is something to do with the fact that the band's main producer is Chad Kroeger? The band have progressed since their debut album - The Fallout but they need to break away from the influences of other bands and come up with their own style if they have any chance of success. Of course, I may be wrong. Its always possible that Default could be something new and get rid of the 'Nickelback Clone' image they have at the moment.
The album isnt all bad though, there are some pretty good tracks like 'Throw it all away' which sees the band taking an angrier, heavier approach while the rest of the tracks don't seem to be anything new or exciting.
Overall, Elocation is a good album to have playing in the background and could produce some good radio singles but it definately won't be a rock album to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elocation
Elocation by Default (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews