Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood revisited, 16 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
One of my treasured childhood memories is of going to the Saturday afternoon matinee. There we saw our heroes and villains fight endless battles. The Adventures of Captain Marvel is a great example of the serials we watched. This thrill a minute serial, wonderfully reproduced on DVD is a must for anyone who harks back to those carefree days when Saturday afternoons consisted of a cartoon, a western and a serial. I had not seen these images for over 50 years, but the quality and content of this DVD make it a worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shazam !, 5 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
in 1970 myself & a friend went to the abc cinema in bath,somerset.
we sang "we are the minors of the abc !" there was a cartoon & western,but
what made us go back week after week was "captain marvel" even then it was quite dated but watching it now once again,for 1941 the serial is
fantastic!
a geeky young man called billy batson says "shazam "& becomes captain marvel !a caped crusader (with half a cape!) but he only possesses this power to rid the world of the evil
scorpion ! we were glued to it then as i am now ,tom tyler is great & those
flying effects still look good now ! what sets this super hero out from the
rest is captain marvel is not merely billy batson dressed up ,he appears
by magic in a puff of smoke! shazam !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool 40s serial, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Simon Bugler (Cardiff,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm too young to have see before but having seen several of the 40s serials on DVD- def rate this as one of the top three that I've seen- it's also a mystery serial cos you don't know who the Scorpion is until the last chapter- the flying scenes of Capt Marvel are also fantastic for a serial that was made so long ago when all they had was strings to make it look as though someone could fly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captain marval, 9 Sep 2006
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the best republic serial ever made, it brings back all the fun of the saturday morning film shows for us post war kids.

Please someone remake this film, with all the cgi, plus special effects, imagine how awesome it would be now

thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 15 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. A. Gebbie "Dancer195" (Sheffield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [1941] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] Memories of my first visits to a cinema a serial that seemed to last forever waiting for the next episode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Serials, 19 Aug 2010
By 
I. P. Taylor "Cliff Anger" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I totally agree with all other revues, this took me back to the saturday morning matinees. The nostalgic value is wonderful but is also enjoyed by the current generation, if they realise when it was made and any special effects had to be created, not computerised. If you enjoyed this please look at "King of the Rocket Men" (surely one of the best) "Batman", and "Batman and Robin", all serials of the same era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Childhood revisited, 21 April 2010
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Watching this collection was like being back at Saturday Morning Pictures and the local ABC cinema in South London (all sing "..... we're minors of the A-B-C......"). Despite the age, the flying sequences are still good even by today's standards and you can let kids watch the episodes without being concerned about the content. Great - 5 stars even though it had to be a Region 1 import
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam, 15 April 2010
By 
K. Bruce "kenthe cop." (u/k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I wish this was in region 2 so that my grand kids could watch it.I remember these as a kid in Singapore on our Saturday mornings treat.I used to come home and put a gunny sack over my shoulders and run around my grandma's plantation making out I could fly.

Then came Mary Marvel all wonderful memories please bring them out in Region 2.Ken B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST BW SERIAL MADE, 13 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
AS A 60 YR OLD LIVING IN LIVERPOOL ENGLAND UK, I REMEMBER THE MATINEES FOR KIDS AND THIS WAS THE BEST EVER.

IN SUPERMAN THEY INSERTED A CARTOON CHARACTER ,AND SUPERMAN NEVER MACHINE GUNNED HIS FOES OR THREW THEM OFF ROOFS.

I HAD TO GET MY COPY FROM THE STATES AS ITS NOT SOLD OVER HERE IN THE UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Good product worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures of Captain Marvel [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £29.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews